Customer Reviews for

The Night Strangers

Average Rating 3
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Don't Miss This Book!

Fans of Chris Bohjalian- you are in for a fabulous read. This story will grab you from the first first page and will not let you go until the last page. This is a "can't put it down" read!
For readers not familiar with this author's work, The Night Strangers is an exce...
Fans of Chris Bohjalian- you are in for a fabulous read. This story will grab you from the first first page and will not let you go until the last page. This is a "can't put it down" read!
For readers not familiar with this author's work, The Night Strangers is an excellent introduction to novels by Chris Bohjalian. Be prepared to add his name to your list of favorite authors!
A great choice for book clubs.

posted by ElainefanfromMichigan on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

You, you, you

You read all the great reviews and you are excited to read the book. You think, some people couldn't put it down. You start the book and are impressed by the detail in the plane crash. You keep reading and grow increasingly annoyed by the overuse of YOU and you dislike ...
You read all the great reviews and you are excited to read the book. You think, some people couldn't put it down. You start the book and are impressed by the detail in the plane crash. You keep reading and grow increasingly annoyed by the overuse of YOU and you dislike the stilted writing. You don't think there was anything remotely interesting about the predictable story. You really, really wish you had not wasted your money.

posted by chefsuzanne on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Don't Miss This Book!

    Fans of Chris Bohjalian- you are in for a fabulous read. This story will grab you from the first first page and will not let you go until the last page. This is a "can't put it down" read!
    For readers not familiar with this author's work, The Night Strangers is an excellent introduction to novels by Chris Bohjalian. Be prepared to add his name to your list of favorite authors!
    A great choice for book clubs.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    You, you, you

    You read all the great reviews and you are excited to read the book. You think, some people couldn't put it down. You start the book and are impressed by the detail in the plane crash. You keep reading and grow increasingly annoyed by the overuse of YOU and you dislike the stilted writing. You don't think there was anything remotely interesting about the predictable story. You really, really wish you had not wasted your money.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Blown Away..

    When I started reading this book I could have Never anticipated the twisted and turns that lie ahead of me. I couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    haunting

    I was fortunate enough to read a galley of The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian. I have to say that I have rarely gotten the chills while reading a book, but The Night Strangers was an amazingly, unsettling, paranormal thriller. It has so many interesting components that will both keep you turning pages and finding it hard to sleep at night. I have to say that I just loved The Night Strangers.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    A must read...just not at night

    This amazing author has done it again. I don't know if I would describe this book as a ghost story, a tragedy, a mystery or a thriller...as all of these apply. Chris is one of those talented authors who surprise me with every story. Every book is different, every character is different and this book is no exception. Taking a road he hasn't traveled before, he brings us twists and turns that had me scared to turn the page but racing to see what happens. Very rarely does an author surprise me as Chris did in this book. This story will have you afraid of the dark, questioning your spouses motives and wondering about the brownies all while listening to the whispers of the Night Strangers....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    What just happened?

    This book was good in average until the end, which made the entire book not worth my time.
    I read Midwives years ago and thought it would be good to revisit the author. Very disappointed, it was like a cheap halloween tale made for TV.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! heartbreaking and eerie

    What do we owe the dead? The Linton family is trying to put itself back together after the tragic accident of Pilot Chip Linton's semi-successful airplane crash. Escaping to rural New Hampshire they move into an old Victorian home with many secrets and secretive neighbors. The ending caught me by surprise.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So very disappointing

    Having read all of Chris Bohjalian's previous books, I was eagerly anticipating this one......what a disappointment. Beginning with the "you, you, you" as someone else mentioned, and going on to the characters who lacked charm, or interest. I simply couldn't care about any of them and started to feel that they deserved what was happening! The choices they made weren't logical. The supposed "cuteness" of ten year old twins escaped me....ten years old is past the age of such childishness displayed here.

    I gave up about 3/4 of the way through, skimmed the rest, and can offer this advice to any who may want to read this -- save your money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This suspenseful haunted house psychological thriller is a tense tale with a strong cast

    The seventy seater regional jet flies out of Burlington, Vermont with forty-three passengers, three attendees and a first officer as well as pilot Chip Linton. Geese fly into the two turbines, dying while destroying both engines. As the plane descends and feeling he can not make Plattsburgh or Burlington, Chip decides to land on Lake Champlain just like the heroic landing on the Hudson. He does everything right but a massive wave caused by a ferryboat makes the plane do a somersault. Most on board died while the pilot considers suicide as he suffers from survivor's guilt depression with the image of Dora the Explorer imprinted in his brain.

    Chip's wife Emily, an estates lawyer, decides the family needs a change so that Chip can start to heal. Thus Emily, Chip, and their twin ten year old daughters move to the White Mountains in New Hampshire where they purchased a fixer-upper Victorian. However, the house proves not to be a home as they begin to get visitors from the beyond including the father and Dora the Explorer daughter who make demands of Chip to have his children befriend the dead girl and find secret passages including a hidden crypt. Their benign welcoming neighbors have sacrificial designs on the Linton twins.

    This suspenseful haunted house psychological thriller is a tense tale with a strong cast especially the Linton family, the neighbors and the ghost from the plane crash. The story line is fast-paced with a sense of impending doom. Although the Linton adults' response to the otherworldly assault seems off kilter, readers will appreciate this scary ghost tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Extraordinary story by an extraordinary writer - a must read!

    'The Night Strangers' has further enhanced Chris Bohjalian's status as one of America's most accomplished story-tellers. As with most of his previous books, the reader is immediately drawn into a storyline that involves complex characters and difficult situations. It initially seems to be an examination of a failed hero (airline pilot Chip Linton) and his family - as they settle into a new environment, meeting their new neighbors, and exploring a strange old house that seems to hold secrets - but becomes so much more. And, as in Mr. Bohjalian's other works, there are twists you won't have anticipated. This is a page-turner of the first order, a real ghost story. Read this book! (Just don't forget to breathe!)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Don't Bother.

    100 pages could easily be shaved out of this book with needless and repetetive flashbacks. You can quickly see what is going to happen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Not worth the time.

    This book was very hard to get into, but I kept thinking it would get better. It doesn't. I especially did not like the ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Night Strangers was an above average read and extremely intr

    The Night Strangers was an above average read and extremely intriguing. What begins as a fast paced ghost story ends up as something very different and quite unexpected. After skimming through dozens of reviews, I must concur that the book is somewhat confusing, almost two stories with two different plot lines combined into one. However, I choose to see aspects and details, such as the "39 bolts" as red herrings, not as the ravings of a possessed author as some claim. Take the story as it comes, sit back and enjoy the ride. What culminates is somewhere between a haunting, psychological thriller, and suspense with the addition of occultist witches. Intrigued yet? You should be. It's worth the time and a wild ride for the right passenger. Let the author drive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    The best book I ever read.

    If you are looking for a "grab me by the arm and pull me in", can't-put-it-down, terror-enducing ride of your life, then "The Night Strangers" is just the book for you. I started reading it in the evening and I couldn't stop reading. This book terrified me in a way that no other book has ever done. By the time I got well into it, it had me too scared to want to get out of bed for anything! It is so suspenseful and intriguing.... I felt like I was a part of the action. You never know what is coming next, like a roller coaster ride. The characters are completely believable; and I took an immediate interest in what happened to the family. You have never read a more brilliant book with such intelligent twists and turns in the plot before. You will enjoy it! Plus you will never guess how it ends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't See That Coming!

    I listened to this story as an audiobook, narrated by Alison Fraser and Mark Bramhall, so my review is based on that version.

    This is my first book by this author and I am really impressed! The suspense was awesome and the story had a perfectly mysterious ebb and flow. There were many different things happening to the Linton family that might be related to their new house, but then again, it might not be related to the house at all. Chip has his own demons because of the crash of his airplane and the deaths of the people on board. But does his new house amplify the spirits, add to his delusions, or is the move to the new house just a coincidence? There are a group of herbalists in their new town, but is what they are doing magic, witchcraft, or just advanced herbology? And what is the fascination with twins in this town??

    I don¿t want to give away too much and ruin the mystery for anyone else, but when I finished this audiobook, I just sat and stared for a moment. All I could think was ¿Wow, I didn¿t see that coming!¿ It was a bizarre ending. I am still not sure how I feel about it. This book was kind of like Hot Chocolate with peppermint in it. Smooth, warm and creamy chocolate with the peppermint to wake your senses and put them on alert.

    The Narration Review
    This book was narrated by Alison Fraser and Mark Bramhall. I liked the dual narration for this story. The two voices worked off each other well. Sometimes with two different narrators you get a hot/cold feel to the story, but I didn¿t feel that with these two. Both were very clear and easy to listen to voices.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Disappointing

    This book started out all well and good, but about half way through I really became uninterested. Disjointed story lines and repetitive. Have read better in this genre......

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Ugh..wasted days and wasted nights....

    If you are looking for a scary book look elsewhere...this was just silly and predictable.....Glad I got a member discount!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Stepford Wives + The Sixth Sense = AWESOME

    If you are in the mood for a very well written, spooky, suspensful story full of disaster, ghosts and witches, this is the book for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    I wrote my first ever fan letter to this author

    I cannot wait to read this..i heard him on NPR and he talked about never wanting to write the same genre twice..he is an incredible wordsmith!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Up till 1:30 a.m. reading. Great twisty plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8