Customer Reviews for

Night Swim

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Layered and Lovely Debut

"Night Swim is such a sweet and delightful read at times, and yet so sad and nearly brutal in its honesty at others. The book is perfectly paced. I finished in two sittings, because I just could not put it down. I can't wait to see what Jessica Keener does next."

posted by Bookie-Wookie on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

For some reason this book kept you interested enough to keep reading it. I kept waiting for something "more" to happen. It never did! I would not recommend this book

posted by 10379336 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Worth a chance

    At first this book didn't seem my cup of tea, so I rushed through it and then agreed with the reviews of "disjointed" and "depressing". But there were some rave reviews so I started over-- looking for what I missed.
    I like to lose myself in adventure, steamy romance, and the comfort of happily ever after. You won't find that here.
    What you do find are some interesting observations and revelations from a teenaged girl in a time and place very different from the current, "politically-correct", socially tolerant preachings of today.
    I am glad that I want back to see that she wasn't just another self-absorbed teen disconnected from her family. She reads them all and brings them to you.
    Not a pretty story. Some things are rushed or glossed over. Others may drag a bit. You have to squint to see that HEA. But I feel it was worth the reading (even taking the second, more thorough, time through)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I enjoyed this book although I felt at times there wasn't enough

    I enjoyed this book although I felt at times there wasn't enough character development. While reading I felt like I was looking at snapshots of the people involved and not really being given the whole picture. Well worth the read, however. Very nicely written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Boring

    While i empathized with the main chracters lot in life....i felt like the other characters were not fleshed out. I felt as though I was reading too many words and phrases repeatedly and going nowhere new in the plots development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Not sure

    I'm homestly unsure if I liked it. It started off decent enough but kind of went downhill. I thought the ending was also rather abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Lilya

    She yawns.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Average

    This book was average - nothing bad about it in and of itself, I just didn't really find myself attached to the characters or really drawn in. I do appreciate its bringing in of some difficult themes that are not often seen in YA literature,though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Enjoyed

    I enjoyed this book, but thought (even though it was really a snap shot into this family's life) that it ended too abruptly.

    As a "daily find" I was pleasantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Kept my interest

    It was enjoyable, but I didn't think much of the ending - kind of abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    xxxxx

    i liked the weaving in and out of timelines. this is a bittersweet story of disjointed family dealing with tragedy and growing up in the early days of the vietnam war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Nice book, but too wordy

    Jessica Keener tries to do a nice job in developing this story around a 16-year-old talented and smart girl, who is part of a somewhat disfunctional family -- overpowering father, alcoholic mother, odd-ball brothers -- trying to succeed in a bigoted community, where she herself gets caught up in a major personal problem, overcome only because of some great age-group friends.
    The concept of the story is okay, but Keener gets caught up too many times using too many words to say too little. Backgrounding is nice, but the author could have evolved the story without drawing expanations out into minute, fragmented details. Was she required to fill 200 pages to get published?
    I enjoyed the book ... but it could have been much more enjoyable with 40 fewer pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    PARTY HERE!!

    Partyyyy

    0 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Writing is good! Hope to see more from the author.

    Writing is good! Hope to see more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Good short read

    Short read, but holds your interest. Will watch for more from Jessica Keener

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2