Customer Reviews for

Night Train to Memphis (Vicky Bliss Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I love the Vicky Bliss series. Whenever I need a light yet enter

    I love the Vicky Bliss series. Whenever I need a light yet entertaining read, I turn to this series. There aren't many books out there that I can read over and over again, but the characters in this series are well crafted and the story has just the right amount of action, mystery and one of those so wrong, but oh so right love interests. The balance of history, mystery and comedy are just right. I just wish this one available for Nook. all the others in the series are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    GUMNASIUM

    A huge gym with obstacle courses and everything you can imagine that a gym has

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Really great !

    Well-written and very action-packed. Funny and yet intriguing.

    Would recommend it to all who love mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Night Train To Memphis is classic Elizabeth Peters, with its el

    Night Train To Memphis is classic Elizabeth Peters, with its elegant and literate narrative, and a slightly old-fashioned feel due to the complete lack of current pop culture references (the musical references are classical and American folk and bluegrass) and rather stodgy assortment of characters who all behave in a rather formal manner. But these factors create a cozy bubble of a setting, one that is timeless, refined and classic. I feel like I should be sipping tea or a glass of wine while reading.
    Vicky is an interesting character, in that she can be rather unsympathetic. She is aloof, and quite critical of her fellow passengers, even her friend and boss, Schmidt, who is as good-natured as they come. All characteristics she shares with her lover John, whose arrogance and perpetual demeanor of amused contempt make him quite unlikeable as well. Interesting for the heroine of a book.

    Soon Vicky learns of the murder of her porter, Ali, right after somebody tries to bean her with a flowerpot.
    As the cruise carries on, Vicky gets to know the passengers better and realizes the danger she's in as she figures out that John is either involved with some really bad partners, or there's another element at play. Either way she's targeted and vulnerable, and doesn't know who she can trust. Her former lover John is behaving cruelly and oddly towards her and his new young wife, and nothing is going as planned.
    Soon the cheerful Schmidt shows up, but is blessedly in the dark about the dangerous situation, and Vicky's stress increases as she worries about getting him out of the situation.

    As the players and the plot are revealed, the novel turns into a desperate race of survival as the identity of enemies and allies become clear. Truly an exciting second half! The mystery of the complicated plot was solved, and the characters became much more compelling as their true motives were revealed.

    Although this is the fifth book in this series, I had no trouble reading it as a standalone novel. The author made discreet but frequent references to Vicky and John's history and I never felt lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great mystery writer.

    Her books are compelling and they keep my attention. You won't be disappointed. Addition to being a great mystery book, it has a wonderful lobe story. I keep reading her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Night Train review

    This book didn't seem as good as her other Vicky Bliss series. It seemed like the main character, Vicky, didn't know what was going on or what to do a lot of the time. I still liked it though, but not as well as past books I have read in this series. I always enjoy Elizabeth Peters' (Barbara Mertz)writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    I absolutley loved this whole series

    This book was a wonderful book that I truly enjoyed. It truly kept one wanting more and is a must read for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    great performance

    This is one book I can listen to over and over again, because of the lively and entertaining performance of Kathleen Turner. She handles a variety of quirky personalities with ease, from an elderly German museum director, a sexy young Egyptian man, and a cynical English art forger, to the somewhat manic Vicky Bliss. This book is *reasonably * non-violent enough for a kid to listen to; my child really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    The abridged version would be better

    Far too many cliches, clever remarks. By the end of the third chapter, I was sick of 'like a' phrases. One can lose track of the story - which is already choppy. This books has everything but the kitchen sink, including some screwed up sequence of events. Just a tad short of Bulwar-Lytton award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1