Customer Reviews for

Night Villa

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    This is an engaging academic thriller

    University of Texas Classics Professor Dr. Sophie Chase knows she is fortunate to be alive when cultist Dale Henry, ex boyfriend of promising classics student Agnes Hancock, starts firing a gun at those attending an interview. Although shook up, Sophie joins a special reenactment in Capri. John Lyros is sponsoring the rebuilding of an exact replica of a Herculaneum villa and will use an information technology program to interpret the burnt scrolls that somewhat have been salvaged from the volcanic ruins.------------ However, Sophie¿s Italian dig turns sinister when her former boyfriend Ely, who vanished five years ago apparently into the same cult as Dale joined, sends her a message by returning a book he borrowed from her. Meanwhile a scroll found amidst the ruins written by a visiting Roman insists the NIGHT VILLA was a place for blood, sex and duplicity. In the labyrinth below the city, Sophie will find much of the same as what happened to a free woman in 79 AD.------------ This is an engaging academic thriller with a delightful link between modern day archaeology and the Ancient World mostly through the scrolls. Sophie is a terrific lead player holding together the two prime parts of the novel while she and her cohorts dig into the past at the same time struggling to survive the present. Fans will enjoy Carole Goodman¿s fine tale and seek her previous literary mystery, (THE SONNET LOVER.-------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Terribly bored

    Save your $$$$. She goes on and on and on. I think she does like to show you how much she knows about this subject and gets lost in it. The story itself could have been told in less than 100 pages....enough said?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me of her older works, the ones I couldn't put down. I've been disappointed with a few of her more recent endeavors, but I'm glad I decided to give it another go. This book did exactly what I wanted it to do; entertained me, captivated me, taught me, and got me inteterested in something new. It's truly been a pleasure to be with this talented writer as she has evolved. I look forward to continuing with her on her journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Real page turner

    "Night Villa" by Carol Goodman was a beautifully well written book. The cover is what caught my eye when parousing the book store, but once you start reading its hard to put down. Its loaded with suspense, hinted with romance, a bit of a thriller. "Night Villa" draws you into to a wirl-wind of excitement and captivates the imagination. I loved this book, recommending it to everyone in my family and several of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great, great read from Carol Goodman

    This book reminded me more of her older books that I absolutely loved reading. I think her last few before this one were not as detailed and intricate as the plot in this one. It was truly a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's academic

    Carol Goodman's mysteries share two common elements: her protagonists are accomplished, American, female academics, usually in literature, who are drawn into complex projects in which a hidden conspiracy exposes them to great danger. Goodman is adept at layering her modern day thrillers over firm historical/mythological underpinnigs. In The Night Villa, Classics Professor Sophie Chase is lured to Italy for a chance to study newly discovered, ancient scrolls pertaining to the subject of her dissertation, Roman slave girl Petronia Iusta, whom Sophie sees as a woman ahead of her time. The others on her team have their own particular agendas, and not all of them are benign. Readers intrigued by mysterious cults and rites, arcane signs and symbols, labyrinths and grottos, and esoteric manuscripts, not to mention Herculaneum, will thoroughly enjoy The Night Villa, which has moments of genuine suspense despite a somewhat improbable denouement. Goodman's a first rate writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    Disappointing

    I have read and enjoyed all of Carol Goodman's previous novels, and the subject matter of this one--an archeological dig in southern Italy with flashbacks to ancient Rome-- sounded irresistible. All of this anticipation made reading the book doubly disappointing. I'm not sure where it went wrong for me. I kept getting distracted by the onslaught of Roman myths and names which I had to reference to keep the plot straight. A little glossary would have been helpful. I was insulted by the cheap plot device the author wove throughout to titillate: the constant hints about the mysterious, orgy-like rites that would be revealed at the end of the book. The plot was also littered with too many mishaps, acts of violence and coincidental encounters, and the characters' under reactions to all of them strained my credibility. In the end, I think it was the character development--or lack of it-- that really ruined the experience for me. I simply didn't like, respect or care about any of these people; with only a quarter of the book left, I gave up and started skimming, with little interest in discovering what happened to them or why. Carol Goodman is usually an engaging writer, and readers shouldn't judge her by this novel. Try The Ghost Orchid--or anything else she has written--instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I really tried to like this book...

    ...but,this academic thriller was just too academic for my tastes. I think the author goes as far as appearing pompous in order to state the obvious-you did your research! Maybe if I read a primer first, it would have made following the story line a littler easier?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Beautifully written tale that pulls you in...

    A captivating, beautifully written book - evocative of time and place. Goodman's captures the essence of her characters with crucial insights and snappy dialogue, leaving you wanting to know how they all turn out. I've turned into a huge fan - and am rushing to read her earlier works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    This amazing story captures you from the beginning and makes you feel like you were there.

    The author is a masterful storyteller and that doesn't even begin to describe her gift of writing. Each new book of Carol Goodman's is as good as and even better than the one before. I was enthralled with this story from beginning to end. The Reader's Guide and conversation at this books end were like a delectable icing on top of the most enjoyable cake ever eaten. I can hardly wait for Ms. Goodman's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2