Customer Reviews for

The Night Watchman

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    A Gripping Tale I Couldn't Put Down

    I was honored to receive an advance copy of "The Night Watchman" and delighted to dig deep into this enjoyable tale of medically retired and physically broken homicide detective Ray Quinn. Right from the start, I knew something bad had happened to Ray, a loner in Orlando who hangs out in his apartment with his apparently only friend "Jim" (Jim Beam whiskey) and a poster of John Wayne that embodies the qualities of the father Ray, a foster child, has never known. He's a tortured soul whose existence is made more difficult due to the physical injuries he still suffers and the guilt he experiences over his partner's demise.

    To make ends meet, Ray works as a night watchman and whiles away his early hours doing Sodoku puzzles and sending his quirky sidekick Crevis Creighton out chasing after shadows. But the tedium quickly ends when Ray discovers the lifeless bodies of an unlikely pair, the pastor of Outreach Orlando Ministries and an exotic dancer. The deaths are ruled a murder-suicide, but the pastor's sister, Pam Winters, believes her brother was framed and asks Ray, who's initially reluctant, to look into the case.

    What follows is an enjoyable, fast-paced ride dominated by masterful writing, strong characterizations, an insider's look into the cutting-edge tools of detective work, and an exciting plot. The writing is sometimes comical, other times poetic, but always gripping. Most refreshing to me was the clever way the author wove in the gospel message through the e-mails of Jamie, the murdered exotic dancer. The novel is meaningful without being heavy handed. I especially appreciated the discreet and tasteful way the author handled the exotic dancer angle. This stellar performance by a masterful author of crime fiction kept me reading late into the night. You won't want to miss this one. I look forward to future installments in this exciting new series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    A Great Read. I have read all five of Mark Mynheir books and the

    A Great Read.
    I have read all five of Mark Mynheir books and they are all good but this is the best of them. Ray Quinn is an interesting protagonist and the plot has many layers of complexities. Even with a somewhat dark atmosphere, Mynheir lightens up the prose with unexpected dialogue that keeps things from becoming too morose. After all, Ray Quinn has gone through very difficult times which has changed his life forever, but he comes out of it with a hopeful future. I hope Mynheir revisits Quinn in a future book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery and funny too

    This is the first book in the Ray Quinn detective series. I received the second book from one of my review programs, so of course, I had to read the first one...first. I don't usually review the preceding books in these situations, but I actually liked The Night Watchman better than The Corruptible, so I decided to post reviews for both.

    This is a "Christian" book, but Ray Quinn isn't the Christian. He's more of a smart-alec, stand-on-your-own, rogue ex-cop. His way of coping with the tragedies in his life is to spend quality time with his buddy Jim. That would be his best friend, Jim Beam.

    His partner at work, and eventually in crime-solving, is the over-zealous Crevis.(Hey, I just realized that rhymes!) This is a well-written book, and I love a mystery that isn't easy to figure out, but the best part of the book is the humor. I laughed my way through this book. There is a little sadness, as Ray shares about the death of his former partner, but that's a small part. And most of the humor is at Crevis's expense. Ray really isn't the nicest guy on the block, but Mynheir writes in such a way that you have to love Ray anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping Mystery

    Written in a snappy first-person narrative, this novel presents a protagonist who grabbed my heart from the beginning. I love Ray Quinn! He's far from perfect; he's damaged--physically, psychologically, and spiritually--a retired cop who now earns his pay as a "rent-a-cop"--a night watchman. Perhaps he's so believable because the author is a police officer.

    The dialogue rings true, the action is lively, and the book is a must-read! Set in Orlando, Florida, this fast paced murder mystery is not at all typical. I found myself chuckling at some sections. Why, I even shed a tear! I guarantee, you won't feel as if you've read it before. The ending is far from predictable.

    I hope that I will have an opportunity to meet Ray Quinn in a sequel. Included is a reader's guide which makes the novel a good book club pick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    kept me on the edge to keep reading to see what was happening next.

    Former Homicide Detective, Ray Quinn, was working as a night watchman. He had survived a violent shooting that killed his partner and put him out of commission. He hid his pain in a bottle.

    When a pastor and a exotic dancer are found murdered in the pastor room at the condo, the conclusion is murder/suicide or is it. With the help of the pastor's sister Ray is thrown right back into investigating, with an unlikely pair to help. Pam the pastors sister and Crevis Creighton a bumbling want a be police officer, and a modern day Barney Fife.

    When I first started reading this book, I was reminded of a Mike Hammer movie. I could picture Detective Quinn as he narrates what is going on. This book really kept me on the edge to keep reading to see what was happening next. This is a excellent suspense filled thriller. As he digs deeper into the investigation, someone out there is determined to keep him from learning the truth. Just how deep is the corruption and where and who is it leading to.

    This is a very clean written Christian Suspense , one that does not depend on the bad language and sexual content, yet it is not preachy either. It you enjoy a good mystery you won't want to miss this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The hero makes Mark Mynheir's crime caper an entertaining fascinating thriller.

    months ago, Ray Quinn was a tough superior OPD homicide detective. On orders from his boss, he and Trisha, his partner (professionally and personally), go to a suspects house to question that person. They are ambushed with Trisha dead and Ray's career as a cop is over as he ate some bullets too.

    When Pam Hendricks begs him to let her into her brother's apartment, Ray opens the door to an ugly scene as David the pastor and Jamie the erotic dancer are dead inside. The police quickly conclude this is a murder-suicide. Pam pleads with Ray to clear her sibling's reputation as she is convinced he was framed. Reluctantly , he agrees because her convictions persuade him that David is innocent. Using OPD connections, he notices anomalies that undo the open and shut case. However, he soon finds a connection that horrifies him as his private investigation links back to the ambush that destroyed his life. Proving it is nearly impossible as a key culprit works inside OPD and is watching him very closely; at least he believes so.

    Ray lives with survivor guilt that consumes him with his only companion being Jack Daniels until Pam's plea. By the time he nearly completes the case, he makes enemies with the few remaining people in the department who care about him as his obsession makes them with one deadly exception believe he crossed the line. Ray's inquiry is top notch as readers wonder if he is losing his tentative grip on sanity yet Pam believes in him. He makes Mark Mynheir's crime caper an entertaining fascinating thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1