BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Night without Armor

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Not very good

    This book looks like a 9 year old wrote it, and the only reason im giving it 2 stars is because she tried her best. Another thing i noticed is that its not a very appropiate gift to give to a teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Cd

    Cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Night Without Armor

    A great book of poetry by an amazing singer/songwriter. If you love Jewel's music than you will love her poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Raw emotion written across these pages...

    Raw emotion written across these pages is so amazing. I can't believe that someone would be so bold and daring to let everyone know about their lives. Jewel can't take an emotional experience and write about it, and everyone can relate to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Exceeded Expectations

    Someone gave me this book as a gift and I was skeptical at first because I've never been a big fan of her music. However, her poems exceeded my expectations and I was very pleased to be able to add this book to my ever-growing poetry collection. The poems put you in her shoes and really make you feel....that's what great poetry is all about! Well done, Jewell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Oppressively Mediocre

    Jewel's 'A Night Without Armour' reads like a dictonary of the cliche. Her failed attempts at grasping the poetic voice make it impenetrable, and its embrace of pop culture banality makes it unbearable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Neruda in Female Form

    Stunning, with the power, simplicity, and twists of Pablo Neruda. Truely assessible with overflowing word value. I hope there will be another book soon. Read and re-read, enjoy and re-joy this collection till then!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    my thoughts

    Jewel is a woman after my own heart.her mind speaks freely in poetry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Simple but True

    I love this book of poems... I love Jewel as a singer/songwriter, but also as a poet. Even the simplest works carry about of meaning, and I feel that most critics don't understand that it is a universal thing.... it's a work that seems to me to be aimed at everyone, not just the literature and poetry elite. But those of us that are 'common' everyday people. So maybe next time the critics need to ask the people who are reading her work and hearing her songs, and not just they're high and mighty selves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Poetic Beauty

    This is an amazing book of verse that flows very smoothly. Jewel's talent for wordage is complemented nicely by her Christian and humanitarian point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    A Jewel, indeed...

    Miss Jewel's heart landscape, provides a radiant source of insight and a lively understanding about ourselves ---through the mirrors of our world: Her poetic works are indeed, a rare gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Wonderful

    Jewel is an amazing poet! Like someone said earlier, It's unfortunate that her singing career has overshadowed her talent as a poet. This book is wonderful. My favorite's are I Look At Young Girls Now, We Have Been Called, and Slow Disease. i'd reccommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Poetry for the Deepest Parts of Your Soul

    I loved Jewel as a songwriter but when I picked up her book in B&N and read one of her poems, I was mesmerized. Every poem is exquiste and thought-provoking. No need for rhymes or even standard poetic rhythms. This is one book of modern poetry that should defintely be read and reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    advid reader, musician New York

    the average person can bond with her works...truly a brilliant poet & lyric writer, for a poetry book of similiar quality, try a rather new author redman-waldeyer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Jewel is amazing!

    I love this book, I even own it on tape. Whenever I need a bit of inspiration I can just pick up this book and read one page and know that someone else feels the same way I do. All I can say is that Jewel is an amazing woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Overshadowed

    It was unfortunate that Jewel's considerable talent as a song writer of the pop scene overshadowed her achievment as a poet. This book gave me much pleasure and I look forward to her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Beautiful and well written!

    I loved this book!It was honest, beautiful and very deep.I don't think people should tell Jewel that she should stick to songwriting.She writes poetry because she enjoys it.I dont think you should tell her what to do.You should try writing your own poems then you can talk.Hah the only people who don't like Jewel's poems are shallow,immature,hipocrites and/or little kids.Grow up Jewel is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Wonderful

    I am thirteen years old (2002)and have enjoyed Jewel Kilcher's songs since I was seven or eight.She has a wonderful voice and writes songs that are honest and have to do with real life.I recently bought this book and really enjoyed it.The poems touched me and inspired me to write my own poetry.I have nothing against people who don't like Jewel.I must say I like her WAY more than Britney Spears.Britney Spears is a sex object and really doesnt put her heart or soul into her music as Jewel does.Jewel purpousely put a selection of good and bad poems together to show people that poetry is honest and not always perfect.I strongely recommend this poetry book to anyone who enjoys Jewel's songs.Thank you Jewel, you are my idol forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    It's Deep, it's real Deep.

    This is an awesome book. I love poetry and this book gave me a new outlook on it. You can really tell that Jewel put a lot of heart into her poetry and I GUARENTEE that this book will not bore you. My favorite- 'I'm writing to tell you'- it's great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2002

    Descritpitve Poems

    Jewel's personal poems of her most gribing moments of her life. From falling in love to the hard and harsh realities of heart break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3