Customer Reviews for

Night World #1-3: Secret Vampire; Daughters of Darkness; Spellbinder

Average Rating 4.5
( 944 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(581)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Unforgettably Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

People of the world, listen now. Read this book! It is unforgettable. The writing is amazing and the plot is great!! A new and sweet way of thinking about witches, vampires and werewolfs!
My favorite was Secret Vampire. It's about a girl named Poppy that gets cance...
People of the world, listen now. Read this book! It is unforgettable. The writing is amazing and the plot is great!! A new and sweet way of thinking about witches, vampires and werewolfs!
My favorite was Secret Vampire. It's about a girl named Poppy that gets cancer. Her bestfriend James is a vampire. And together they try to find a way to keep her alive. If by the description you don't think it's awesome than... go to www.teensreadtoo.com
The website lets you read Secret Vampire. The whole thing!!! Without paying money!!!!!!!!!!!! Go. Now!Read

posted by Vampires-and-Spongebob on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I am an adult who is absolutely addicted to these fantasy stories. What I did not like about this book, and did not purchase the rest of them, is that the stories are like three short stories in one book. There was some overlap in the last two stories in that there is...
I am an adult who is absolutely addicted to these fantasy stories. What I did not like about this book, and did not purchase the rest of them, is that the stories are like three short stories in one book. There was some overlap in the last two stories in that there is one character in common, but did not play that big of a part in the story. I would much rather have had the stories contain the same characters, carrying over into each book. The stories were original and quite charming in some places. The author is a great story teller and I have read other books of hers. I just did not care for the short story style of this book and assumed the others would be the same.

posted by 3942681 on June 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    forgettable....

    Very boring, and very predictable... Read the House of Night series instead.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not so great

    I was unimpressed. The story was way too predictive and I wasn't "feeling" the characters.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good...

    I love Twilight and other vampire books, but I did not enjoy this book. I bought all three and thought it was going to be a series. It was actally short stories. I only read secert vampire. I thought it ended too quickly and was not very thrilling. The next short story involed Ash but not Poppy and James. And the writing was not very detailed. Sorry, wasnt a fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Repetitive Writing

    The plot could have been something that would have been an instant hook but I found the writing was mediocre. The author was too repetitive in the usage of Poppy's name that it was distracting me-- I don't think 3nd person was the right choice. I read through the first story but I am not compelled to read the other two. There were just too many distractions in the writing for me to concentrate on the story. In the end, a story can't keep a person hooked unless it is written well. I just did not feel it with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Night World

    Before I started reading the book, I thought it was one full story, and it had gotten really good reviews, so I was excited to read it. But, boy was I wrong. It turned out to be three short stories, which stunk. Once I actually began the book, I found the characters were very rushed. We get about five minutes worth of knowing the characters, and the plot begins like a smack in the face. I was also very tired of the whole "vampire" thing. I've heard so, so many descriptions on the vampire thing, and I'm sick of it. I know, solution= don't read vampire books. But some authors make vampire work. L.J. Smith didn't. One positive was that I liked Poppy (odd name though) and James as friends. AS FRIENDS though, and the story was ruined when they got "closer". I felt Phil was annoying and seemed way too old for his age, or at least compared to Poppy. I couldn't finish the book after about page 200, and I was just too bored. I don't understand how people could be interested in this book, and it's average rating was like, a 4.5 out of 5. Don't get it... I gave the book 2 out of 5 stars because I liked the writing, just not the story or characters. Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. I'm not going to totally bash Smith, and I'm going to read her DArkest Powers book, which sounded great. So there may be knew hope. Still, this is not a good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Wish the stories were longer

    I felt that just as they stories were getting really interesting they ended. I am not going to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing compared to Twilight.

    This book, to me, is not worth reading and doesn't deserve to be called a series. The books are not interconnected and basically have nothing to do with each other. There is no sequel to any of the stories, which is ridiculous considering that they all leave you hanging with 'What If's?'. It would be much MUCH better if there were sequels to the stories so that you could find out what happens. Very immature characters and unrealistic story lines, even for fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Good plot - lazy writing

    Love to read about the vamps so when I found this book of 3 I was excited...wasted excitement. The plots are planned well enough, but the writer seems in too big a hurry to pour the story out and accomplish the 3 in 1...details, emotion and setting of the story leave a lot to be desired! Wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2