Customer Reviews for

Night World #1-3: Secret Vampire; Daughters of Darkness; Spellbinder

Average Rating 4.5
( 946 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(581)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Unforgettably Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

People of the world, listen now. Read this book! It is unforgettable. The writing is amazing and the plot is great!! A new and sweet way of thinking about witches, vampires and werewolfs!
My favorite was Secret Vampire. It's about a girl named Poppy that gets cance...
People of the world, listen now. Read this book! It is unforgettable. The writing is amazing and the plot is great!! A new and sweet way of thinking about witches, vampires and werewolfs!
My favorite was Secret Vampire. It's about a girl named Poppy that gets cancer. Her bestfriend James is a vampire. And together they try to find a way to keep her alive. If by the description you don't think it's awesome than... go to www.teensreadtoo.com
The website lets you read Secret Vampire. The whole thing!!! Without paying money!!!!!!!!!!!! Go. Now!Read

posted by Vampires-and-Spongebob on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I am an adult who is absolutely addicted to these fantasy stories. What I did not like about this book, and did not purchase the rest of them, is that the stories are like three short stories in one book. There was some overlap in the last two stories in that there is...
I am an adult who is absolutely addicted to these fantasy stories. What I did not like about this book, and did not purchase the rest of them, is that the stories are like three short stories in one book. There was some overlap in the last two stories in that there is one character in common, but did not play that big of a part in the story. I would much rather have had the stories contain the same characters, carrying over into each book. The stories were original and quite charming in some places. The author is a great story teller and I have read other books of hers. I just did not care for the short story style of this book and assumed the others would be the same.

posted by 3942681 on June 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    I honestly thought this book was going to like the rest one love story and everything surrounding the two main characters. But it is not all the character are in one way or another involved. READ IT YOU WILL LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    Great book!(A-)

    This was a very great book. This book spoke to me about how life can actually be something like this. This books purpose was probably to get your attention.(which it caught mine.) The author I think was trying to teach you how to communicate better. I learned from this book that everybody is still learning about their best friend, you may think you know you best friend but they can be hiding something very important. I would recommend this because you get a little taste of everything. I would defiantly recommend this to teenagers from 13+.You get the feeling of "oh my gosh what is going to happen?" or you just don't want to put the book down. I give this book an A-!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!!

    My friend actually let me borrow this, since I already read the twilight series and she said this book is better than twilight!! so i read it and i couldn't put it down! I love the way L. J. Smith wrote this!!, i just love the whole idea of the series and making all of the werewolves, witches and vampires into one whole world! im on the second book right now and it's amazing! but L.J Smith did an awesome job on this book anyone that likes twilight should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    night world 1

    this was my first time reading one of l j smith's books.the writing was good,i loved the charater's,overall though after reading the first one i had to get the second!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Good book

    I have really enjoyed this series of books. Can't wait for the last one to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definately a page turner

    L.J. Smith is a close third in my mind of best writers. I enjoyed this book. L.J. Smith really grabs the attention and has a tendency of drawing in both young adult and old. The stories are kind of short though; they do leave you on the edge of your seat and keep your mind captive. It is hard to put the book down, but I finished the book in two days. The night world series are very well written and definitely are a must if you like vampires, witches and shape shifters. These stories introduce you into the Night World series. In this particular book, even though there are 3 different stories, they didn't seem long enough. It kept my interest in reading the stories, but I thought the stories were kind of short. I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    positive

    i loved the first book (as in the first three in book 1) and i just can't get into the firts story of the second book-Dark angel. but i loved the first one and i will eventually try and finish the rest of these! my favorite was the second story in book 1-daughters of Darkness. Ash is awesome! The third story, Spellbinder-was okay though it took me a LONG time to finally read...i just dont like stories about witches and i only like them if theres a vampir involved...anyways, great and i reccomend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    bravo, finally a new look on old genre

    Wonderuflly written, captivating and luring, job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall, Good Series!

    I bought this whole series at random, just because I needed something to read. So I went in the store and picked the biggest books that I could find, thinking that they would last me a while...I was wrong. I had finished all three books in about one weeks...I couldn't put them down. I liked these books because each book has 3 smaller books inside it, all about different charecters. So the stories never got old. I was pleased with them and read all 3 big books and am waiting for the conclusion to come out and I plan to buy that one too. Oh, one more thing...all of these books are romance type books. They have action in them but there is a lot of romance in them too. So if you are not into the whole romance thing then these are definatly not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Put It Down!

    The headline states it all: I couldn't put it down! The day I started reading this book, I was up until 4:30 in the morning, just to finish it! I'm sure the rest of the books in the series are as good, and I'm anxiously waiting for them to become available to me (I'm a little short on money at the moment) to go through them as well. There are three stories in one book. The first story, Secret Vampire, has the best storyline; the second, Daughters of Darkness, has the best character dynamics; and the third, Spellbinder, has the best tone. All in my opinion, of course. I highly recomend this book to people of all ages, as it is up there in my list of absolute favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!

    If you want a quick read with romance & action than you need to read this series! Three great semi-short stoires in each book with different charactors in each. Great BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First book, great start

    This is a good start to the series. The second book has my favorites in it. These stories are good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Poppy and James

    The Poppy and James story was my favorite, but the others were ok i guess. Not my favorite read but its pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    good series

    I enjoyed the characters, the interlocking stories and the return of some characters from book to book. The stories were formulaic, but that's not a bad thing, when the formulas work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightworld reveiw

    Gosh, this took me a while to read mainly because i didn't really like the first story. So i picked it up again to read the rest and i was impressed at how much better the second and the third story was from the first one. I think my favoirte was the third story, but i really like the second one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Night World No. 1 by L.J. Smith

    Night World isn't exactly a place. It's a society. A secret society where laws are strict and falling in love breaks all laws of the Night world.
    Vampires, werewolves, witches, shapeshifters - they live among us mortals in secret. We don't know they exist. Anyone can be a member of Night World. It may be your best friend or your friendly neighbor. These creatures are irresistable to humans but they can be deadly.

    Night World has three stories where these creatures and humans fall in love.

    In Secret Vampire, Poppy North is diagnosed with cancer and only James Russmusen (Poppy's secret love and best friend) can save her.

    In Daughters of Darkness, three vampire sisters run away from home to go live with their aunt in a farmhouse. Their brother, Ash Redfern, comes to bring them back but he falls in love with his sister's friend.

    In Spellbinder, two cousins (who are witches) argues over their high school crush. Thea and Blaise Harman get expelled, again. They get one more chance to go to a normal high school with humans or they would get sent away. An evil spirit gets loose and Thea needs to send it back where it came from before it hurts the one that she loves (Eric Ross).

    This book drew me in from page one. I just couldn't stop reading. Each night I would read and I would find that it is already morning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Worth the several hundred pages

    The novel is very well written and engrossing. Each of the three stories catches your attention right away, and you wont want to put it down. If your into fiction novels you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good quick stories to read

    I think the only thing that would have made these stories better would be to have the same characters used but I have already read the next book in this series and they start bring back these charcters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NIGHT WORLD Series

    Night World is a wonderful and somewhat thrilling book. If you've read twilight you must read this book. It has three different stories in each book but, somehow the books connect in a way and it is just so thrilling ro read and you wonder whats going to happen when you read. For me, I wish the book never ended. But i would recemend this book to teenagers and young adults. Its a dramatic love book that you WILL ENJOY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Night World-Not just for Teenagers

    I have recently been intrudeced to L.J. Smiths Night World Series. This first volume book held three stories that dealt with death and love in a very different way. This series is one that I will recomend to those adults who are tired of reading the same sex filled books. Or they just need a break. I recomended this book to a few teenagers that trying to come more into themselfs and they needed to see that women are on top of things to. Also they are great romance beginers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11