Customer Reviews for

Night World #4-6: Dark Angel; The Chosen; Soulmate

Average Rating 4.5
( 616 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(426)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing

The second novel in the Night World series was just simply amazing. It is not often that I find myself telling other people that I found an amazing VAMPIRE novel that I could read and re-read over and over again. However, after reading this second installment in the ser...
The second novel in the Night World series was just simply amazing. It is not often that I find myself telling other people that I found an amazing VAMPIRE novel that I could read and re-read over and over again. However, after reading this second installment in the series, I simply fell head-over-heels for L. J. Smith's Night World all over again. Its hard enough to write in the regular every-day world. Creating an entirely different world to co-exist with the one we live in is even harder...especially if you want it to be at least half-believable. L.J. Smith has succeded in making two worlds collide beautifully.

DARK ANGEL is about Gillian--a girl who recently had a near death experience. When she falls into icy cold water and 'dies', an angel brings her back to earth, allowing her to 'live'. Soon enough, the angel has her doing things that harm others, but help her gain popularity. Is her angel her guardian, or her undoing? And if Gillian can do spells...is she a WITCH???

CHOSEN is about Rashel, a girl with the emotional stability of a regular teenaged girl, but fantastic NINJA SKILLS! She is a vampire hunter--set on getting her retribution for her mother's death. When she was five, a vampire bit her mother, killing her mother instantly. Since then, Rashel has sworn to kill all the vampires in the world...but what happens when she falls in love with one, becoming a traitor to all vampire-slayers? And why are all these teenage girls disappearing? Rashel MUST find out in this amazingly written book.

The last book in this set is SOULMATE. This one was the most intricate of all of them. It included two perspectives--those of Hannah Snow, a human with a red birthmark across her face, and Thierry, the Lord of Made Vampires. Apparently, Hannah has been writing notes to herself that read things such as "Dead before 17". When her psycologist puts her in hypnosis to get her to work out WHY she is writing the notes, she learns that she is the reincarnated Hana of the Three Rivers. It turns out that Hannah has had seven or eight lives--but WHY? And why is Maya telling Hannah that Thierry is BAD? And why is Thierry stalking her? You have to find out yourself.

posted by Sierra_D on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!

When I got this book for christmas I was EXCITED, I had read the Twilight saga and they were awesome; but these books brought to me more! I know that I sound as if I am dissing Twilight, I'm not, don't get me wrong. When I read the first, Dark Angle, it kept me wanting ...
When I got this book for christmas I was EXCITED, I had read the Twilight saga and they were awesome; but these books brought to me more! I know that I sound as if I am dissing Twilight, I'm not, don't get me wrong. When I read the first, Dark Angle, it kept me wanting more but when I got to, the third, Soulmate, a lot more was explained; like who Maya was and how Vampires got to be what the were. I will and have been telling people to read this book, and the whole series. I will somehow beg my parents and/or any adult who will buy me a book, to get me the others of the series.

All together a must read!

posted by 3hoxwosn on January 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    Simply Amazing

    The second novel in the Night World series was just simply amazing. It is not often that I find myself telling other people that I found an amazing VAMPIRE novel that I could read and re-read over and over again. However, after reading this second installment in the series, I simply fell head-over-heels for L. J. Smith's Night World all over again. Its hard enough to write in the regular every-day world. Creating an entirely different world to co-exist with the one we live in is even harder...especially if you want it to be at least half-believable. L.J. Smith has succeded in making two worlds collide beautifully.<BR/><BR/>DARK ANGEL is about Gillian--a girl who recently had a near death experience. When she falls into icy cold water and 'dies', an angel brings her back to earth, allowing her to 'live'. Soon enough, the angel has her doing things that harm others, but help her gain popularity. Is her angel her guardian, or her undoing? And if Gillian can do spells...is she a WITCH???<BR/><BR/>CHOSEN is about Rashel, a girl with the emotional stability of a regular teenaged girl, but fantastic NINJA SKILLS! She is a vampire hunter--set on getting her retribution for her mother's death. When she was five, a vampire bit her mother, killing her mother instantly. Since then, Rashel has sworn to kill all the vampires in the world...but what happens when she falls in love with one, becoming a traitor to all vampire-slayers? And why are all these teenage girls disappearing? Rashel MUST find out in this amazingly written book.<BR/><BR/>The last book in this set is SOULMATE. This one was the most intricate of all of them. It included two perspectives--those of Hannah Snow, a human with a red birthmark across her face, and Thierry, the Lord of Made Vampires. Apparently, Hannah has been writing notes to herself that read things such as "Dead before 17". When her psycologist puts her in hypnosis to get her to work out WHY she is writing the notes, she learns that she is the reincarnated Hana of the Three Rivers. It turns out that Hannah has had seven or eight lives--but WHY? And why is Maya telling Hannah that Thierry is BAD? And why is Thierry stalking her? You have to find out yourself.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    A snuggle up book for night

    The book is a well written book, good for any teen who wants a bump-in-the-night book to snuggle up and read under the covers or even when your bored. A page turner and an overall good read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    night time

    hey this book is really good if you thought the first one was awsome just wait till you read this one.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    One of my favourite L.J. Smith's books. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Series

    This is my most favorite series from author LJ Smith. There are 3 stories in each book - each story with their own characters and personal obstacles but all share the struggle with following the Night World rule: Never fall in love with a human.

    I do recommend reading the series from the very first book as characters from previous stories are re-introduced and referenced. The stories build up to one main plot which keeps all the characters connected.

    I love how LJ Smith twists and turns the story to make it seem impossible to get a good ending but she pulls it off. I can't wait until Strange Fate is finally released to see how the series end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Awesome

    I have read all of her books and Ilobe them all she is a fantastic wrter i recommened this book to anyone

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    Amazing

    I would remind that anyone read all the the night world series. They are the kind of stories that drawl you into the story and you do not want to put them down. They are very much a quick read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    OMG!!! Love these!!!

    I have to tell you that I read These out of order and it made no difference. I read the chosen first,then soulmate, then dark angel, then the first book . These made me the vampire lover I am! L.J smith is a fantastic writer. I read all the night worlds, dark vision, and forbidden game. If you read these I swear you won't regret it! The stories have different characters but the same setting. I love this, it's so interesting and I love it when the current characters hear about past characters. It will be worth your time. The odd thing is that somehow l.J. smith was able to make vampires heart warming.If you like me are waiting for Strange Fate to come out check out her website, she has stories you can read there that continue with some of the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Greeeeeeeeeeat!!!!

    These are the best books. Soulmate was my favorite out of the three. It's explained so well. the descriptions are very vivid. the books get you involved in the story. it's like you're there watching it like it's a movie. amazing author. read, buy, reread, and experience this book. i personally loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    night World #4-6

    This book is awesome. when i first read the first book i couldn't wait to get this one. I would recommend this book to anybody because it takes you on adventures that can't be explained. I don't know how to put my actions into words because these books are that good. L.J. Smith is a very vivid writer. Good luck and you should really read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!

    Okay to so... This book i would say was not as great as the first, but it still is really good! Dark Angel... was good! It shocked me at first to find out that Angel and Gillian were soulmates! I mean yeah sure you could she it coming, but there was still something... iffy about the whole thing. Then I read on and find out he is actually HER DEAD COUSIN!!(woah didnt see that one coming!) But i'm glad she ended up with David in the end! The Chosen... Great! One of my many favorites! I love the whole vampire hunter in love with vampire thing! It's like... well i dont know, but arch enemies in love? Pure Rich! Soulmate! wow! I have to give my regards to L.J. smith! She did good with this one! Hannah and Thierry are great together! Although i wish some more of the girls would choose to be vampires for their lovers, but whatever. Thierry is really in love with Hannah and although they have many bumps on the way towards being together... im glad they are together in the end! Great Job L.J. Smith!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Night world no.2

    I loved this book!! I can't wait for the next book. The book is full of enchantment, forbidden luv, etc... But u should read the 1st book as well. Awesome series so far. Cant wait for the next book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    night world

    Night World is an intense series that connect together in a wierd way. It has hidden mysteries that are surprising when you figure them out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    A

    Night workd is the best book every it has vampires , shape shirters and every thing you could think of i would say to get this book it is very very goood

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awesome Book

    This book, i thought, was awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    AMAZING: i loved it

    This book was great! I love this author and recomend all her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    <3

    Loved this book just like the first!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    I love it!

    This book exceptional! I love L.J. Smith and I love her books. I love every story and every character. My favorite story is Soulmate. You will enjoy this story. I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    AMAZING

    L.J.Smith has done it again. She's now one of my favorite authors,but I never would have heard of her if it wasn't for my bff Ashlyn. ILY girl. Anyway,I love this book and this series.
    Amber

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wow

    This book is amazing. I love the way she describes all her characters, its as if i knew them . Wow veryone one should read this book. Yo will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22