Customer Reviews for

Night World #7-9: Huntress; Black Dawn; Witchlight

Average Rating 4.5
( 596 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

NIGHT WORLD #3

I have read all of the Night World novels, and this one was my favorite!! I always loved these books, the story is so original and just awesome but there was always one flaw that got to me. Because there are three seperate stories in each book, i felt i never really got...
I have read all of the Night World novels, and this one was my favorite!! I always loved these books, the story is so original and just awesome but there was always one flaw that got to me. Because there are three seperate stories in each book, i felt i never really got connected with the characters enough. but this book changed that! I felt the character's emotions in this one. i got that feeling of desperation and forbidden love that i'd been waiting for! My favorite had to be Witchlight with Huntress running a close second! These two stories were heartwrenching, they left me wishing the entire novel was about them! i got so deeply rooted with the female leads in these two, and i UNDERSTOOD them. i knew where they were coming from, and i knew where they wanted to go as individuals. this book is amazing i suggest you read it! it's really a great book for discusssing with your book buds. because there are so many ways you could feel about this book, me and my firends have totally different opinions about it and that makes it great! it connects with everyone on thier own level!! GREAT BOOk, this one deserves a CALAMITY PLEASE!!

posted by CaLaMiTyPLeAsE on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

night world series number 10 strange fate

I'm so tired of being jerked around about the release of "strange fate". It was suppose to be release last year then the beginning of this year. One can only guess that L.J. Smith doesn't have an ending to the series that's why there's been no release. If there is no en...
I'm so tired of being jerked around about the release of "strange fate". It was suppose to be release last year then the beginning of this year. One can only guess that L.J. Smith doesn't have an ending to the series that's why there's been no release. If there is no ending just say so and quit jerking the readers around.

posted by lady-gryphon on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NIGHT WORLD #3

    I have read all of the Night World novels, and this one was my favorite!! I always loved these books, the story is so original and just awesome but there was always one flaw that got to me. Because there are three seperate stories in each book, i felt i never really got connected with the characters enough. but this book changed that! I felt the character's emotions in this one. i got that feeling of desperation and forbidden love that i'd been waiting for! My favorite had to be Witchlight with Huntress running a close second! These two stories were heartwrenching, they left me wishing the entire novel was about them! i got so deeply rooted with the female leads in these two, and i UNDERSTOOD them. i knew where they were coming from, and i knew where they wanted to go as individuals. this book is amazing i suggest you read it! it's really a great book for discusssing with your book buds. because there are so many ways you could feel about this book, me and my firends have totally different opinions about it and that makes it great! it connects with everyone on thier own level!! GREAT BOOk, this one deserves a CALAMITY PLEASE!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the last two vol. were awsome

    night world is awsome book each characters connected in someway it leaves you sucked into the stories that you never want end. l.j. smith is a genius with story lines etc need i go on i recommend you read the first two see how sucked in you get......

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    night world series number 10 strange fate

    I'm so tired of being jerked around about the release of "strange fate". It was suppose to be release last year then the beginning of this year. One can only guess that L.J. Smith doesn't have an ending to the series that's why there's been no release. If there is no ending just say so and quit jerking the readers around.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cannot wait!!

    I cannot wait for the next book in the Night World series to come out!The last two books were so romantic and suspenseful and awesome.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    where's strange fate?

    Does anyone know when strange fate is coming out or if it even exist? It was suppose to be out last year then sometime this year now I can't even find it as a coming soon book. I have the other nine books but don't want to start them if there's no ending to the series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    ???

    Is there even an ending? I liked the books, but there is no real ending....I would give it 5 stars but no ending. A real dissapointment.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Story line at last!

    Night World is an amazing series. I first picked it up because I have seen several people reading it, and I just love L.J. Smith's books. Vampire Diaries was the first series I read by her, and then I read the Secret Circle series, both were very good, so I decided to read the Night World series. I must say that the first two books did not hold my attention as well as the third one did. If you have read the first two books, you have probably noticed that there is just about no story line at all when you read all three sections together. The books had their own thing happening and the only thing that tied the six sections from the first two books together, were the characters. When I finished the first two books I was so glad that I could move on and not have to be jumping around all the time. With the third book actually having a story line to it, I was very happy. It drove me up a wall trying to remember all the characters -- there must have been at least ten in each section! The third book focused more on the individual section instead of the overall picture in some ways. L.J. Smith had an idea for where the entire book was going, but also focused on the sections more. It was so relieving knowing what was going on instead of trying to piece it all together. The prophecies that L.J. Smith incorporates into this book was an ingenious idea. The only bad part about it was having to remember about five of them and what they meant. The prophecy that you hear the most: One from the land of kings long forgotten; One from the hearth which still holds the spark; One from the Day World where two eyes are watching; One from the twilight to be one with the dark, was my favorite prophecy. I would always guess to see which Wild Power matched the part of the prophecy. With L.J. Smith having only three sections in each book, is just killing me with anticipation to when the fourth book comes out so I can finally see if (or how) the world ends, and what certain powers the last Wild Power has. The last part in the prophecy, one from the twilight to be one with the dark, is what I just cannot wait to see who "plays" that role, and why they are going from light to dark, and what their motives are. Every story has a soul mate in it, and I'm curious to see how this one goes. In the three sections in the third book, the Wild Power is someone that the main character meets or knows, it is never the main character, so it will be interesting to see if L.J. Smith finally has the main character be the Wild Power, or if it will be like the rest of them. If you like action, romance, vampires, witches, shape-shifters, and/or werewolves, you will like this series if you don't mind different characters every section of the book. This is a very easy and good read for pre-teen and teenager girls.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    Personally , I think this book had read my mind with what I want

    Personally , I think this book had read my mind with what I wanted to read. It had me in class , up all night , and if I do say so myself, HOOKED. Quite a bit of romance dosen't hurt in these books. Its surely a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Strange fate

    Strange fate is suppose to come this October right befor Halloween!!!!!!!!!!!! :))

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as Good as The Other Books

    This night world book was not what I expected after reading the first two. It did have excellent bases for stories and decent characters. However, I thought that it tended to drag in some scenes, especially in the second story. The first and last stories were action-packed and moved swiftly. The overall book was not horrible but personally I do not believe it was on par with the other books within the series.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    :)

    i love this book but i really want to know when the last book comes out. Night World is a great book for teens well in my opinion it is. Eventually you really connect with the characters. You almost feel what they feel in a way. This book is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Cant wait for the last book!!!!!!!!!!

    So I read all the books a long while ago and have been awaiting the last book. I love this series so much and I cant wait till L.J. finally finishes it. Me and my friend have been internally screaming at her for taking so long. But it is going to be so worth he wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    THESE BOOKS ROCK

    I LOVE these book there awsome i love love love them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    Night World, Book 3

    This book is amazing. It is able to relate current everyday problems with great fiction. The book captivates its readers and keeps you all the way through.Personally, I have re-read this book so many times I almost know all the words. P.C. and Kristan Cast are very good writeers and I have read almost all their books. If you like this, I recommend the Marked series also.

    overall, a VERY good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    A great series!

    I loved reading these books when they first came out after stumbling across them in the library. When I learned they were republishing the series I was very excited. I love the stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Just Adore This Whole Series

    I tried this series because I was looking for more of L. J. Smith's books. She has such a talent with writing. I love reading all of her books. There isn't one that I haven't re-read about five times or so.
    I think I am a little sad that I have to see the characters go, but also kind of thrilled because there's new characters that I love just as much! L. J. Smith has put a lot of creativity into it, espeacially when the soulmates , er,... connect. I think this would be a good book to read if your looking for anything vampire, or were (as in werewolf). Or if you've just read the Vampire Diaries Series (the vampires are similar, they have the same weaknesses and things) or Twilight Series.

    I just can't say truely say how much I love L. J. Smith's writing. I'm so happy she's writing more books after her long break!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ok

    Neh

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Twilight,

    I started reading Twilight a month after the first book came out. But I have to say, I love these short stories a bit more. I'd tell anyone to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME

    This series is amazing. She leaves you wanting more. It justs awesome. I loved the first two and I know that this book will be just as good. WAY TO GO L.J. SMITH!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    THE BEST BOOK

    I liked the whole series. So......<BR/>GOOD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30