BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Night of Cake & Puppets

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    A fun read. Loved it and I can't wait to read the third book in

    A fun read. Loved it and I can't wait to read the third book in the Trilogy. A nice look into the backstory of


    Mik and Zuzana. What a delightful couple and I love that Laini gave Karou such a great friend to share her life with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    This novella doesn't follow the primary action of the trilogy, i

    This novella doesn't follow the primary action of the trilogy, instead detailing the story of Zuzana, Karou's best friend, and Mik, the boy she loves. This novella is lovely, as are all of Laini's stories. There is magic in this story, and not just all the wishes Zuzana uses to create the treasure hunt. The magic is Laini and the enchanting world she has created and the gorgeous words she uses like paints to create it.

    Zuzana has always been a feisty character so I loved seeing her a little unsure. It...softened her, made her less intimidating and human. In Days of Blood and Starlight, she and Mik basically march up to a camp of chimera more or less fearlessly. It's amazing and totally relatable that a cute boy nearly brings her to her knees. At the same time, I absolutely admire and covet her bravery to go after Mik in such spectacular fashion. Meanwhile Mik, who is quite a small character in the main plot arc, shines as the winsome suitor. Mik is charming and sweet, which is a lovely change from the hardened and tough male characters who dominate Karou's story (not that I don't love them too!).

    The plot of this novella is quite simple: Zuzana creates a treasure hunt for Mik, and she is the prize. The real magic is the getting there. These two circle one another throughout the snow-silenced streets of Prague in a dance every bit as alluring and elegant as Zuzana's marionette dance for her school project. Zuzana makes good use of the wishes Karou left her, and she and Mik each add some of their own. The fact that Zuzana created the hunt and that Mik is so willing to play along–and even add a couple twists of his own–casts an intangible but very real spell over this story and the reader. I was entralled by this darling short story. I found myself gasping and sighing dreamily at all the good parts. This, and my reread of DoBS and Days of Blood and Starlight, are more than enough to tide me over until the conclusion of the trilogy with Dreams of Gods and Monsters, which is sure to be just as much of a magical adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Come on come all

    The bugz theatre is making a new play

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Short & Sweet

    This short tasted like a tiny super chocolatey super rich small piece of cake. It was sweet. Any more and it might have been too sweet - but it was just the right size.

    Zuzanna & Mik - in many ways I could argue that they are the true heart of Daughter of Smoke & Bone - if nothing else they are the readers' touchstone into the mystical world within its pages. - they're my favorite characters and most of my favorite scenes in the trilogy involves them in some way. The puppet show in the first book... the best scene of all three - in my opinion.

    If you're already a fan of Daughter of Smoke & Bone you have to read this - especially if you love Zuzanna & Mik. If you're new, read Daughter first then this novella - then continue to books two & three.

    I actually liked this *more* than Daughter... As Zuzanna says, "You don't need magic to be magical" - or something like that anyway. This story is magical without being about magic - though there are a few wishes that involve puppets - of course.

    5/5 - Perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carol Thompson for Readers' Favorite Night of Cakes

    Reviewed by Carol Thompson for Readers' Favorite

    Night of Cakes & Puppets by Laini Taylor is a lovely story and one that stays in your mind long after it's finished. It's magical, romantic, funny, and endearing. The characters are so well developed that they seem real and as if they are in the same room with you. The story is about Zuzana and Mik, who meet and fall in love, yet it's far from a typical love story. This is apparently a book based on previous books, but not having read the previous books, I could still easily follow along without confusion. This book does make me want to go back and read Ms. Taylor's previous books - each one of them. Taylor captures the essence of young love with amazing prose and cleverly worded sentences. The story is short, but oh, so sweet.

    The story is told from both Zuzana and Mik's point of view, which makes it an even more emotionally-charged story. The alternating POV's work well and Ms. Taylor does master it. Unlike some books that become clustered with alternating POV's, or one POV is written much stronger than the other, Ms. Taylor accomplishes this with finesse. The audio book is well narrated and the narrator is able to bring out the voice of the characters masterfully. Sometimes the downfall with audio books is that the narration is flat. This review is for both the ebook version and the audio version. It's a book I want to read over and over again so the ebook version is a must. Don't let it concern you if you haven't read the other books in this series. It works well as a standalone book. If you enjoy reading about young love in a unique way, this is a definite addition to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    I thought that this was perfectly enchanting. Although it is muc

    I thought that this was perfectly enchanting. Although it is much lighter than the rest of the series, it adds a bit of lightness to the rather dark subject matter of the other books. Zuzana is a lovely character, and it was nice to see a little more into her and Mik's relationship. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed the first two books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Loved this

    This was a perfect little side story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Night of Cake & Puppets is a novella in Laini Taylor's Daugh

    Night of Cake & Puppets is a novella in Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone series. It is the story of how Zuzana and Mik became a couple. It is a sweet and romantic fairytale and I loved it! Ms. Taylor does an excellent job at capturing the feeling of a crush on the verge of love:

    "Our eyes meet. And...it's like all my life I've been this tower standing at the edge of the ocean for some obscure purpose, and only now, almost eighteen years in, has someone thought to flip the switch that reveals that I'm not a tower at all. I'm a lighthouse. It's like waking up. I am incandescent."

    "My face responds without authorization from my brain, so the resulting smile feels like the biggest, most unguarded, goofiest smile I've ever unleashed in my entire life. I didn't even know my face could do this. It's like there were hidden zippers in my cheeks. Jesus."

    Karou is incorporated into the story as Zuzana's supportive friend, but the story is written in Zuzana and Mik's alternating perspectives. It's been a while since I read either of the existing books in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series but this novella has me motivated to reread the series in preparation for the third and final installment due to release in April, 2014. It can't come soon enough!

    #1: Daughter of Smoke & Bone
    #2: Days of Blood & Starlight
    #2.5: Night of Cake & Puppets (novella)
    #3: Dreams of Gods & Monsters (April, 2014)

    My favorite quotes:
    "No, I have to lure him out, like a will-o'-the-wisp, tease him deeper and deeper into the forest until he is lost and doomed. Without the forest or the doom - just the luring. Like a Venus flytrap that says I am a delicious flower come taste me and then snap! Devour. Without the devouring. Well, maybe a little devouring."

    "Close your eyes and music paints light vines and calligraphy on the darkness within you."

    "...holy hell the chocolate is so intense and pure it should be named an element and given a spot on the periodic table. It would be Ch, which isn't even taken."

    “Life doesn’t need magic to be magical.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Coolness!

    Love all her books! Cant wait to read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1