BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Night of Knives (Malazan Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    It was an easy read and drew me in. I liked his style of writing

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I Wish I knew

    I came across the Malazan series through Erickson's books and I wish they had emphasized ICE's books too. It answered a lot of questions I had and I've now started all of ICE's books and I think all the begging questions are going to resolved. If not, he's still an excellent writer and the Malazan series just doesn't get boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    well written and a must read for anyone who loves the malazan empire books. This really fills in info on Dancer, Kellanved and how Surly came to power.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worthy of a Malazan tale

    I'm a big fan of Steven Erikson and found this book very enjoyable. It's a much quicker read however, kind of similar to an R.A Salvatori book (much much better though). It's the type of book you may need to reread just to see if you've missed anything. It also fits in very well with the the Malazan story line. Over all I'm looking forward to more efforts by this author and hopefully the next installment is out soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    background of the Malazan characters

    This book was a much less involved read than any of Erikson's Malazan series, and not nearly as lengthy, but still gives a good read. The characters are developed in a similar way to the Book of the Fallen series, as well as the setting, so that you know you are dealing with the same world. Esslemont's style still conveys the dark humor and cynicism of the empire, but doesn't involve the massive quantity of detail found with the world's co-creator's work.

    Not a bad way to break new readers into both series, and an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Of the beginning

    This ought to be a quick read for the fans of the Malazan Book of the Fallen. Ian Esselmont had the first book in Erikson's series dedicated to him and in this novel he fleshes out elements only touched on in the prologue of Erikson's sprawling saga. He has his own writing style and should not be compared to Erikson as his writing is just as fluid and concise keeping up with the Malazan Empire. An impressive debut to an equally awaited series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Really great read!

    Action packed and very engaging I really enjoyed this book.

    If you have not read Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson, read it first. The are both set in the same world and Erikson does a great job of introducing you to that world but i think Esslemont does a better job of telling stories in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2