Customer Reviews for

Night of Thunder (Bob Lee Swagger Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very intesting tale!

I had trouble putting this one down and finished it within a couple of days. I love Stephen Hunter's writing he makes each subject he approaches interesting to read about. I was curious when I read the back cover at the book store how he was going to tie NASCAR into th...
I had trouble putting this one down and finished it within a couple of days. I love Stephen Hunter's writing he makes each subject he approaches interesting to read about. I was curious when I read the back cover at the book store how he was going to tie NASCAR into the life of Bob Lee Swagger and he did it in a convincing fashion without getting too wordy. This story takes place in what would appear to Mr. Swagger's waning years but you soon come to find out that the abilities are still there. He still has the ability to step up at what he does best, killing! Yet somehow Hunter makes him do so with moral conviction by appealing to the readers need for revenge for the person's wronged.

posted by Royce_Illinois on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

End of the line for old Bob Swagger?

I thoroughly enjoyed the earlier Swagger books as they were believeable and well written. This one left me cold, and mostly bored with a large number of pages devoted to almost meaningless details. The storyline itself was "sorta" different, but, as an old F-16 fighte...
I thoroughly enjoyed the earlier Swagger books as they were believeable and well written. This one left me cold, and mostly bored with a large number of pages devoted to almost meaningless details. The storyline itself was "sorta" different, but, as an old F-16 fighter pilot myself, I think Bob the nailer is just getting much too old and rusty for this stuff. It's time for Stephen Hunter to unveil a newer, younger character.

posted by Fighterjock on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very intesting tale!

    I had trouble putting this one down and finished it within a couple of days. I love Stephen Hunter's writing he makes each subject he approaches interesting to read about. I was curious when I read the back cover at the book store how he was going to tie NASCAR into the life of Bob Lee Swagger and he did it in a convincing fashion without getting too wordy. This story takes place in what would appear to Mr. Swagger's waning years but you soon come to find out that the abilities are still there. He still has the ability to step up at what he does best, killing! Yet somehow Hunter makes him do so with moral conviction by appealing to the readers need for revenge for the person's wronged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    End of the line for old Bob Swagger?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the earlier Swagger books as they were believeable and well written. This one left me cold, and mostly bored with a large number of pages devoted to almost meaningless details. The storyline itself was "sorta" different, but, as an old F-16 fighter pilot myself, I think Bob the nailer is just getting much too old and rusty for this stuff. It's time for Stephen Hunter to unveil a newer, younger character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    NASCAR & Bob Lee - Unique concept

    Hunter's attention to detail, whether it's about long-range shooting, high speed driving or the safety features of Volvos makes his books great reads. His plots are complex and off the wall creative. If you like the south, nasty criminals and a thinking hero, you'll enjoy this tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than the Last One

    Don't get me wrong, I liked the 47th Samurai, I just didn't think it went with the whole Bob Lee/Earl Swagger series at all. These are guys born and raised in the South, and even though they've gone off to war, they always find themselves back in the South, dealing with enemies that only the South can offer. That's why I like Night of Thunder, because it goes back to that. My only complaint is that Bob Lee is getting older. Obviously this happens, but here we have Bob Lee taking on familiar enemies (the Grumleys and Pyes, refer to earlier Hunter books) while dealing with old age and a seriously torn up hip. I know he's dealing with the rage that comes from somebody trying to kill him and his daughter, but seriously? Maybe if Bob Lee was younger and dealing with the hip issue, okay, but now that he is older? I know that a lot of the things Bob Lee and Earl have gotten into, and out of, isn't extremely realistic, but I hate when authors start aging their characters. Once you get over the fact that Bob Lee is aging and has physical problems, it is a good book. It moves fast and has action in all the right places, as well as some of Hunter's usual suspense. The head badguy, while intriguing, isn't as captivating as some of the past badguys, but he's not terrible. Overall, it's a good read, and definitely a step back in the right direction after the slight detour of the 47th Samurai.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Over the hill....

    Well readers as far as I'm concerned auther Stephen Hunter has struck out on this book. The story is average, just a flat line story, nothing more nothing less....I think what the problem is, is that the great Bob the Nailer is old, which in itself would not be bad if Hunter had wrote a top of the line story. I got to be tell you fokes this book is just a simple read,there isn't much in it to keep you reading that extra hour or two when you have to go into work the next morning....It just seems to me that Hunter just wanted to chern out another Bob Swagger stroy and din't spend much time at it. I think readers would enjoy another Bob the Nailer story when he was in the war, as long as Hunter spent some time writing it. Oh well readers this is just my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    If you like action/suspense, then Stephen Hunter's Bob Swagger character is your man.

    Hunter continues to mature and deepen the Bob Swagger chacter as he spins a believable tale of action and suspense. Although slowing down due to age and past bodily traumam there still seems to be little that Bob Swagger cannot handle as he gets into full swing. Although some folks will shake their heads and feel that the Swagger character is just shor of a James Bond fictional creation, they forget the base upon which Hunter has built the Swagger character. Marine Scout/Sniper during the Vietnam War. Those guys are real. In many ways, they are perhaps the most dangerous people on the Earth (at least with a sniper rifle knife or almost any small arm weapon). And of course, Swagger is represented as the cream of the crop. Hunter will not be able to write enough Bob Swagger stories to satisfy me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    Once you're in with the Swagger's you're never out

    Like a breath of fresh air I always look forward to any book by Stephen Hunter but especially the Earl & Bob Lee Swagger novels.<BR/>They don't disappoint and this one is no exception.<BR/>If you have never read any Stephen Hunter start with the first Earl Swagger novel.You'll be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    On track again

    Swagger returns as good as ever. Moves very fast, hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Swagger meets NASCAR, comes home to the South

    If you don't know Bob 'The Nailer' Swagger, then you have to go back and read Point of Impact, Black Light, Time to Hunt, Hot Springs, Havana, Pale Horse Coming, etc. In other words, while you can enjoy this book all by itself, it really helps if you've watched the character (and his father) come along over the years. This is a Bob Lee Swagger book, he the former Marine Corp sniper whose past keeps coming back to haunt him. This time, however, it's his daughter who stirs up the initial trouble. Swagger's grown daughter is a reporter for a small southern newspaper, investigating crystal meth. She gets herself in a jackpot when she crosses a Southern crime family, so Bob goes to Bristol, Tennessee during NASCAR race weekend to sort things out, which he does in his usually noisy way. Although the action is slow for the first half of the book, the Southern outlaw characters keep it interesting. The author filled the last half of the book with enough gunfights and violent confrontations to make it worthwhile. Throw in some fast cars, tricked out diesel trucks, helicopters, motorcycles, quick-draw cops, inbred hillbillies, and a half-million unwashed NASCAR fans, and you've got the basic idea of this book. If you've read enough Hunter, you know he likes to intermingle characters from his other books. I'm pretty sure someone here is related to the meanest hombre in Dirty White Boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Swirlpaw to Hollyshine

    Thunder cloud all results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Breeze

    Breeze- not really its just somthing coming up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Bramblethorn

    Blramblethron watched

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Bob the Nailer Does Bristol! A terrific story with excellent vi

    Bob the Nailer Does Bristol! A terrific story with excellent villains, a superb crime, and Bob the Nailer to figure it out all while protecting his daughter. Yes, &quot;The 47th Samurai&quot; was a good story, but I'm not that into all things Japan. I regret that Earl is dead and Bob Lee is approaching his golden years, but the Nailer has a few good adventure left in him. Keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Cinderleap

    Lay down by Dawnstrike, bored. (I like Mistypool, Mistyrain, or Mistcloud) Cinderleap

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Mist

    Mist~*~ I don't know... oh by the way Dust joined a clan... and it's not this one. (Ps should my warrior name be: Mistrain Misttail Mistpool Mistsplash Mistdew Miststream Mistcloud Mistsky or any of those names with Misty in front?)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Songwhisper

    She jumped on the owl and killed it
    Songwhisper

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Honeysplash

    "Foxfang go to High noon, first result, I have news for you." She said before pading out slowly.~Honeysplash

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Goldflower

    Goldflower~ *she watched the owl.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    G

    Dawnstrike yawns and lays in the far corner.
    {•}Dawwnstrik€

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Page Turner

    I was unable to put the book down. Very exciting and entertaining. The 'Good Guys' didn't always get their way and at times were stimied and hurt.
    In the end the 'Good Guys' prevailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5