Customer Reviews for

Nightlife (Cal and Niko Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Still not the right book

As happened to another reviewer, I ended up getting Night Life by Elizabeth Guest instead of Nightlife by Rob Thurman. This is very disappointing, because Thurman's book comes highly recommended by friends. It's also very disappointing to see that that other review was ...
As happened to another reviewer, I ended up getting Night Life by Elizabeth Guest instead of Nightlife by Rob Thurman. This is very disappointing, because Thurman's book comes highly recommended by friends. It's also very disappointing to see that that other review was over a month ago and it STILL hasn't been fixed. :(

I realize this is not a fair review of the book itself, and I WILL update once I have read the actual book in question, but B&N needs to fix this.

posted by Orangutan on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wrong eBook

Looks like a great book. Too bad that the book you actually download is NOT this book. I've called B&N three times. I did get my money back, but they have yet to actually fix it so that the correct book is on here. It will go to the correct place in your Nook. It w...
Looks like a great book. Too bad that the book you actually download is NOT this book. I've called B&N three times. I did get my money back, but they have yet to actually fix it so that the correct book is on here. It will go to the correct place in your Nook. It will show the correct cover. However, once you open the eBook, you will be reading Night Life by Elizabeth Guest, with a prologue in ancient Egypt, then moving to Vegas. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the Cal and Niko series by Rob Thurman. I even looked the book up on Amazon.com, where they allow you to read the first few chapters for free, to be sure.

Anyways, B&N has known about the problem for about two weeks at this point. I just downloaded the free sample and it's still the wrong book. There is no warning on the page yet, and it's not fixed. So here's my warning: Download the free sample first. Don't spend your $6.99 on the wrong book. If you already have spent your money, call B&N. They were very nice about giving me a refund. As far as getting the eBook, though... It looks like we either go paper or go elsewhere at this point in time.

posted by jaglover on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    Just READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    I don't understand why some people don't like this book; it's EPIC!!!!! It is the only book I have read (and I've read MANY) that I will EVER read more than once. Cal and Niko are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I love this book, I love the entire series, and so will you. It's funny, it's full of action, and the characters are the greatest. Seriously, do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I liked the story of this book. However, I did not like excessive cursing words.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Dark Urban Fantasy

    I enjoyed this book immensely. The pace races along as the protagonist, Caliban (aka Cal), a hybrid human/auphe (Auphe=the pale, red eyed, metal teethed, homicidal race upon the elven legend is based) tries to avoid being abducted by pursuing grendels aka auphe. Cal is a (deadly, mouthy, sardonic) slacker who is protected by his Zen like, sword wielding brother Niko and helped by a lascivious but likable puck (a virtually immortal 'pan') named Robin Goodfellow aka Rob Fellows. Along the way they interact with many creatures including a mud loving/mugger munching boggle, a nightmare troll under the Brooklyn bridge, an insane male banshee who is pure energy but can become corporeal, a (sympathetic, beautiful, upper east side dwelling) female vampire named Promise and a libido inspiring teenage seer. The pace of the book just keeps increasing and the last part is maniacally intense and satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I have never read anything by Rob Thurman before this. It was a good book. The relationship between the brothers remind me of my brothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good fun read

    This is the first in a series by Rob Thurman and a creative view of New York. The characters are well defined and you really get to care about these unusual brothers. It was a good fun afternoon escape from reality. The subject is a little dark but otherwise would be good for young adults as well as those of us more advanced in years. If you like to read about things that go bump in the night this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book!! Great Storyline

    I found this book a none stop thrill ride. The characters Cal and Niko are put together nicely. The brotherly bond is beautiful and you will be rooting for them all the way. The fight between good and evil is very evident in the story. I would recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a action packed, monster smashing good time!!
    I just got the second book in the series, Moonshine, and looking forward to reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Much Ado About Nothing

    Not really sure what to say about this book. I found it so tedious to read. It is extremely mundane. The author describes every little thing and has tons of internal dialect before getting to the point. I will read the second book, only because the world Rob has built is interesting. Not that she actually had the brothers doing anything interesting though. There was so much more she could¿ve done. I mean one of the main characters is half demon. He was kidnapped and brought back to the demon world and remained there for two ¿demon¿ years (two days in Earth years) later he remembers nothing! Nothing? That alone was a great opportunity to create a good story and instead she let it slip by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Good, From What I've Heard.

    I haven't read it yet, but it sounds REALLY good. I'll read it as soon as I'm done with Interview With The Vampire'if you haven't read this:read it: it's amazing. The cover of the book looks really awesome. Cal looks like Gerard Way.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Nightlife is my favourite book out of the hundreds that I read yearly.

    Nightlife convincingly blurs the lines between normal and monsterous, it is just so great a modern/urban dark fantasy read because it does this without ever being common or ridiculous. I am in love with Caliban's agansty sarcastic bend on everything. I can't count how many times since I had first read Nightlife that I laugh to myself over the begining chapter's opening line. People really do the the craziest shit. I just bought Moonshine (sequal) and am highly anticipating reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    You wont set it down until the last page.

    I started it on a Sunday night and finished it Monday morning. Rob Thurman might be new at creating literature but he is off to an amazing start. Characters were well planned out and each had his/her own personality. Many times with a first book writers have a tendency to make characters choppy or group the 'good guys' with a specific attitude and the 'bad guys' with the opposite extreme. Yet this trend is found no where in Rob's book. He has done an excellent job for his first piece. 'Nightlife' was a thrilling read and many fingers will be crossed for a chance for further indulgence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7