Customer Reviews for

Nightlife (Cal and Niko Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Still not the right book

As happened to another reviewer, I ended up getting Night Life by Elizabeth Guest instead of Nightlife by Rob Thurman. This is very disappointing, because Thurman's book comes highly recommended by friends. It's also very disappointing to see that that other review was ...
As happened to another reviewer, I ended up getting Night Life by Elizabeth Guest instead of Nightlife by Rob Thurman. This is very disappointing, because Thurman's book comes highly recommended by friends. It's also very disappointing to see that that other review was over a month ago and it STILL hasn't been fixed. :(

I realize this is not a fair review of the book itself, and I WILL update once I have read the actual book in question, but B&N needs to fix this.

posted by Orangutan on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wrong eBook

Looks like a great book. Too bad that the book you actually download is NOT this book. I've called B&N three times. I did get my money back, but they have yet to actually fix it so that the correct book is on here. It will go to the correct place in your Nook. It w...
Looks like a great book. Too bad that the book you actually download is NOT this book. I've called B&N three times. I did get my money back, but they have yet to actually fix it so that the correct book is on here. It will go to the correct place in your Nook. It will show the correct cover. However, once you open the eBook, you will be reading Night Life by Elizabeth Guest, with a prologue in ancient Egypt, then moving to Vegas. It has nothing whatsoever to do with the Cal and Niko series by Rob Thurman. I even looked the book up on Amazon.com, where they allow you to read the first few chapters for free, to be sure.

Anyways, B&N has known about the problem for about two weeks at this point. I just downloaded the free sample and it's still the wrong book. There is no warning on the page yet, and it's not fixed. So here's my warning: Download the free sample first. Don't spend your $6.99 on the wrong book. If you already have spent your money, call B&N. They were very nice about giving me a refund. As far as getting the eBook, though... It looks like we either go paper or go elsewhere at this point in time.

posted by jaglover on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific coming of age urban fantasy

    His mother is human trailer-trash and his father is a ¿demonic sperm donor¿. Cal can live with being a half monster though he does not like either of his parents. He has more problems with his ever perfect sibling, Niko, who does everything much better than Cal does. Still the brothers are close --- Their closeness is put to the test when the insane Auphes mutant elves better known amongst the in crowd as Grendels attack the brothers. They fight back when forced, but mostly flee because the odds of winning are nil. The Grendels need the half monster to help them achieve great power. On their quest for safety the brothers run into a supernatural hodgepodge from a canine who once was human to Puck selling used cars to weird humans who should have been paranormal, but then again this is New York --- NIGHTLIFE is a terrific coming of age urban fantasy starring a likable teen Niko and a not so likable sarcastic Cal, whose mockery can become irritating for us older readers even if it seems genuine a little silent Cal would have been less realistic but nice. Together they are a formidable loyal team until women begin to strain their allegiance to one another. Even with this strong cast, the astuteness of the exhilarating story line besides making sure that all the purebred, hybrid, and lesser begat monsters seem real lies in the delightful way Rob Thurman presents clues as to why everyone is after Cal. Fantasy fans will want more treks around New York starring the dynamic siblings. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    A great read

    I got this book on the recommendation of a friend and I loved it. The characters were rich and had so much depth, the layers just kept coming. The relationship between the brothers was strong and made it even better. Add in the colorful and likable supporting characters and it's just a wonderful read. Plus, I found Cal's smart mouth charming, yet he also possesses a faint vulnerability. It's an intriguing combination.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Nightlife reads nothing life a first novel. Stuffed with lyrical

    Nightlife reads nothing life a first novel. Stuffed with lyrically descriptive language and unexpected analogies, Rob Thurman shows herself to be an imaginative and competent writer who outpaces peers that have been in the field for decades. Her ability to give unique voice to her first person character, and then to change that voice in the most subtle, yet profound ways, show a distinct understanding of human psychology that is often lacking in many of today's novels.

    The story is unique and yet ageless; a struggle against nature, against good and evil, against self. The lows and lowers of conflict wrench at the heart, making that final resolution, that moment that is not a high, but is simply a hope for the return to life, feel all the sweeter.

    To my friend who first read this book when it was released back in 2006, who has tirelessly wage the gentle battle that I share her joy in this book, I offer my sincere apologies. I was wrong to have waited so long and your passion has now been sparked in me.

    To Rob Thurman, I cannot wait to read the rest of your works. If this is the first of your offerings, I cannot even imagine the joy I will find in what comes next as your skill in story telling continues to grow. Bravo.

    *Originally posted on goodreads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great read, really recommend it!

    What makes this book special is the wonderfully written characters, creative concepts, and the relationship between the two brothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it!

    In this first book we learn how the two brothers came to be, their struggles, but the uncondional love and devoted, brotherly relationship between Cal and Nicko is what so wonderful in this book. Excellent plot, characters and writing skills without unnecessary descriptions. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A throughly enticing book that always has you wanting to know more.

    I first picked up this book because of the cover. It caught my eye and I decided to pick it up and read a bit on it. The clincher for me was that one of the other authors that I've come to like a lot, Simon Green, had also liked this book.

    In a nutshell, this book focuses in on the main protagonist, Caliban or Cal, and his life on the run from monster from his childhood who he "affectionately" calls Grendals. Rob Thurman goes back and gives you a nice view of his childhood growing up as you go along, helping to explain all of the choices that they make going along the way.

    Nightlife starts as Cal and his older brother and protector, Niko, find out that once again the Grendals are nearby and it is time to move out to yet another city. Cal isn't entirely human, his mother is a gypsy and a Grendal for a father. His name comes from Shakespeare's Tempest, who is a monster. Cal tired of this constant life on the run and feeling guilty for dragging Niko wants to try to stay in the city. As they start to leave, the meet another being called Robin in a used car dealerships, and befriend him at knife point. The story moves on as Cal discovers more about himself and the reasons that the Grendals, or Auphe as they learn from Robin, are after him. Cal, Niko, and Robin continue on trying to learn as much as they can about what is going on with the Grendals and whether or not they can stay or if they should leave and keep running. One problem after another ensues until everything hits the fan. There are plot twists as one thing after another either goes wrong or the brothers find a new angle.

    This book has a number of ups and downs, with numerous fights along the way. It is an adventure, with you put into the front seat not just along for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good fun read

    This is the first in a series by Rob Thurman and a creative view of New York. The characters are well defined and you really get to care about these unusual brothers. It was a good fun afternoon escape from reality. The subject is a little dark but otherwise would be good for young adults as well as those of us more advanced in years. If you like to read about things that go bump in the night this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    You wont set it down until the last page.

    I started it on a Sunday night and finished it Monday morning. Rob Thurman might be new at creating literature but he is off to an amazing start. Characters were well planned out and each had his/her own personality. Many times with a first book writers have a tendency to make characters choppy or group the 'good guys' with a specific attitude and the 'bad guys' with the opposite extreme. Yet this trend is found no where in Rob's book. He has done an excellent job for his first piece. 'Nightlife' was a thrilling read and many fingers will be crossed for a chance for further indulgence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2