Customer Reviews for

Nightlight: A Parody

Average Rating 3.5
( 673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Funny---Even for Twilight Fans

If your a die hard twilight fan and can't take a joke, don't bother reading this book. I love the Twilight saga, but i love to lean back and laugh at all the crazy die-hard obsessions in this world. And i think thats why i loved this book so much. It makes laugh out ...
If your a die hard twilight fan and can't take a joke, don't bother reading this book. I love the Twilight saga, but i love to lean back and laugh at all the crazy die-hard obsessions in this world. And i think thats why i loved this book so much. It makes laugh out loud funny jokes at all things twilight and "mercilessly skewers the characters Bella & Edward"

I highly recommend it but a quick word of caution is that you HAVE to have read twilight to get 98% of the jokes!

posted by Cold-Side-of-the-Pillow on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Just read it in the store . . .

I'm a fan of the Twilight series; well as much as a father of two teenager daughters can be. I read the books aloud to my family and while we loved the story, we made fun of it as we went along. Nightlight attempts to do the same thing - mainly picking on the main chara...
I'm a fan of the Twilight series; well as much as a father of two teenager daughters can be. I read the books aloud to my family and while we loved the story, we made fun of it as we went along. Nightlight attempts to do the same thing - mainly picking on the main character, Bella. (Belle in the parody.)

The first couple of chapters really skewer the original story fairly well. But if you keep going, the joke just gets old and annoying. The story departs from the original entirely, and then just kind of wanders around aimlessly like a three-legged blind dog. Trust me, you'll do just fine if you go to the book store and just read the first two chapters. If you buy the book, you'll just want your money back.

posted by ebdean on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not as much fun as i expected

    "Nightlight" was the complete opposite of "Twilight". Edwart was an unpopular nerd and Belle was a self-engrossed masochistic shallow girl. Which, thinking about it, may have been true in "Twilight", too....but I digress. "Nightlight" took all of "Twilight"'s flaws and emphasized them and twisted them into a funny, kind of stupid novel. Stupid in an entertaining kind of way. A few of the parts were funny, but for the most part it was kind of a dumb book. I kept picturing it as a movie, and placing it in the category of, say, all the "Scary Movie" films.

    It left out quite a bit of the "Twilight" story, too, such as Jacob, for example. But it does allude to Jacob and his family with Jim's (Charlie's) "wheelchair friend" and there's even a paragraph about how they skipped over most of the story for comedic sake. Edwart's family was much smaller-- only parents, no siblings, and the only other "vampire" was a "real" vampire that showed up at the end and didn't do much.

    Whether or not you're a fan of "Twilight", I doubt this book will change your opinion about the series. It was a quick scribbling from someone trying to make some money off the franchise. As much as I liked it, I feel like it didn't really do justice to a "parody" and that the author just wrote a quick something and sent it off to the publisher.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Started out strong...

    After reading the e-book sample I decided to purchase this book. The sample of the first ten pages was a lot more funny than the remainder of the book. The book started out with a wonderful sarcastic wit, but ended with near slapstick cheesiness. I enjoyed the more intelligent sarcastic humor at the start, but appreciated the book less as it went on. If you enjoy the humor displayed in movies like "Scary Movie", "Airplane", "Naked Gun", and "Not Another Teen Movie", you will love this book through and through. I don't mind some of that humor, I was merely put off due to the fact that I felt a different type of humor to begin with.
    I was disappointed as the book bore on, but others might find it more amusing. I would have rated it lower, but the writing itself wasn't bad - it was just my personal taste in humor. I would have rated it higher, but I felt the humor style wasn't consistent, and I felt the first ten pages misled me a bit.
    Overall, it was just okay. Not worth what I paid for the e-book though.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Funny, but not a best seller.

    This book was funny. Some of the jokes were over the top, but it's a PARODY. All these reviews seem to be written by children. Uneducated, never-graduated people with a lack of spelling intelligence. The writers could have put more meat to this story, or longer considering twilight is a SAGA. Then again the same could be said for twilight itself. If you like to laugh this book is full of that, you just have to have an open mind to humor that's spoon fed to you and get the dry humor. children beware, you are too young for this. Read your goosebumps books. Or read a classic. You may learn what a drawn out story is

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightlight is a pretty typical book

    Nighlight was a great book i guess you could say. I am a die hard twilight fan and i still thought it was funny somewhat. I read this for my gifted class and am going to do a foldable type thing on the characters because they were very easy to relate to most of the time.I would reccomend this book to anyone who is a fan of parodies.It wont be the best you ever read but it was worth the money and time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    What the...?

    When I borrowed this book from my friend I was expecting something entirely different. Reading the back of the book I was hooked because I felt like I would get every joke about Twilight in it, but as I started reading it I often got confused about what characters were portraying who. I understand that this was a parody and it had it's own themes and portray of characters. But I was expecting something better because so many people loved the real Twilight. I have to admit that some parts were funny like for example..."I get my lack of coordination from my dad, who always used to push me down when I was learning how to walk." I cracked up for hours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Hilarious Read **Spoilers Alert**

    This book was definitely something that made me along with my friends laugh a lot. Only books that deserve to be made into parody's are, and Twilight definitely deserved it. "Belle Goose" was fun to laugh at because of her incredible clumsiness, conceited demeanor, and stupidity. The book touched every side to the original fictional character that there is. "Edwart Mullen" was also laughable even though I wish *spoiler*that he was actually a real vampire instead of a fake one because it kind of ruined the whole parody of it all*end of spoiler*.
    I gave this book three stars just because there really wasn't anything else to it other than the funny parts. The book, even though it's a parody, needed to clarify on certain areas where I was unsure of what exactly was going on. I also thought it fell short in other places like when it came to story development and rational situations. Nonetheless, it's a book worth buying for lots of laughs. I think it sums up the stupidity of Twilight perfectly.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    ummmm?!!!!

    A funny yet moderatly strange parody. Good job harvard lampoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Hehehehe

    That book was ok but kind of stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Love it

    It an awesome funny books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Anynomous

    This book is pretty funn if you have red the twilight saga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Ok

    Was good and funny at first but then completely trailed off to a whole new and confusing story. It is not bad but could make alot more sense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    WHY???

    This book is hilarious, to people who are bot obsessed with Twilight, New Moon, etc. I thought it was finny, but since ilI am a Twilight fan I was kind of offended. Twihards do your self a favor and do not read this book, unless you can handle them making fun of Twilight.... TEAM SWITZERLAND all the way. Vampire or werewolf, can't i have them both?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    read the sample

    I read tthe sample and it sounds funny as hell. I think I'll read more in the store then buy it if the first few chapters are just as funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    curiosity

    is anyone else having trouble getting this app to successfuly download?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    not worth the eight dollars

    its ok. begins nice but itz not a parody more of a wannabe twilight. plot is boring i spent the time reading it waiting for the good part but it never came.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    What is there to say?

    I found this book funny but terrible at the same time. I never did actually get around to finishing the book. My sister picked it up in the bookstore one day and began reading it. She told me it was good. I got about a third of the way through and had to put it down. I'm what you might call an unofficial book critic. I think that, though the idea was good, it could've easily been better written. Overall it was funny but ridiculous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    good for a laugh

    Not sure if it was worth buying but it was funny

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good.

    The book is good. It, however, doesn't appeal me that much. Maybe I expected too much that the book could make me laugh like Sophie Kinsella's books did. This book is worth your money even though it won't appeal you that much. If you want something to kill your time a little, this books is perfect.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5