Customer Reviews for

Nightlight: A Parody

Average Rating 3.5
( 673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Funny---Even for Twilight Fans

If your a die hard twilight fan and can't take a joke, don't bother reading this book. I love the Twilight saga, but i love to lean back and laugh at all the crazy die-hard obsessions in this world. And i think thats why i loved this book so much. It makes laugh out ...
If your a die hard twilight fan and can't take a joke, don't bother reading this book. I love the Twilight saga, but i love to lean back and laugh at all the crazy die-hard obsessions in this world. And i think thats why i loved this book so much. It makes laugh out loud funny jokes at all things twilight and "mercilessly skewers the characters Bella & Edward"

I highly recommend it but a quick word of caution is that you HAVE to have read twilight to get 98% of the jokes!

posted by Cold-Side-of-the-Pillow on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Just read it in the store . . .

I'm a fan of the Twilight series; well as much as a father of two teenager daughters can be. I read the books aloud to my family and while we loved the story, we made fun of it as we went along. Nightlight attempts to do the same thing - mainly picking on the main chara...
I'm a fan of the Twilight series; well as much as a father of two teenager daughters can be. I read the books aloud to my family and while we loved the story, we made fun of it as we went along. Nightlight attempts to do the same thing - mainly picking on the main character, Bella. (Belle in the parody.)

The first couple of chapters really skewer the original story fairly well. But if you keep going, the joke just gets old and annoying. The story departs from the original entirely, and then just kind of wanders around aimlessly like a three-legged blind dog. Trust me, you'll do just fine if you go to the book store and just read the first two chapters. If you buy the book, you'll just want your money back.

posted by ebdean on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    It's okay

    I love Edward aka Edwart in this book; he's such a NERD it's awesome and the Belle Goose aka Bella Swan character is so...idk wierd? Anyways this book is retarted funny and i liked it but it wasn't my favorite book. Also there's a person in here named Josh and i think he's supposed to be Jacob but i can't be sure because he ends up being a vampire in the story so..you decide

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    pretty cool!!!

    very funny (warning do not read if u r a twilight fan!) belle is super funny haha fyi im TEAM EDWARD ALL THE WAY BABY !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Super funny!!

    This is a great book and adds a funny spin to the twilight series. I like the twilight series but I think this book is way better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is really funny

    I was at the store looking for a book to read for school, and I stumbled across Nightlight. I was never a really big fan of the books or movies, so when I saw this I just had to get it. My mom is a die hard fan and when I showed her the book, she was kind of offened. That didn't stop me from quoting the funnier parts out loud. I am not a hater of the twilght series or stephanie meyer(the host is one of my fave books), but I do love a good laugh. This book is worth it. You won't be disappointed. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightlight

    It is very funny! I love it! It is based on Twilight. Tweens and teens should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    It was really different

    The story Nightlight was funnier that Twilight. Probabaly because if you have read Twilight, then you should read Nightlight and you will totally LOL! This book is amazing ly funny like instead of Bella Swan, it's Belle Goose!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Bit of fun.

    I am a huge fan of the Twilight books so when I came across this book I had to take a gander. When the authors get it right it is hilarious and great but when they get it wrong it's beyond absurd and confusing. Luckily for me they got it right more often than not. The book is well worth the read and I would recommend it to anyone looking to laugh at their own obsession with Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Hilarious Satire

    This book was hilarious. If you enjoy Twilight and don't take it too seriously (like most 14-year old girls), you will enjoy this immensely. This satire is ridiculous and random, and had me laughing out loud several times. It was an easy, quick read with every page being something different to roll your eyes to. I enjoyed every moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    it was really neat

    I thought it was funny so worth buying and now sharing with my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    GOOD BOOK!!!!!

    As funny as can be!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    So hilaious!

    omg, this book is great. i like twilight but this is still good. i laughed so hard when i first read it. very good ;]

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    Good Job Harvard Lampoon!

    Nightlight made me laugh out loud while reading. This hasn't happened in awhile. I am a Twilight fan, and I read this and thought this was hysterical. The book is mostly for Twilight fans who need a good laugh. I think people who actually don't like the series might get a kick out of this book. Very first thing I noticed: Eaten apple on the front. Already had me laughing. Great job! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6