BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nightmare

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Overall a pretty good book

    This book was pretty good although the ending was abrupt and had a lot of content crammed in. A little way into the book I was determined to solve the mystery and I finished it in one day. Although when I was a couple of pages from the end the mystery was still unsolved leading me to wonder if there was a sequal. However in the last couple of pages the mystery was solved... and the book over. But overall I would rexcomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Amazing!

    I couldn't put this book down. Finished in 1 day and it was so interesting to read. "Seeing" everything that happened in the book in my head was incredible and creepy. It's not scary enough to give you nightmares or leave you wanting to keep the lights on at night, but it's enough to keep you wanting more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Tails

    Yes! Can't wait for next chapter!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    The rise of exe chapter three:all systems go.

    The man leads sonic and amy to a top secret base. He brings thm to a room where two scientists were siting at computers. The scientists pulled out the program. "Lay down." the man says to sonic. Sonic obeys and amy watched nervously. The man put sonic to sleep and hooked wires up to him. The scientists begin working "molecular stabilizer is set. Digtal harmonize is aligning." He other says " th data is being processed. Soon transfer will begin."............ somewhere far away, a familiar ft figure sat at a large screen, watching it all, a black hedgehog at his side...(next chapter it all starts up for real.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Fiona's bio

    NAME F-fiona L-limeW-wood! AGE um, 17, i think... APPEARANCE yellow skin and bubble gum pink hair with soft blue eyes, wears a yellow tank top with a green skirt with three pink butterflies at the bottom of it and green boots, around her neck is a golden necklace with a butterfly charm on it (read history to find out more about the necklace) PERS softspoken, shy, kind, caring, loves animals POWERS has wings, when she talks to animals they listen to her HISTORY Well, um, i came from an alternate world where everyone are ponies, and back in my home i was a spirit of an Element of Harmony known as Kindness. My necklace is what holds this Element. It is powrrless without the other 5 Elements- Loyalty, Generousity, Laughter, Honesty, and Magic- but I still wear it at all times so it doesnt get stolen. So when I came to this world, i had to go through this mirror portal, but when i tried to go back, the portal had closed! So now im stuck here for another 30 moons before the portal opens again. So I didnt know where to go so I found this place which seemed safe. Back home I was a pegasus known as Fluttershy. My friends were Rainbow Dash, Rarity, Pinkie Pie, Applejack, and Twilight Sparkle. I miss them so much. PETS My cute white bunny named Angel, oh and all the other animals in the forest of course! OTHER not much... except Im really honored to have been welcomed here!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Nightmare

    Nightmare is a realy good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Ok people read this

    When u r writing a review u dont need to tell us the story. We want an opinion good bad awesome ok. We look at these to see if we want to read the book. Not have you tell us so for all of you that do that stop it is annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    D

    Satrfmfmncnvng

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Nightmare

    In her dreams it was always there, a dead body half in and half out the water; open mouthed in an attempt to scream, and blankly staring. Sixteen year old Emily Woods is a teenage girl who suffers from a nightmare of a dead body. She is labeled as an underachiever by her teachers and parents. She is sent to Camp Excel by her parents, a camp where they motive underachievers to reach full potential. She notices that someone is stalking her and attempts to kill her. Emily and her three loyal friends: Haley, Taylor, and Maxwell must quickly find out who is the dead body. Who killed her, and is now after Emily? Is her nightmare imagination or reality?

    Nightmare is a mixture between mystery and horror. It is also a "sit on the edge of your seat" piece of writing due to Emily's life threatening situations throughout the whole book. If you want to find who the killer was, you'll have to think and read back and forth; the killer will catch you by surprise

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nightmare

    The story Nightmare, by Joan Lowery Nixon, was a very mysterious book for young adults who like mysteries. I liked the way Nixon layed out each characters position in the story. She gave each character a role in the story and they persued it perfectly. This story is a good mystery but not a great one, but the only thing is that reading the book throughout makes you eager to know who the killer is.
    Nightmare is a story based on a teenage girl named Emily Wood, who had sort of been stalked since she was a child by someone who Emily had spotted murdering a young lady when she was small. In the beginning, Emily was sent to The Foxworth-Isaacson Educational Center for underacheivers where she met her roomate Haley and a good friend named Maxwell who helped protect her from the evil that was against her. After facing unexpected scares and challenges they figure out who the killer of the young woman, and the stalker who intended to kill Emily.
    The key elements were good enough to pull the story through. The plot was well formated even though it was very important that it was knowing it was a mystery. All characters had a good role in the story and helped produce a good plot. The theme of the book was a mystery that had good forms of suspence, but not too much. The style of the book was kind of nice. I loved the way the author left every other chapter for the killer's own point of veiw then continued on with the story. I was kind of disappointed how the story ended, almost like i expected more. The story differs from other books in the same genre only in it's style.
    story, Nightmare was a good start after a long break from reading. Even though mysteries aren't the kind of books I like reading, I acually enjoyed the book. I couldn't stop reading not because it was interesting, but because I wanted to find out who the killer was, and thats part of the reasons why I now like mysteries.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book, from the start of it I didn't put it down until I was done. Nice plot and great characters, I liked the way it was written and reccomend it 2 anyone who enjoys stories like this or fans of ms.nixon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    is it a nightmare..or a reoccuring past expierence

    The book Nightmare by Joan Lowery Nixon is a very thrilling book. In this book, Emily wood(the main character) is sent to a summer camp called Camp Excel. She is sent there by her parents, who see her as an underachiever, but in reality, Emily is not like her two older sisters, who made straight A's. Emily sits in the back of the class and hides behind her hair so she wont be called on. This book, though, really revolves around Emily's reoccurring nightmare. With the help of two new friends that she meets at Camp Excel, she is able to understand her nightmare and uncover that this nightmare might have actually happened...or not. To find out more you must read this book.

    I personally enjoyed the book Nightmare. It was exciting and very suspenseful. Although it did start out kind of slow but by the end I as hooked into what was going to happen next. If you enjoy mysteries,suspense, or nail biting kind of books this one is for you. It kept me hooked to an extent that I could not even put it down until I had finished it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    it was good

    i liked it, it had a good plot to it and it makes sense and i can relate to the charceter and im going to reread it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay Story

    At the beginning the story started really slowly, and there wasn't many details. Got pretty good at the end. Wouldn't read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    hmmm. yep!

    i don't know how i really feel about this book. Joan Lowery i obviously a talented writer but, the only thing that really kept me going was the chapters between chapters. i don't know if that is good or not. there is a ton of suspects. and it does make you try to think and sykes you out.i do recommend it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    An ordinary girl, an ordinary life until she sees the murder. Thrown into turmoil emily wood is now in a game of cat and mouse

    Emily Wood, an ordinary girl, has wittnessed a murder. While at the local park Emily sees a body thrown from the fake mountain. The staring face appears in her dreams to this day and now she is terrified of sleep. A teen, Emily Wood has been marked as an under achiever and sent to a camp for help. With new freinds in tail Emily begins to unravel her past. Taylor Emily`s best friend is attacked the same day she changes her hair to look just like Emily`s. Coincidence Emily dosn`t know but she knows she has to be careful. Someone knows Emily saw the murder so long ago and that same person wants Emily dead. Joan Lowery Nixon spins a terrifing tale of chase murder and death. Relistic, twisting and turning to an ending you won`t expect. A truly mystifing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    a reviewer

    i liked this book. it was a great mystery. i recomend it to any one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Whitney Gibson 12\13\06

    This book was really oustanding! Even though it was fiction it had a really great storyline! just reading about how dreams may come true in your mind but finding that its just a fear that you have to conquer and know that you can find peace with youself! And that in life that you only have yourself to know at then end you only have you and not anyone else to come to. Emily had that and she had to know and understand that dreams are only in your mind and you have to face with anything that comes across you path. And to understand parents with be parents and they always we try to do that best for you know matter what comes there way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Nixion did it again... another page turner for teens

    I would give all of the Nixion books I read at least 5 stars, but this book ' The Nightmare' was probibly worth 5 1/2 or 6 stars. As you are reading there are so many suspects going through your mind that it is never boring, another exciting page turner/thriller. I would recomend this book to any teens who crave thrilling and exciting mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2