BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison

Average Rating 2.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Inventory button

Its so hard to open inventory button"!! Hoping it gets fixed soon!" Love these games, just disappointed its not working!

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

You Can Do Better Big Fish Games!

Has the potential to be a great HOG, if the Inventory Button worked properly and the game didn't lock up during the first mini game not allowing you to exit back to the main scene once the puzzle was solved.

I am using a Nook Tablet, which seems to, based on reviews, r...
Has the potential to be a great HOG, if the Inventory Button worked properly and the game didn't lock up during the first mini game not allowing you to exit back to the main scene once the puzzle was solved.

I am using a Nook Tablet, which seems to, based on reviews, run some games better than the Nook Color, but it makes no difference here.

As a standing BFG member for over 5 years, this is not the gaming quality I would expect from BFG. It should have not been released until these bugs were worked out first.

You have a goldmine at your fingertips here with Nook products BFG - Don't fail us here on the quality and your reputation for great games! (Serpent of Isis series for Nook needs some work too!)

For now, both of these games are getting 2 stars from me, which is sad as I typically rate most BFG products in the 4 to 5 star range. I would advise waiting to purchase this game until the developer posts that the bugs have been worked out.

posted by 4877899 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    You Can Do Better Big Fish Games!

    Has the potential to be a great HOG, if the Inventory Button worked properly and the game didn't lock up during the first mini game not allowing you to exit back to the main scene once the puzzle was solved.

    I am using a Nook Tablet, which seems to, based on reviews, run some games better than the Nook Color, but it makes no difference here.

    As a standing BFG member for over 5 years, this is not the gaming quality I would expect from BFG. It should have not been released until these bugs were worked out first.

    You have a goldmine at your fingertips here with Nook products BFG - Don't fail us here on the quality and your reputation for great games! (Serpent of Isis series for Nook needs some work too!)

    For now, both of these games are getting 2 stars from me, which is sad as I typically rate most BFG products in the 4 to 5 star range. I would advise waiting to purchase this game until the developer posts that the bugs have been worked out.

    63 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Inventory button

    Its so hard to open inventory button"!! Hoping it gets fixed soon!" Love these games, just disappointed its not working!

    31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Inventory

    This game deserves all 5 stars, look below for hints on opening the inventory. After i figured that out, this game has been a blast.

    A tip for the inventory button. Is to open the puzzle or place where item has to go, than the inventory opens. If that does not work, try expanding the screen, this will also let the inventory open. And if you are still having a problem, get it open, and you should be able to keep it open while you are looking around the screen.

    Question? Can anyone help me and tell me where to find all the objects to place on the symbol? I have the hair, the bones,pins, and the worm. Any advice? If needed i can help you get to the point where i am at. Thanks for any response.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Disapointing

    This looks like a great game. Unfortunitly it freezes. Invintory challenging to open. Can not use objects to complete puzzles. The glitch list goes on and on. Hope there is an update available soon to correct the isues or we willhave waisted out $.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Inventory

    I am upset that i paid for a game i can't finish playing because the inventory i need for the asylum gate is missing. I want my money back.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    Inventory button doesn't work. Have to tap it numerous times to get it to open and even that doesn't always work. Extremely frustrating.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not worth it

    I loved this game until after the cemetary, which is not very far into the game. My inventory button still worked just fine. But after sliding pieces around and putting them in their proper place during the puzzle on the door.....the middle piece to complete it disappeared from my inventory. I even restarted the game several times and it did the same thing each time, preventing me from progressing in the game. So, i found this game a waste of money and hesitant to buy any others.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Glitch fixed

    The inventory glitch seems to have been fixed finally.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Problems with inventory

    It opens great for me but some of them go missing and i cant continue on with the game without the item. I tried closing the game and turning it back on would work. It did a couple times but other times no luck. I pass the level of the graveyard and arrived at the asylum gate. I solved most of the puzzles but cant find matches to start the gas burner to make the hand print to open the gate. It would be a fun game if inventory works! Hope they can get it fixed. I love games like these. Would give it five stars.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Inventory

    The inventory doesn't work correctly, you can't get the inventory button to come up once you pass through the grave yard. So when you need an item you cannot get to the item. Other than that i like this kind of game.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Still glitches but minor in 1.0.6

    I purchased this with some concerns based on previous reviews and found some glitches but no show stoppers. Actually, the gameworked fine until the last piece of the graveyard (DNA test). When I reached the asylum and did the door puzzle I didn't see the center piece and there were no arrows. However, I discovered that clicking on the far left of the inventory still moved the inventory page over so I could get the piece. After that I had problems with items on the second screen not moving to the first automatically when those on the first page were used but I could get them in the right place for use by going back to the main menu and coming back in - which was annoying but allowed me to complete the game. I gave a relatively low score because of these issues but if they fix the remaining glitches I would give something between 4 and 5.

    To those who decided to delete all other big fish games based on issues with this one I say: you're being silly. I haven't found any of these problems with other bf series on the nook. You need to realize that they use a lot of different developers for the various games available from them.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Nook HD

    My items keep disappearing out of my slots making it hard to go through the game. Also won't let me place items where they are suppose to go or let me do mini games properly. Pm fix.. other than these things love the games kids and I play them all the time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Match found

    To find the match.go to the labortory,tap on the note on the wall above the burner.it's peeking out on the right side. Hope this helps.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Inventory button woes here too!

    Great game with alot of potential but half way thru the inventory button just vanished. BFG is always helpful but had me reboot the game losing all of my progress just for it to do the same thing at the same point in the game! They are working on it now but very frustrating. I agree bfg is usually right on, I am surprised they released this with this issue. I will not buy version 2 until they repair it as well. One and two both have the same issue according to many reviewers. My only solace is I believe bfg will repair or refund my money as they have on the really rare instance i do have a problem. But really dont want my money back , i want the game to work so i can finish it. Save your money and wait until they have the fix then buy it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Not working

    The inventory button is not working past the graveyard scene. I like this game, but I have become frustrated with the non-functional inventory button. There were arrows for scrolling that are not there anymore. I could not get to all of the pipe pieces that I had worked to collect. And I can collect more stuff, but I cannot get to it.

    I am using a Nook Tablet. I have never had any problems with games on my device until this one. I looked for a link to email the game developers, but cannot find it. Please re-post this link, if you do not want more negative reviews because of the inventory button.

    It seems, from reviews, that a lot of people on different devices are having problems with one thing: the INVENTORY button. Please fix it to satisfy fans of this game. It is a good game, but has one big common issue.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Not worth it

    Cool game on a computer usually, but not so much with the nook. Buttons only work half the time at best and it becomes more frustrating than entertaining.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    cannot access the inventory at all! needs update asap!!!

    I just purchased this game for my nook color and I liked playing
    serpent of isis very much so I thought I would give this a try! I
    no sooner started playing this game when I needed to get an item from the inventory and it refused to open at all. I tried turning off the nook and restarting it. It opens for a flash second and then it shows you what you need but then closes really fast. There is no time to retrieve the item you need. Please update this game! Thank you!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Big fish promised to update this game with repairs for glitches but so far, nothing....

    Could be a good game but too many glitches make it not playable. I contacted big fish who claim they are working on repairing glitches and say they will update the game once repairs are made but that was weeks ago. What a waste of hard earned money.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Inventory button

    Great fun to play...except your inventory button doesn't work unless it is pressed numerous times. I also think you should be able to complete the entire first part with some conclusion before you are required to purchase the 2nd part. I think you are on the right track with fun adventure/puzzle solving games... please make more games like this, after testing of course!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Best game on this App store

    This is a very high quality hidden object adventure game. *Very* high quality.

    Interesting story, and often times challenging puzzles.

    The game runs great on Nook tablet, and unfortuately due to limitations the Nook Color will struggle with its memory and processer constraints, thats why you will see negetive reviews and tech issues here. Instead of leaving a one star review Nook color users could email the dev at the link provided.

    Nook tablet owners your in for a treat, this may be the best game in the store, only tie would be BFG other offering 'Serpent of Isis'

    This (both volumes) should ive you 6-10 hours playtime.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6