Customer Reviews for

Nightmare Hour: Time for Terror

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS A FREAKY BOOK

Nightmare Hour
By; R.L. Stine
In my opinion, the purpose of this book is to scare and gross out the reader; to scare the socks out of them. I think what the author is trying to say is: stories should be fun and scary for example when families are out camping th...
Nightmare Hour
By; R.L. Stine
In my opinion, the purpose of this book is to scare and gross out the reader; to scare the socks out of them. I think what the author is trying to say is: stories should be fun and scary for example when families are out camping they can read a scary story and kids and adults can get scared with a story that can be entertaining and scary at the same time.

This book is about a boy named Ned that has to spend Halloween night in a hospital. He meets a ghost that wants his skin (wants his soul). Now Ned has to figure out a way to escape from the hospital before it's to late. My thoughts are: when I started to read this book I saw images in my head. They were so powerful that it felt like I was a part of the story. So what I'm trying to say is that the author used imagery and when I saw imagery in the book I said to my self " Oh this is a good book". One part that I remember is when something evil started to hurt Ned by having spiders and rats crawling out of his mouth. The spiders were all over his skin and when Ned scratched his skin the more easier for the spiders to go under his skin.

I would recommend it to any one that is up to scary stories. Due to the fact that there was so many interesting parts in the book that you couldn't of even imagined that there was going to be in the book. Sometimes when I read this book at night I start to wonder and I start to get scared and suddenly I sometimes start having Nightmares on what I reading. Then I start feels like if I was the protagonist in the story. When you start to read this book there is no turning back. Thats what makes the book interesting to read because some parts surprise you. For example one part of the story that was surprising was when Ned was trapped. I thought it was just a prank but it seem real to be a prank so be ready to be tricked by the unreliable narrator. So be careful what you read because you can fall in a deep dark room and you won't know what to do so read careful.

And lastly in my opinion I think the book is a well written book. And It has unreliable parts in the book that are just mayhem they are just out of control. But If you want to find out the craziness of this book you have to read it put your old book to the side and get your self a copy of Nightmare Hour you won't regret it. Like I said once you read this book there is no turning back. HA HA HA!

By; Eduardo Calles
November 16, 2010

posted by Cobra360 on December 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Liza

Nice stories almost the best ive read <3

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    THIS IS A FREAKY BOOK

    Nightmare Hour
    By; R.L. Stine
    In my opinion, the purpose of this book is to scare and gross out the reader; to scare the socks out of them. I think what the author is trying to say is: stories should be fun and scary for example when families are out camping they can read a scary story and kids and adults can get scared with a story that can be entertaining and scary at the same time.

    This book is about a boy named Ned that has to spend Halloween night in a hospital. He meets a ghost that wants his skin (wants his soul). Now Ned has to figure out a way to escape from the hospital before it's to late. My thoughts are: when I started to read this book I saw images in my head. They were so powerful that it felt like I was a part of the story. So what I'm trying to say is that the author used imagery and when I saw imagery in the book I said to my self " Oh this is a good book". One part that I remember is when something evil started to hurt Ned by having spiders and rats crawling out of his mouth. The spiders were all over his skin and when Ned scratched his skin the more easier for the spiders to go under his skin.

    I would recommend it to any one that is up to scary stories. Due to the fact that there was so many interesting parts in the book that you couldn't of even imagined that there was going to be in the book. Sometimes when I read this book at night I start to wonder and I start to get scared and suddenly I sometimes start having Nightmares on what I reading. Then I start feels like if I was the protagonist in the story. When you start to read this book there is no turning back. Thats what makes the book interesting to read because some parts surprise you. For example one part of the story that was surprising was when Ned was trapped. I thought it was just a prank but it seem real to be a prank so be ready to be tricked by the unreliable narrator. So be careful what you read because you can fall in a deep dark room and you won't know what to do so read careful.

    And lastly in my opinion I think the book is a well written book. And It has unreliable parts in the book that are just mayhem they are just out of control. But If you want to find out the craziness of this book you have to read it put your old book to the side and get your self a copy of Nightmare Hour you won't regret it. Like I said once you read this book there is no turning back. HA HA HA!

    By; Eduardo Calles
    November 16, 2010

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    this is eve this book is great!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Cool storys

    The storys are really good and scary.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Thos book was really cool. Ive read a lot of hos books. I would have to say this is a favoite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Nightmare Hour By R.L. Stine

    It's so deep, gothic, and dark setting from this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Creepy

    I had a friend sleep over and i was dyimg to.read that nok. She ended up forgetting it and i read the whole thing
    Normallly i keep my door closed wwwhen i read because i hate wjen peope hear mereading. They say its cute. Its awesome and creepy too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    CREEPY

    if you are looking for stories that you can read in minutes that will still give you chills, than this is the book for you!! Creepy stories in the perfect amount of time. Just great. Read for yourself and youll really understsnd what i mean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book!!!

    This book sent chills down my back! All the stories have a fun twist at the end! Some stories are definitely better than others, but they were all great! I read this book in a few hours, without putting it down. This is my favorite book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    PUMPKIN HEAD

    This book is about three kid's named Mike,Liz,and Andrew and a crazy farmer named Mr.Palmer with his special pumpkin patcth. But when Mike,Liz,and Andrew go looking for pumkins Mike tries to get in Mr.Palmer's special pumpkin patch he get's caught. And that same night Mike goes back into Mr.Palmers pumpkin patch and...
    This book is really awesome it was very very suspeseful and I recommend this book to kids 8-13 because it is very SCARY!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Scary yet awesome

    This was a thrilling book. I also like the author, R.L. Stine, I wish I could get all of his other books. I loved it and highly recommend Nightmare hour to other readers who like scary books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    awesome!!

    i highly recommend this book to everyone! I enjoyed every single chapter! It took me about an hour to finish! i just couldn t put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Another great book from RL.Stine!!

    There are books the books you read that just get tossed away to collect dust, and then... dun,dun,dun there are books that grasp at your most inner thoughts and imaginations, that fill you with fear and excitement. This is one of those books!! I think I have read it three times or more now, and it never gets old. I love the thought and detail put into this book, among others by RL.Stine. I am not one to give a book a chance. I want gore, suspense, excitement, sex, love...right from the get-go with a great story behind it. This book...WOW!! I loved it and I think I read it in a day!! It feeds on your fears and goes into great detail allowing you to feel as tho you are actually watching the events unfold. It is another book for me to watch...those are the type of books I love. The books that open your mind and allow your imagination to come to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Do U Luv Scary Stories?

    If you luv scary stories.If you do this book will give u some to think about.This book is sure to scare you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Keep Readin' It!!!- My news artical!

    Nightmare Hour was thrilling! Just a few stories to keep your mind spining in all directions! Each Chapter has a diffrent story and leaves you guessing what happened next! R L Stine is a genious and is the very best! If you havent read any of his books start reading cause there's alot! Once you start you won't stop! Trust me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    One Great Book

    What a great book! Simply one of the greatest short stories books I've ever read. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes R.L. Stine, but doesn't like to waste time reading the entire book. Stine comes up with 10 great stories each as good as the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    The Best One Of All

    The best story out of all of them in that book was Nightmare Inn. It made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up and curl. It was so kool and I still read it over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    I LOVE SCARY STORIES!!!

    I love scary stories. I love this book. Your going to need a light on when you read this story. Some of the stories can give you the creeps. My favorite story out of all ten of them is The Black Mask. That might be the scariest one of them all.This book earns defintley earns FIVE STARS!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    ALL THE THINGS YOU'D FIND IN A HORROR BOOK AND THEN SOME!!!

    This book is overall the best one that R.L. Stine has ever written(in my opinion). The pictures were so realistic. Some of the stories were pretty frightening; a definate scary times 100 above his(R.L. Stine) other series, Goosebumps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    Talk about Scary!!

    I thought this book was just totally cool I mean I have never read a book so scary!!! My favorit one was of the mask.I really want to read it again and a scare for my LIFE!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    R.L.Stines Best!!!!!!!

    ITS EXELELENT TIMES 10! ITS AWESOME! R.L.STINES BEST YET! 5 STARS! I THINK YOU GET THE IDEA. ITS JUST GREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3