Customer Reviews for

Nightmare House

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Clegg, as always, captivates and terrifies at the same time

    Douglas Clegg has done it again, with Nightmare House. He has penned a tale that grabs the reader by the front of the shirt and holds him inside the tale of this inherited property.

    No matter how many real life instances attempt to interfere with the readers time (if you are anything like me) you will let the uncritical real life things slide in favor of reading the next page. OK, the ctitcal, you will take care of as fast as you can, and immediately leap back into Cleggs narrative with a quaking gusto.

    Clegg, like Poe, should always be read at night with dim lighting in the room and preferably a storm raging outside. OK, that isn't really necessary, because you will after 3 to 4 pages feel like that, anyway.

    Thank you Douglas, for three nights of wonder and enchantment with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Truly Captivating!

    This is one of those novels that I just didn't want to put down, and wished would never end. Douglas Clegg is truly a master of horror fiction. He knows how to strike the chords of terror within the human mind without the crutches of butchery and gore. His eloquent writing style captivates the senses in such a way you can almost feel, see, hear and taste his every word. Whether this makes any sense, at all, I can best describe this novel as terrifyingly beautiful and that I was beautifully terrified.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    The Start of Ethan's journey (I hope)

    Ethan has inherited his grandfathers mansion. Along with that home some memories of his childhood are rekindled and secrets uncovered that were never meant to be distrubed. Ethan gets some help to understand the supernatural events around him and learn about the errie past of the mansion his grandfather built, but at what cost to them all? This is a real page turner by Clegg, he leaves you wanting more!! I hope the sequels to this book are as good as this one. Purity, a bonus novellette, is about a boy with out scruples who will do whatever it takes to get himself ahead... read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    A Future Classic

    A truely horrorfying book, but read it at one sitting. And the extra story, Purity, was just as good. I never did have a favorite Horror writer until now. I usually read a variety of writers, but since reading your work, I can't get enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    You have got to read this book!

    I have read tons of books due to being an attorney with lots of waiting time between deliberations and such and I would never think of reading a book in the halls of the courts but I had this one in my briefcase at all times. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Where have all the good ghost stories gone?

    It seems that lately every book in this genre that I pick up is the same old formula. Douglas Clegg steps away from the everyday and brings you into a whole new world of his creation. Remember those nights when you would wake up from a nightmare feeling alive and invigorated, the kind of feeling that only fear can bring. Relive those nights of terror and spend a night in Nigthmare House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    'THE NIGHTMARE HOUSE' IS AWESOME

    I read this book in one night and it scared me pretty good. This is one of the first horror books that I have read that actually scared me. I recommend this to any horror fan, but if your not a horror fan read it anyway!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Eerily Haunting 'House' is a Must

    Douglas Clegg's NIGHTMARE HOUSE is an eerie excursion into the history of Harrow,the house from his equally chilling THE INFINITE and MISCHIEF novels. Mr. Clegg's easy style and dark imagery set the stage beautifully for the hauntings to come and send the reader into a world of extraordinary horror that might actually leave you breathless, but will definitely leave you craving more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    Alive and Not Close to Dying

    This is the first book to pick up before "MISCHIEF" & "INFINITE". A Diary of the man who constructed from the very ground up, this Mansion of Mayhem and Horror. Evil lurks in the most mysterious room of HARLOW. If there is one way in, there is another very well hidden. Murder, Family, Life, Untold Secrets. The History of Harlow is this book. And what you uncover in every chapter is just amazing. Don't let this book slip by your hands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    If you like a good old fashioned story about a haunted house the

    If you like a good old fashioned story about a haunted house then this is the book for you. Completely creepy!! Gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. This is book 1 in the Harrow house trilogy. A must read if scary is your thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Nice

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    terrible

    i picked this book up from the library and took it home... after the first 50 pages i had to put it down... it was horribleee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Not what I thought

    I took this book out of the library thinking it would be a great and scary horror story only to find disappointment. I read the first 100 pages and had to stop because I was so bored with the story. I like a book that cathces you right from the start and this one just did not do it for me. The story line is great, but in the end it just did nothing for me. I dont recommend it and hopfully he with have some other good books..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Too Many vegetables in the soup

    I borowed this from a coworker. Clegg likes to go from third to first person. Unfortunately,I found a passage wherein he uses first and third in the same sentence! I think he felt like he had to stuff as many hauntings, and visions, and weird noises as he could think of into the plot. He also lets the main character flounde around until the kindly old policeman shows up and explains everything to him. And the old policeman talks like John Houseman. This story should have been tightened up. There was little suspence, because as soon as the guy walks in the house, it's one strange thing after another. Cannot really recommend. Sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Nightmare is cliched but still a fun read non the less

    Having been a horror for most of my life, I must admit there isn't much new out there under the sun. Most movies and novels are really more than variations on a well established theme. Therefore the enjoyment comes not from discovering some fresh new idea but to see how well a writer deals with a familiar topic. And I have to admit, 'Nightmare House does this very well. It follows the usual beats of most ghost stories; man inherits house with bad reputation, moves in, everything seems fine at first, odd things happen, then all hell breaks lose. All very familar, but Douglas Clegg manages to keep you reading even though you know what's coming next. He has an easy, straight forward style which makes for even faster reading ( if only the third book in the 'Harrow' series < The Infinate> were the same way'. 'Nightmare House' Borrows from both Stephen King's 'Christine' in it's use of shift in narration (from first person to third person back to first person) and Richard Matheson's 'Hell House' ( a book I HIGHLY recomend). As-a-matter-of-fact, it borrows so heavly from 'Hell House' it becomes slightly annoying (which is why I'm only giving the book 3 stars instead of 4). Over all, 'Nightmare House' is an enjoyable retread over well worn territory and is thus far the best book of the 'Harrow' series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2