Customer Reviews for

Nightmares and Dreamscapes

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Very good

    Enjoyable. Couple were predictable. Still a good read. Looking for another title

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling and Horrible!

    A collection of creepy, disturbing, and thought provoking short stories. Since King is the "King" of horror, be prepared for some chilling and freaky tales in this book. I actually thought Graveyard Shift was a better compilation of King's tales, but this one was good too. Read this book at night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    It's simply stunning you

    I read this book usually after late nights, where the sensation of imagination is unlimited. Nothing much is spooky in there but the complication of the well constructed storie lines. What I like the most is ' You know they got a hell of a band'. This book I read, published in year 1993, comes with notes and a little story replicated from a Hindu parable at the last chapter that certainly held my interest throughtout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    What to say about this one. . . . There were a lot of great sto

    What to say about this one. . . .

    There were a lot of great stories in it. Then a lot of the stories were ones I skipped. I'm no longer a huge fan of short stories that are all clumped together. Or rather, I'll say . . . I'm not a fan of them right now. That could always change. Not sure why that is. Just a personal preference.

    I think the ones that I didn't really get into and I just skipped/skimmed over, were the regular stories. I know, I'm terrible, they were normal human stories. Right now to me, I'm in a phase of needing to read something that captures me and I'm yet to be held by regular old stories. That isn't anything to Stephen King as a writer, or anyone else, it's a personal preference of mine at this moment.

    However, as to the writing, it was engaging and compelling. Typical Stephen King. I'll probably come back to this later on (years down the road) and end up reading the stories that I skimmed.

    I'd suggest reading this if you're interested in some different short stories from Stephen King, or short stories that you can read here and there.

    Skip if you don't like short story anthologies and anything abnormal from typical Stephen King writing. Helpful? Definitely! lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Bree

    She wanders in. "Talk, child."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Charlie

    And I love you more than just that. You were the only one who talked to me. Then Ghost. And my hopes were ruined. I'm finished with trying...My Sister's gone...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    reccomended

    good King short stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightmares and Dreamscapes, Short Stories/Collections

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    A Solid 4 Star For This SK Novella Compilation

    Within the past three decades, Stephen King has ruled the literary world with his exquisite, passionate, colossal novels easily read by the young and old alike. It¿s difficult to even run across the casual, ¿weekend reader¿ that hasn¿t at least thumbed through one of his books. One would think after conjuring up thirty-plus novels, two nonfiction books, a countless number of telescripts, and even composing six novels under his infamous ¿Bachman¿ pseudonym, that King would have the time to draft, revise, and publish seven novella collections over the years. The Nightmare and Dreamscapes compilation nestles itself into the middle of the pack in chronological terms as well as substance. The beauty (and the beast) of novella collections such as this, is the certainty that most readers will love some stories and despise others. It¿s all a matter of subjective taste of course, and having to face the reality that you (the reader) will have to painfully sludge through the mud to get to the gold. Without becoming long winded, Nightmares and Dreamscapes represents some of the best non-horror work I¿ve ever read from Stephen King. ¿Umney¿s Last Case¿ and ¿Head Down¿ are my personal earmarked selections of noteworthy enjoyment. ¿Crouch End¿ turned out to be quiet nice, as well as ¿The End of the Whole Mess¿, The Night Flyer¿, and ¿Suffer the Little Children¿. The remaining stories are humdrum at best but most are worthy of one read through. Nightmares and Dreamscapes is a must read for any Steve King fan, however casual fans who may not care much for the horror genre should find a certain level of delight as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    Frightfully Horrifying

    Stephen King's Nightmares & Dreamscapeswas one of the best books i have ever read. Once You start reading you will not be able to put the book down. Be prepared to have the fright of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Another triumph

    Each story was well described, creating images in our minds that, in turn, create horror in our hearts. Stephen King is a wonderful writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Perfect Title

    This was one of the first books of King's that I have read. I would stay up after everyone else went to sleep. I couldn't seem to put it down. After of corse I did, I would make sure all the doors were locked and turn off all of the lights. On my way to bed I would get the same feeling every night to just run to my room. I guess you could say I got scared of the dark but it had to have been the way he put his words on paper. (Now four years later-I've read a countless number of his books but I make sure I'm already in bed!) The plots to all of his stories are great and interesting. I've read it three times and might read it again after I finish The Tommyknockers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3