BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 4
( 577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and moving

One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

posted by 963994 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but a little disappointing

Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every t...
Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

posted by 779606 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 579 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful and moving

    One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal, Light Read

    Im a fan of just about every book written by Nicholas Sparks. 'Nights in Rodanthe' is a light read, but Sparks pulls it off. This book is passionate, and sensitive. Readers get pulled into this love story. Any woman would love to have a relationship like the one Paul and Adrianne found for eachother all in a matter of a few days. You will be sucked into this book when you start. In the end you will probably find yourself crying.. Yes its that good. The characters are unforgetable!<BR/><BR/>Read this book. If you find yourself reading one, you will more than likely start reading more of his books. From past to present you will be locked in.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable.

    The story was a good one but I had the ending figured out by the fourth chapter. It was very touching but if you are a depressed person this will only make you more depressed. I love Nicholas Sparks books but this one was a page turner but not in that exciting can't wait to see whats next kinda thing. It was more like you knew the ending but didn't want it to happen kinda thing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good, but a little disappointing

    Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong relationship drama

    With her daughter unable to move on from the sudden death of her husband, sixty-year-old Adrienne Willis decides to tell her a true story about how she rebounded from losing her spouse. Fifteen years ago, Adrienne felt her world ended when her husband and father of their three children deserted her for a younger woman. Adrienne knew life was over for a washed up old maid with nothing to offer like she was and wondered what she would do with no one to care for as she always had too much responsibility for nurturing others at the cost of herself. Adrienne explains that in Rodanthe, North Carolina she met Dr. Paul Flanner, a surgeon with no time for his wife and son as work was everything to him. His world collapsed when a patient died. Paul and Adrienne found solace with one another. Though their love affair healed both of them, they realized that it must be a beautiful memory once they leave this coastal North Carolina town and go back to join the living. NIGHTS IN RODANTHE is a strong relationship drama starring two likable protagonists who could have been cast as the lead characters in several other Nicholas Sparks¿ novels. The story line is fun for new fans, but will lose some spark for long time readers, as everything seems inevitable. Why Mr. Sparks used the ¿flashback¿ technique to tell his story is never explained, but he still provides a warm tale that readers will appreciate. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awh!

    I didn't see the movie and read the book well after the movie was on the big screen. So I was trying my best to ignore the previews and the gossip! Most is predictable but ever so romantic for those who just love a good ol' fashioned love story! It's a great read and recommend it - You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    So so

    I am a romantic realist, so my readings of Nicholas Sparks leave me feeling sappy and maudlin.

    All being said, I HAVE seen the movies that were made of this book and The Notebook (I have never read The Notebook), and they far surpassed both books. It's almost as if the books were rough drafts of the screenplays.

    Girl gets divorced by husband and wanders around aimlessly. Boy is divorced by wife claiming abandonment and irreconcilable estrangement. Boy turns to medical practice until that bliws up, and then he,too, wanders aimlessly. They meet, and much like the weather, their lives collide, and much like the weather, they wander around quietly until...

    Well, do I HAVE to go any farther? Sparks is one of the most formulaic writers of his chosen genre, and much like James Patterson, yo wish he'd find another....formula

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    This is my first Nicholas Sparks book and I enjoyed it. Will hav

    This is my first Nicholas Sparks book and I enjoyed it. Will have to look for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    This was a very interesting novel. I thought the ending would be

    This was a very interesting novel. I thought the ending would be much different, but i can't exactly expect that from Nicholas Sparks. This and Message In A Bottle both had a very sad ending. this was a boring book, to me, because it was mainly towards middle-aged women type of love. I did find their romance very entertaining, seeing how people fell in love and what happens when one person would go really far into the relationship to be witht hat person that you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Fell short

    I am a huge Sparks fan. This book was a very easy read. However, I was disappointed at the lack of excitement throughout. There was not much that made me want to finish reading this book. It fell short in comparison with his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great Read, awesome

    I love all his works, truly a gifted author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Excellent

    Another great book by Nicholas Sparks. It was very sad and had me in tears a lot but a very good read. I couldnt put it down, finished it in a day. If only real love really was expressed this way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved the story

    The story is so heart warming and sad and happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    This book....

    I really loved this book . It was a little boring somtimes... but overall good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Boring

    Tis was not his best work. I struggled to finish hopping it would get better. No excitement and completely predictablep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great Book.

    This was my 2nd time reading this book. I liked how Mother was able to relate to her daughter and show her daughter how she related.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great book!

    It kept me turning the pages all the way through. I loved the story and the characters! Highly recommend reaading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved it and it was amazing!!! I just finished about a month ago and now i am reading another one his heart-touching stories the choice almoat done :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ok

    Not one of the better one but cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 579 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29