BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 4
( 577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and moving

One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

posted by 963994 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but a little disappointing

Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every t...
Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

posted by 779606 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Fell short

    I am a huge Sparks fan. This book was a very easy read. However, I was disappointed at the lack of excitement throughout. There was not much that made me want to finish reading this book. It fell short in comparison with his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Anon

    Can you say "formula book"? His earlier books were so much better. Now they just get more sappy and less creative. It is a waste of his talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Just so-so

    There wasn't enough development of the main characters' relationship to really feel upset about the ending. The week together seemed even shorter in writing and I didn't feel invested in their romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay. Far from Great.

    I personaly don't think this is anywhere near a great book. Dont get me wrong it was good but far from great. The author jumps around way to much leaving one almost confussed. cuts off at parts where I wanted to know more and felt he could have wrote more. Ended bad for me. It was like a chapter or 2 are missing. Better then the notebook but not much. Would like to see if movie is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Poor Imitation

    I was hoping that this book would be another winner from Mr. Sparks but I was very disappointed. The ending was predictable and though I am sure it was not meant, I felt the book was a very poor imitation of The Bridges of Madison County. Not even close!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    Kinda Boring

    This book was so not what I thought it would be. The characters need more depth, and the mother/daughter storyline was too long and boring. But, the romance was sweet and sort of moving...just a sob story really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Not Much to It

    If your interested in a light romance novel, this is the book for you. It leaves you with a warm and fuzzy feeling that true romance still exists in middle age. It is light reading at it's best. The characters seem rather contrived. The idea that real love can develop between two total strangers in one weekend, seems far fetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    room for improvement...

    As a fan of both Nicholas Sparks and the Outer Banks of North Carolina, I expected to rave about "Nights in Rodanthe." I was dissapointed by the underdeveloped characters, transparent story line, and uncompelling plot. "The Notebook" was such a well-written book, I just dont know what happened with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Glad I got it from the library instead of buying

    I found this book to be very boring and predictable. I am very glad I decided not to purchase it and got it from the library. It would have been a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Ho-hum, double ho-hum

    The only reason I didn't give this book one star was because it was enjoyable enough to finish. I do believe Sparks has lost his touch. Message in a Bottle had some problems, the characters weren't deep enough to care about, though The Notebook was a fast, enjoyable read, and A Walk to Remember was a sweet story--The Rescue was, again, enjoyable enough to read, but the story sucked, A Bend in the Road was interesting enough, but very predictable, and in my opinion, who would find a cop sexy (ugh!), but anyway, this was probably the least inspiring story he has every written. I at least did come to care for the characters, but the story didn't have enough substance. And what's more, Mr. Sparks' writing (and I know this, because I am a writer myself and am always reading books on how to improve my own) is sloppy. I cannot believe the publishing company printed such lackluster material, but I guess he had a deadline and his name is already well-known in the writing world. He does too much telling and not enough showing. There were so many instances where he could have written an actual conversation with some good dialogue rather than telling us Adrienne and Paul had a conversation about such and such, and what's with all the questions, like (as best as I can remember), she would rather do such and such, but that could wait, right? I know people think that way sometimes, but it's so juvenile in writing. I think Nicholas needs to work on his writing skills an develop better story ideas before publishing his next project. I am disappointed I spent the twelve or so dollars I did on it, but I am glad we have a few secondhand bookstores here that I can trade it in hopefully for something that's worth putting in my for-keeps bookshelf, good books I hope to share with my children someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2