Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 4
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and moving

One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

posted by 963994 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but a little disappointing

Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every t...
Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

posted by 779606 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good, but a little disappointing

    Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    So so

    I am a romantic realist, so my readings of Nicholas Sparks leave me feeling sappy and maudlin.

    All being said, I HAVE seen the movies that were made of this book and The Notebook (I have never read The Notebook), and they far surpassed both books. It's almost as if the books were rough drafts of the screenplays.

    Girl gets divorced by husband and wanders around aimlessly. Boy is divorced by wife claiming abandonment and irreconcilable estrangement. Boy turns to medical practice until that bliws up, and then he,too, wanders aimlessly. They meet, and much like the weather, their lives collide, and much like the weather, they wander around quietly until...

    Well, do I HAVE to go any farther? Sparks is one of the most formulaic writers of his chosen genre, and much like James Patterson, yo wish he'd find another....formula

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    This was a very interesting novel. I thought the ending would be

    This was a very interesting novel. I thought the ending would be much different, but i can't exactly expect that from Nicholas Sparks. This and Message In A Bottle both had a very sad ending. this was a boring book, to me, because it was mainly towards middle-aged women type of love. I did find their romance very entertaining, seeing how people fell in love and what happens when one person would go really far into the relationship to be witht hat person that you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    This book....

    I really loved this book . It was a little boring somtimes... but overall good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Recommended reading.

    Great book it was the kind of reading that just makes you feel good inside and is totally for pleasure nothing more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Will i like this book

    I am 13 and wondering if i will like it... i love the rescue dear john a walk to remember rhe last song and so on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Typical Sparks

    Nights in Rodanthe is a typical Nicholas Sparks romance novel: an emotional romance with a bittersweet end. Perfect if you like that type of book. Nothing special if you just like books in general. It's a good book to read while relaxing on the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    boring

    I found the book boring. I hadn't read a Nicholas Sparks novel before and wanted to see why his books are bestsellers. Unfortunately, I still don't know. The plot was unrealistic, althought it was probably intended to be escapism and I just couldn't buy into it, and predictable. I finished it but it didn't leave me with any fond feelings for the characters. I thought it might be one of those books that made a better movie, but I can say the movie was just as boring. I don't ususally write such harsh reviews, but I just didn't care for this book. To be fair, it is probably because I don't generally enjoy escapism books. If you do, you will probably love this one. It is definitely romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    The headline was appropriate and somewhat grabs your attention.

    The book was a fast-reading story, as all Nicholas Sparks' books are. I enjoyed reading it, but it was not my favorite Nicholas Sparks story. I am looking forward to renting the movie this week now that I've read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A bit light

    I felt the book lacked depth with the characters as I did not feel it was completely believable that two people can fall in love over a weekend. There were some very touching parts in the book but I didn't feel as if I was rooting for the characters to be together. The writing style is classic and easy to read as all Nicholas Sparks books are. I wanted more from the book, I wanted to really care about the characters but I just didn't. The plot is good and the ending gave the book an edge that not all happy ending happen. This is a good book for a fast heart warming read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    North To The Night

    I think that this book North to the night is a good book to read. I would recommend that other students should read this book. I would recommend this book because it was a very interesting book to read. I thought that the beginning of the book was kind of boring. Once you got into the book it became more intresting to read. Also as the book went on you started to find out what the characters really stand for. At the beginning you really didn't know too much about them. I would say that throughout the book you could tell that your thoughts about the characters at the beginning of the book was wrong. I thought this book was really good. It was a fast read and you wanted to keep reading because you wanted to find out what was going to happen next. I think I would read other Alvah Simon books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Predictable with a twist...

    This is the second novel I read written by Nicholas Sparks though I've seen the movies based on his novel. The Choice did not disappoint me that's why i went ahead and got this book. Reading the early chapter of the book I knew already what happened to Paul. It was tough to read because I knew it was coming. I was right but what is unexpected was the reason of it all. It was an 'alright' read...that's all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Another Sparks book

    I stopped reading Sparks, got so tired of the characters dying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Not the best, but good!

    This book is pretty good. I wouldn't consider this to be one of his best, but it is still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Good Book But Not A Must Read!!

    This book had a great story to it but was not one of Nicholas Spark's best. I have enjoyed every book that he has written but would not rave about this one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Sweet, but unrealistic

    This is not one of my favorite Nicholas Sparks books. While the story was sweet, it offered an unrealistic portrayl of true love. A nice thought, but not at all realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Not his best.. but still good!

    This wasn't one of his best works but it was still good.. not boring..and yet not as exciting as his others..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Too predictable

    I bought this book because it was written by a best-selling author, but it seemed like a garden-variety romance novel. The plot was predictable. The personalities of the characters weren't realistic. Although Adrienne is portrayed as a strong woman, I think her 'strength' had a touch of pathology to it. Also, it's a pet peeve of mine when the main characters in a book have similar sounding names: Adrienne and Amanda. So while I was reading, I had to keep checking who was the mother and who was the daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    An Avid Reader

    I found this book a disappointment! And I am surprised, as I like most of his writing. I knew what was going to happen way before it did! In addition, I found the charactors unbelievable-Even for fiction.In this world the 'heart wants what it wants' And this womans nobility and rapid understanding of this man was actually 'corny' And truly unbelievable. Nicholas failed to give us a deeper 'visual' of these characters. It's like he lost interest in the story a third through it as I did! By the way...Why do all his main female characters have 'Luscious,' shiny, shoulder-length dark hair? Are there no blondes or redheads in his world? I hope his next book is better and something that moves me, as this book certainly did not! However, I remain a fan of his. As his other books were good to great depending on which one you are reading.However, I call this one a flop!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Keep the tissues near...

    When Adrienne Willis sees her grown daughter sinking into a black hole of despair after she is widowed at a young age, she realizes that to keep her daughter from a living death, she must share her most precious and painful secret. One afternoon, she takes the younger woman aside and tells her what happened to her about a decade and a half before, when she was in an almost eequally dark place, still recovering from divorce. Adrienne took time away from her children to go and take care of a friend's inn for a few days. While there, she met a handsome doctor who was spending time there before going to try and reconnect with his medical missionary son. Paul was also dealing with the painful loss of a patient and her familiy's bitterness. These two lost souls found each other and found healing in a brief love. Then it comes time to return to the real world, with promises to meet again in a year. ......................... The year passes, and Paul does not come back; he can't. So, Adrienne spends the rest of her life outwardly alone, but less so than before. Her life had been healed and given meaning by the one bright moment that she now shares with her hurting child. ..................... *** Nicholas Sparks is a man who knows the value of pain, how sometimes it is the thing that gives a depth and beauty the to rest of life. Like he did in A Walk to Remember, he shows readers that a moment of love is worth the pain that may come later. Some might think he is someone not to read if you are sad, but on the contrary, read him then. You might have no one else to cry with, and you can feel that he knows your tears. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5