Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 4
( 576 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and moving

One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

posted by 963994 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but a little disappointing

Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every t...
Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

posted by 779606 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable.

    The story was a good one but I had the ending figured out by the fourth chapter. It was very touching but if you are a depressed person this will only make you more depressed. I love Nicholas Sparks books but this one was a page turner but not in that exciting can't wait to see whats next kinda thing. It was more like you knew the ending but didn't want it to happen kinda thing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong relationship drama

    With her daughter unable to move on from the sudden death of her husband, sixty-year-old Adrienne Willis decides to tell her a true story about how she rebounded from losing her spouse. Fifteen years ago, Adrienne felt her world ended when her husband and father of their three children deserted her for a younger woman. Adrienne knew life was over for a washed up old maid with nothing to offer like she was and wondered what she would do with no one to care for as she always had too much responsibility for nurturing others at the cost of herself. Adrienne explains that in Rodanthe, North Carolina she met Dr. Paul Flanner, a surgeon with no time for his wife and son as work was everything to him. His world collapsed when a patient died. Paul and Adrienne found solace with one another. Though their love affair healed both of them, they realized that it must be a beautiful memory once they leave this coastal North Carolina town and go back to join the living. NIGHTS IN RODANTHE is a strong relationship drama starring two likable protagonists who could have been cast as the lead characters in several other Nicholas Sparks¿ novels. The story line is fun for new fans, but will lose some spark for long time readers, as everything seems inevitable. Why Mr. Sparks used the ¿flashback¿ technique to tell his story is never explained, but he still provides a warm tale that readers will appreciate. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    This is my first Nicholas Sparks book and I enjoyed it. Will hav

    This is my first Nicholas Sparks book and I enjoyed it. Will have to look for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great Book.

    This was my 2nd time reading this book. I liked how Mother was able to relate to her daughter and show her daughter how she related.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ok

    Not one of the better one but cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Outer Banker

    Loved the book & the movie. If you loved the latter the Rodanthe house has been moved 3 lots back from the beach to save it & is a B&B the current owners have decorated to look like the movie set. Come see us.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Gotta read this.

    I'm 15 and I read this book recently. It was amazing. An amazing love story. So worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great for anyone looking for a touching love story

    This story was a great eye-opener for me. Great for any age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Touching Story

    This was a very nice and touching story. Once again, Sparks vividly brings a book to life with wonderful characters and an endearing storyline. Although it became predictable part way through of how this story would end, it was still easy to get through and very much kept my interest. Not only was the romance side of the story appealing, but the Torrelson’s story was equally compelling as well.

    I was surprisingly amazed at how much I could relate to both of the main characters—in thought, feeling, and emotion—while reading this book. It inadvertently reached out and made me ponder some aspects in my own life I have tried to ignore or turn away from.

    Very nice story, very nice characters, and a very nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book.I normanly dont cry when I read books but this one was a tear jerker for me. I recommand it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Short and sweet

    It was a quick read but i actually enjoyed it. I didnt think i would cry ha but i got a little teary at the end because as mothers we always tend to put our emotions on the back burner so i could relate to this story. Good read though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ahhh to find and have such love

    A wonderful story of true love found later in life. Sparks does a great job developing the relationship and demonstrating the terrible divorces they each experienced. I guess now I can watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Really good book!

    I am an avid reader but I never really read books by Sparks until my mom bought me this one, amazing story line, a heart breaking ending though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    you must read this book!

    A Night in Rodanthe Nicholas Sparks The story was very touching 4 stares A night in Rodanthe is a heartwarming story. That will truly make you a Nicholas Sparks fan. It takes place in North Carolina. The main charters Adrienne Willis and Paul Flanner start having feelings for each other. The story begins with Adrienne house sitting for her friends Inn, one summer. Paul is a gust at the Inn, and Adrienne and Paul become good friends. Later in the week they become very intimate with each other. Until.. I really enjoy this book because I couldn't put the book down, and that the book made me feel sad for what was to come in the following years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The story was very touching & splended.

    This novel was a very beautiful,romantic, and bittersweet tale. It was wonderfully written. Nicholas Sparks never seems to lets me down with any of his work. Nights in Rodanthe is not a difficult read at all. Any women could relate to Adrienne Willis character. The new divorced Mother who is doing her best for her children. After Adrienne's husband lives her for another woman. So working for at her friend's inn for the weekend love unexpectedly found her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This one surprised me.

    Okay, I'm going to be honest here. I did not expect this book to be worth a hoot. Why? Because for some reason, Nicholas Sparks has never been able to truly captivate me with his words. Yes, his stories are romantic. And yes, I like romantic. But I always find myself finishing his books without having been moved to tears or anything like that. "Dear John" was not bad. "A Walk to Remember" was just mediocre. "Nights in Rodanthe," however, was different; unlike the others, it reeled me in from beginning to end and left me wanting more. It truly is a unique love story that I couldn't put down. Way to go, Mr. Sparks. You've redeemed yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Excellent Story Line

    A dramatic tale about love, set at the beach, would be a wonderful book to take on a beach trip!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    nights in rodanthe

    when I read this book I thought it was a little boring. I didnt like how sparks would switch from character to character because sometimes you have to stop and think about whos eyes your looking through. In some spots it can be slow but towards the end you'll be pretty surprised at the twist. I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Night in Rodanthe

    This book is very well written. I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks, and found this book to be a very enjoyable one. I did watch the movie of this book before I read it, but it didn't take away from the book. I like the way he mixed the story with the present day with the weekend that took place the past...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    This book is a tear jerker so get ready! very good book would recommend but still not one of my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9