Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 4
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and moving

One of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard at the end. Such an incredible love story. One you'll want to read again and again. Very moving. It gives me hope that I'll someday find the love of my life.

posted by 963994 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but a little disappointing

Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every t...
Overall, this was a pretty good book. It's a very light read and kept my attention; however, I was a little disappointed with the story line. Part of what I like about Sparks is his ability to make me ''feel'' like I'm there and his ability to pull at my heart every time. This book has a sweet story, but doesn't have the excitement that his books usually do.

posted by 779606 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A story of many stories

    Sparks always gets my heart. This book is another tear jerker so be prepared. Grab a box of tissues and lock yourself away in the bathroom in you have too because you wont want to be disturbed until the end. This would be a great bathrub read.

    I'm always amazing how Sparks can build such realistic characters and in the end you feel like you know them....and even feel like you are connected to them somehow. The main character of this book is a divorced woman of older children who agreed to watch an inn for her friend. She was really trying to get away from the pain she was feeling after being left for another woman. There was only one person that checked in and he was also divorced and fighting some inner demons. While a storm passes over they end up talking about their lives and the things that haunt their souls.... the things they were both running from. The main character is such a strong woman. You will be impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Enjoyable

    Read over a rainy weekend. It was a heart warming cuddle up with a cup of hot tea and slippers.
    Held my interest through out the book, and all along I was cheering him all along. Great chick book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    Really good..

    I like this book alot. You think you know whats going to happen but then a goes into a diffrent direction.. Its sad but its a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    If you need a good cry this is your book.

    This book was very touching. When i started to get to the end i cried like a baby. The book makes you feel like you are a part what is going on.
    I would refer this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nights in Rodanthe

    Nights in Rodanthe oddly has a really nice bittersweet taste to it. In reading this and seeing the motion picture adaptation, I knew that I was going to like them (even though a "chick-flick"). Oddly, again, both are very different only! in that the story takes place at completely different times and point of views. Besides this, the movie stays tru to almost everything. The book is special in the sense that there's a lesson to be learned. Movie is just a really sweet way to spend time with some special and enjoy it. But overall...everything is really good material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Relaxing book to read...

    I just finished this book and I must say I enjoyed it.It's a light read,only about 19 chapters,I read it in one day.It was very touching and I cried,like many other who have read this,a few times during the ending.It's a good book to read on a rainy day.It's not the greatest book ever written but it is a good one.The ending is predictable but it doesn't stop you from finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Nights in Rodanthe -Katie L.

    The latest of Nicholas Sparks¿s novels to be turned into a movie is Nights in Rodanthe. Many would have chosen to read it specifically for this reason, but I am not among this group of people. Nicholas Sparks is my favorite romantic writer, however, the recent film compelled me to read it sooner than I normally would have.<BR/> Finally reaching her wits end with her recently widowed daughter, Adrienne Willis sits her down to tell a story. In hopes of a quiet getaway, Adrienne has agreed to watch an Inn in Rodanthe for one of her close friends. However, with only one guest arriving as well as a terrible storm, a quiet getaway is the last thing that Adrienne gets. Paul Flanner was an overworked doctor whose perspectives change when he meets Adrienne. Through their unique and coincidental meeting, they both begin a new journey discovering the meaning of life and love, too suddenly broken in hopes that they will be together again forever. <BR/> Though predictable, this novel emulates greatly the power of love, and the effect it can have on who you are. I laughed and cried, and learned to care for the characters as well as fall in love with them as they fell in love with each other. Both of the main characters grow so much throughout the novel. In fact, in the beginning I didn¿t really like either of them. Adrienne was an uptight divorced mother of three grown children. She was timid and loveable, but not strong or outgoing. By the end of the novel, you see her beauty, strength and charisma shine through. She is able to stand up for herself and realizes that life is what you make it. Paul Flanner was your standard work-a-holic who was never there for his family, headstrong, and often never seemed to care. As the story progresses, you begin to see the kindness and love in Paul, and discover that he can be truly romantic. I enjoyed this book very much. You can enjoy a book unless you enjoy the characters, or the plot that is, and to me they were both captivating. Many who have read other novels by Nicholas Sparks probably could have guessed the ending. It is not at all for the weak at heart: tragic, but still leaves you with hope and happiness. For those who can handle the awe and tragedy of love and loss, this is a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    INCREDIBLE

    WARNING: Do not read this in public. Please get ready with a box of tissues because NIGHTS IN RODANTHE is a tear jerker. It made me cry so much toward the middle and the end of the story. <BR/>Adrienne Willis, a 60-year-old divorced woman and a mother of three grown children, recalls her story--a flashback of love and redemption, loss and grief--out of concern for her widowed daughter who is undergoing depression after the death of her husband. This is a story that has resided in the deepest corner of her heart for 15 years: Two middle-aged people met by chance in the small North Carolina coastal town of Rodanthe. Adrienne's ex-husband had left her for a younger woman and to escape her despair, she loses herself into raising her children. She goes to Rodanthe to help her friend, Jean, to take care of her inn. There, Adrienne meets with Paul Flanner. After his wife left him and a patient died after his surgery, he sells his medical practice and tries to make amends to his past. <BR/>Despite the story being predictable and a little unbelievable, in that two persons falling in love in just two days and experience life-changing moments, this book is still readable. I love the cover with Richard Gere and Diane Lane on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    One of my favorite romance stories.

    I loved this book so much. The characters were so real and fresh. ALthough the main characters aren't very young, the author makes them seem more modern and young, although this took place in the 1980s. If you want to read a good book just for fun, I recommend this. I read the book in 1 day and I loved it so much. There are sub plots to this also, which makes is so interesting. SO that it's not just about a guy coming to an inn and faling in love with the woman that he meets. There were some very touching parts that made me cry because they gave meaning to the book. Read this the first chance you get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Awesome story line

    Awesome story, I read this book in 2 nights, and now I will hunt down the rest of his books and read them. I just received The Rescue and I can't put it down. Something in the way he writes keeps you coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Touching

    This book was very touching and made me cry at the end. I love Nicholas Sparks novels and cannot wait until Nights in Rodanthe the movie comes out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Good book but not his best.

    I liked this book. It wasnt great but I was into it the whole time. I cared about the characters and was interested in knowing more of their backgrounds. This book is an easy read. It is also shorter than his other books. and is great if your looking for a quick read. I have read a few of his books. I have liked every single one. After reading this book I am looking forward to the movie. I wonder if they will change the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Predictable, yet well done

    I am a Sparks die-hard fan. When it comes to romance, Sparks can write it, hands down. Four stars only because I saw the invevitable coming from the start which is not always the case with this wonderful author. The connection I felt with the protagonist was so ironic I nearly cried at every turn. Though the inevitable was predictable, I found this story to be beautifully written. The characters were depicted with such depth, I could feel every pain and joy. I was not disappointed. And I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves romance as I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    typical ending for the author

    I very much enjoyed reading this book. It is uplifting how Sparks writes about romance at any place, any time, any age however, it's disappointing that love always ends tragically in his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    My favorite book by Nicholas!

    This is my favorite book by him! It was so sweet and had a simpleness to it that I just loved! It really shows that love can happen at any age or time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Nights in Rodanthe, a must read!

    At sixty, Adrienne Willis has been divorced for seventeen years and her children are grown. She reflects on a long weekend in Rodanthe that changed her life and decides to finally break her silence and tell her daughter Amanda, whose prolonged grief after her husband's death is affecting her small children. So Adrienne tells Amanda a tale of events fourteen years earlier when her husband had just left her and she watched the Inn at Rodanthe for a friend, hoping to clear her mind. But when a major storm starts moving in, it appears that Adrienne's perfect getaway will be ruined¿until a guest named Paul Flanner arrives. At fifty-four, Paul has just sold his medical practice and come to Rodanthe to escape his own shattered past. Now, with the storm closing in, two wounded people will turn to each other for comfort¿and in one weekend set in motion feelings that will be with them the rest of their lives. I would give this book four stars. It was very intriguing and was a short read. It was well written with the good descriptions. This book compels you not to want to put it down, it held my interest until the end. I experienced many emotions in this novel, you¿ll smile and cry. It was a heartwarming story of love. I have no dislikes, it was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Awesome!

    I loved this book! it wasn't exactly how i thought it would be, but still awesome!! i take a long time to read books usually but this one took me less than a week! i recommend anyone who loves romance books to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Loved it.

    I was skeptical to purchase this book since it was rated so poorly on previous user reviews. After reading it, I'm really glad I gave it a chance. If you liked The Notebook, or any of Nicholas Sparks' other books, you'll enjoy reading this one as well. A short and sweet love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    You have to love Nicolas Sparks!!! He writes the best books that can just take you totally out of this world, make you forget about your daily struggles. He is definitely consistent with his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Sparks does it again

    I have read every book by Nicholas Sparks, including the memoir he wrote about his brother and their lives. Mr. Sparks captures your attention and imagination and once again, makes it impossible to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9