Customer Reviews for

Nights of Rain and Stars

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful

Let me say this to start: The true beauty of this book is in its reality. In earlier reviews it is stated that these characters were unbelievable and some wouldn't act like they did in the book. Who says? People are not robots, people do and act and say things we wou...
Let me say this to start: The true beauty of this book is in its reality. In earlier reviews it is stated that these characters were unbelievable and some wouldn't act like they did in the book. Who says? People are not robots, people do and act and say things we wouldn't think they would say. This novel touched me deeply in its beauty and simplicity. Binchy's books are filled to the brim with wonderful characters and down to earth narration. I personally have known Americans who act like Englishman and children who speak well beyond their years. If anything, I would hope this bok would make people be more compassionate with each other and their families. It doesn't take a trip across the world to see and feel what is right, right before your eyes. NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS is a book to recommend to anyone who wants just a good story. To sum up: Heartwarming.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have to start this review by saying, I am usually a fan of Maeve Binchy's writing. I loved 'The Glass Lake' and 'Evening Class'. I was disappointed by this novel. 'Nights of Rain and Stars' is set on a small Greek Village, Aghia Anna. Four tourists meet for the first ...
I have to start this review by saying, I am usually a fan of Maeve Binchy's writing. I loved 'The Glass Lake' and 'Evening Class'. I was disappointed by this novel. 'Nights of Rain and Stars' is set on a small Greek Village, Aghia Anna. Four tourists meet for the first time at a small cafe high on the mountains overlooking the sea. They all witness a tragedy - a boat catches fire and the people on board are killed in front of their eyes. The novel starts with promise, but I'm afraid I lost interest very quickly. I'll start with the good points about the novel. There is no doubt that Maeve Binchy is a good storyteller, and even though it is not a great book, I was still able to read it all the way through without giving up on it. The summer holiday atmosphere is very well presented, and no doubt this would make a good beach read where the reader is not really bothered about the writing style or the outcome, but just wants to pass a bit of time. Now to the bad points. In my opinion, the main characters (the four tourists) were all stereotypes, as were the Greek villagers. Many of the characters appeared to have no backbone, or were totally unable to make up their minds about anything, going back and forth over the same problems and not making any progress. Then suddenly a mad old Irish woman who sleeps in a hen house,and had once been an alcoholic, solves all their problems. They all end up deciding what to do about their lives based on her advice, and in my view, they all make very strange (and unbelieveable) decisions. I don't think Binchy did a very good job in developing the characters. They have very little personality. My final comment: Orion is a big publishing company, right? Surely they must employ editors?? There is little evidence that any editor was involved in the publication of this book.

posted by MariaSavva_Author on October 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Beautiful

    Let me say this to start: The true beauty of this book is in its reality. In earlier reviews it is stated that these characters were unbelievable and some wouldn't act like they did in the book. Who says? People are not robots, people do and act and say things we wouldn't think they would say. This novel touched me deeply in its beauty and simplicity. Binchy's books are filled to the brim with wonderful characters and down to earth narration. I personally have known Americans who act like Englishman and children who speak well beyond their years. If anything, I would hope this bok would make people be more compassionate with each other and their families. It doesn't take a trip across the world to see and feel what is right, right before your eyes. NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS is a book to recommend to anyone who wants just a good story. To sum up: Heartwarming.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    This has been my favorite Binchy book, and I have read quit a fe

    This has been my favorite Binchy book, and I have read quit a few, Quintens comes in a close second. With the setting of a Greek island, this story embraced me like a wonderful holiday. I enjoyed the interaction of the characters, which involve residence of the isle, and a group of visitors who climb a picturesque hill to dine at a little restaurant. As the story evolves, the characters learn to care for each other, help each other, and learn a few life lessons in the process. This book feels like sunshine, sparkling ocean, blue skies and love of friends and family. If you love Binchy, you should also try Rosmunde Pilcher.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    Having been to Greece recently, I thought this was a lovely tale written to make the reader believe they were actually there. Wonderful description of the towns and landscape. Although it may be a little predicable, I would read it again and WILL recommend it to friends! A nice way to "escape" for a while.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So Memorable I felt I was there with the Characters

    I have been a devoted reader of Maeve Binchy since Light a Penny Candlexo when I picked up Nights of Rain and Stars I expected an awesome read. However, what I got was so much more. The characters were so real I felt that I knew them personally. The setting was so descriptive I felt that I was there in Greece with all of the characters. I didn't want the book to end so I re-read the last chapters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Loved it...

    I really enjoyed this book and I agree that I can't understand why it got such bad reader reviews.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Earthpaw

    He pads in, sizing up his sisters apprentice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Shadepaw

    Pads in after Leafriver silently, glancing at her in surprise as her direct speaking. (Sootpelt, res 2)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Knew warrior in starclan

    My name is sootpelt and was from boulderclan i am flamekits brother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    FlightPaw

    He dipped his head slightly. "It seems that DawnPaw has had a condition, vaguely to a stroke, and now she has weird dreams and her whole body is in pain. I was just wonder if you know what it might be and what we can do to help her." He meowed and looked at the other cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Leafriver

    "I dont know what it is. Shadepaw,do u?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    I have read just about every book that Maeve has written and thi

    I have read just about every book that Maeve has written and this book was as wonderful as they all are. I can't understand anyone who didn't like it. I've read over a thousand books and Maeve is one of the best. On the other hand romance novels are mostly trash and leave me cold.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Silvermist

    Can anyone see that i died?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Go to Greece

    I found this Binchy book to be inviting and well worth the time. The characters meet and develop connections under unique circumstances. I did not find any character stereotypical or predictable; as the reader I felt drawn in to the friendships, with their personal journeys. I have read Circle of Friends, Glass Lake, and Tara Road, so this was one more treat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    I guess everyone has a different imagination while reading a book, but I loved this book. The thought of people from all over the world and different walks of life coming together over basically the same problems and working them out together is so fascinating to me. Maeve Binchy writes so clearly that I can see the story in my mind like watching it on a movie screen. I recommend this book to anyone that wants some easy, light reading and a chance to see that the same problems occur all over the world....and can have happy endings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Quite enjoyable read

    I am confused by the bad reviews. This was a quite enjoyable story. Nothing contrvied or unbelievable about it. I read it cover to cover today. You can just picture these people in such a beautiful setting..I love the way Maeve Binchy writes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Maeve does it again!

    It started out a bit slow for me, but before you knew it I was one of the gang on the island. I loved each one of them and their stories that slowly came to the fore. I really tried hard not to have to deal with the last page. I did not want to say goodbye!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2