Customer Reviews for

Nightseer

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightseer

    I was captivated by the plot and enthralled by the characters. This book kept my attention through two screaming children and a video game-playing boyfriend! I even laughed out loud at a few comical parts! This is a page-turner that I have kept dusted off on my bookshelf.

    Surprisingly for Laurell K. Hamilton this book ends in a touchingly sweet way! Not that Laurell can't write sweet and endearing endings, but in this book the end is laughter and not an orgy! :) I also have to admit to having all of the Anita Blake series (soon to be 17 books) and the Merry Gentry series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Great Book

    This book is very well written. It's a great book that need a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    read this when it first came out back in 92. still on my book sh

    read this when it first came out back in 92. still on my book shelf as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved, loved, loved!

    Absolutely my fave! I bought it when it first came out so long ago. I still pick it up and re-read it every couple of years. I wish she would do a sequel. It would be lovely to have this in electronic format too. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    amazing

    this is one of my favorite books of all time. i really wish LKH would reconsider to continue this into her original plan, and make it a series. i would give a kidney to have this story continued. lol, j/k. (or am i... ^^ )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Delighted

    So glad to read her first book. Hamilton showed her uniqueness with this book. Enjoying all of her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Not worth it

    I love Laurell K. Hamilton's other series and thought I would read this one, however I hated it. This was very confusing and there was not really much of a plot. Lots of action but no real depth. I would definitely recommend her other series, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Review of "NIGHTSEER", LK Hamilton's debut novel

    I am an avid reader of Laurel K. Hamilton's "Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter" series, so when I was browsing the shelves and came upon "NIGHTSEER" I had a strong feeling it would be a fun read. My assumption was correct! Hamilton's discovery of new and imaginative ways to write an action fantasy novel is exciting and enthralling. Keleios is a strong heroine, Hamilton's forte! Her "love interest", Lothor, provides that wonderful mixture of dark, dangerous, sexy and forbidden, that has a great appeal for many. Hamilton introduces new ways of intertwining good, evil and magic that keep the reader interested and guessing what is coming next. I was truly amazed to discover this was her first novel. The only disappointment I have is in the knowledge there is no sequel!! Hopefully Ms. Hamilton will have the time and desire to give us another taste of Kellies and her world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Great book

    not in the same venue as her current two series but still an excellent read -- I really enjoy her character development as well as her plots. they keep me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Good book

    Loved it. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Nightseer

    I love this book. I've enjoyed all of the books by this author and I can't wait for the next book. This book should be available wherever books are sold or read.

    I give the highest ratings for this book in all the categories.

    I am an avid fan and will always be one.

    Laurell K. Hamilton's book have been very entaining and I have friends and family who I've turned on to her books and they have become avid readers as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where is the next book

    Okay, This says "Debut Novel". Does this mean that it was one of the first novels Ms Hamilton wrote? Or is this the beginning of a series??
    "Great minds" want to know :-)
    I enjoyed it tremendously and am really happy to not have to read through two pages of detailed sex. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the first books about Anita Blake but not so much the last few. (Except the last book when she lightened up)
    I hope Keleios and Lothor have more adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a nice half a story

    really great book, except that it ends halfway through a story that Laurell K. Hamilton never picks back up. Its a nice book but unless there is the intention of finishing the story soon there is no real piont in buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting sword and sorcery coming of age thriller

    At five years old half-elf Keleios proves to have paranormal skills that with focus and training would make her a powerful enchanter and prophetess. However, not long after displaying her talent, the evil wicth Harque killed Keleios¿ mom; the child vowed to avenge her mother¿s death one day. Her thirst leads her to hell where she becomes marked by demonic evil. A third power also surfaces; that of a sorcerer, which sends her back to school at Zeln's Keep learning to control her latest skill. Through all this Keleios has not forgotten her cause.<BR/><BR/>However, while at Zeln's Keep, she envisions an assault that slaughters many of the dwellers and those who survive the butchery will be brutally enslaved; the Keep will be no more betrayed from within by Keleios¿ roommate Fidelis whose mentor is Harque. Keleios struggles to put together a counter team, but few are comfortable with the tainted one. She manages to gain a few allies as Lothor the healer (whose price is her), Tobin the royal mage, Master Eroar the shape-shifting dragon, and Poth the feline sorcerer join her. They fail due to betrayal and become prisoners of Harque, who is the mastermind behind the destruction of Zeln¿s Keep.<BR/><BR/>This reprint of Laurell K. Hamilton¿s first novel is an exciting sword and sorcery coming of age thriller (though no Blake, stake, or vampires). The story line is action-packed as battle after battle occurs as the beleaguered heroine and her teammates struggle with survival. Although the world is never developed beyond seemingly a war zone that is not explored beyond the battlefield and neither is the key villainess Harque, fans of the author will enjoy Ms. Hamilton¿s debut quest fantasy rooting for Keleios to succeed against impossible odds. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Great reading

    This was my very first book from Ms. Hamilton, I wore it out & had to buy a 2nd copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    I loved this book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book and I am patiently waiting for the second one, cause we all know her friends need rescuing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    I liked but...

    i liked this book but the plot behind it wasn't as great as it could have been. the book seemed to be rushed and the reader doesn't exactly know why lothor wants to marry keleios. this should have beed defined at the beginning since he was lusting after her the whole book. Also, why was the witch fidelis even in the book? She was in the beginning and then you didn't see her again. she apperaed to be a major character at the beginning then she wasn't even in the book!?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    TRASH!!

    Trash! I can't believe this fantasy version of a soap opera got such good ratings. First book or no, it never should have been published with so little thought to the plot and characters. There is no substance to this story. When I read the synopsis, I was excited, and couldn't wait to get my copy. It has been nothing but endless fight scenes, gratuitus violence and countless declarations of revenge. So much for human spirit and the potential to overcome. The premise of this book held such promise. This could have been an epic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Nightseer

    I loved this book. I felt like it wasn't quite finished at the end though... I wish she would make this book into a series, it would be perfect! It definitely left me wanting more! Dark fantasies are my favorite... so I definitely love Lothor and Keleios' dark side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Nightseer

    Nightseer was an awesome read. Now I, like many others, need a novel to be fast pace and Laurell's books are anything but slow. An ultimate fan of Anita Blake I saw this book at B&N and couldn't resist. Though I was a bit wary since I'm a raging vampire finatic and this book was about demons and sorcerery. But when I cracked the spine the pages flew. Love Lothor!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4