Customer Reviews for

Nightseer

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    read this when it first came out back in 92. still on my book sh

    read this when it first came out back in 92. still on my book shelf as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Good book

    Loved it. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where is the next book

    Okay, This says "Debut Novel". Does this mean that it was one of the first novels Ms Hamilton wrote? Or is this the beginning of a series??
    "Great minds" want to know :-)
    I enjoyed it tremendously and am really happy to not have to read through two pages of detailed sex. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the first books about Anita Blake but not so much the last few. (Except the last book when she lightened up)
    I hope Keleios and Lothor have more adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a nice half a story

    really great book, except that it ends halfway through a story that Laurell K. Hamilton never picks back up. Its a nice book but unless there is the intention of finishing the story soon there is no real piont in buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting sword and sorcery coming of age thriller

    At five years old half-elf Keleios proves to have paranormal skills that with focus and training would make her a powerful enchanter and prophetess. However, not long after displaying her talent, the evil wicth Harque killed Keleios¿ mom; the child vowed to avenge her mother¿s death one day. Her thirst leads her to hell where she becomes marked by demonic evil. A third power also surfaces; that of a sorcerer, which sends her back to school at Zeln's Keep learning to control her latest skill. Through all this Keleios has not forgotten her cause.<BR/><BR/>However, while at Zeln's Keep, she envisions an assault that slaughters many of the dwellers and those who survive the butchery will be brutally enslaved; the Keep will be no more betrayed from within by Keleios¿ roommate Fidelis whose mentor is Harque. Keleios struggles to put together a counter team, but few are comfortable with the tainted one. She manages to gain a few allies as Lothor the healer (whose price is her), Tobin the royal mage, Master Eroar the shape-shifting dragon, and Poth the feline sorcerer join her. They fail due to betrayal and become prisoners of Harque, who is the mastermind behind the destruction of Zeln¿s Keep.<BR/><BR/>This reprint of Laurell K. Hamilton¿s first novel is an exciting sword and sorcery coming of age thriller (though no Blake, stake, or vampires). The story line is action-packed as battle after battle occurs as the beleaguered heroine and her teammates struggle with survival. Although the world is never developed beyond seemingly a war zone that is not explored beyond the battlefield and neither is the key villainess Harque, fans of the author will enjoy Ms. Hamilton¿s debut quest fantasy rooting for Keleios to succeed against impossible odds. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Nightseer

    I loved this book. I felt like it wasn't quite finished at the end though... I wish she would make this book into a series, it would be perfect! It definitely left me wanting more! Dark fantasies are my favorite... so I definitely love Lothor and Keleios' dark side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    missing the next novel...

    I was sceptical at first.. but whe it started getting good.. I was cought. I wouldn't put the book down like the rest of Laurell K. Hamilton's works. I loved it. I really want to see... another book for this 'only book to the series;series' The way it ended.. I was juust... oh my gosh.. I have to find another one! But there isn't any :-( Consider another. It was a great book and beggining to the works. You can see how well she's progressed in the years, and if it wasn't for my best friend.. I wouldn't have read any books by her. Laurell is the best auther I know of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    The 'Not part of a series' Series First Book

    I enjoyed the characters and storyline very much, and would love to see the sequel that seems to have been carefully setup by all the 'unfinished' business. Unfortunately, the author states on her website that no sequel is coming....ever. During a question/answer period at a book signing, reasons ranging from lack of publisher's interest (primarily from low sales numbers of this title), to lack of time/interest on the author's part were given. Will we ever get to resolve the interesting conflicts in Kelois' world? Only a Nightseer can tell....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Could Write More

    In this book there were alot of cliffhangers that could be righted in another book. And I hope a great writer like Ms. Hamilton could finish off the book like this but once a writer has finished off a book, and written more it seems to me that it is hard to start with the same perspective. The characters would almost have to change because the writer has different experiences now then they did have then. Even thought I respect that I do wish there would have been a sequel or two I wanted to know what would happen if heroine got to go find her missing friends and students, and if the whole thing with her consort ever got figured out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    What do you mean its not a series...

    I enjoyed this book very much.. BUT for a first book you just kinda start...it just kinda throws you in there and there is no real history. And its like there is nothing that she cant do..I would like to see some sort of failure every so often lol And this isnt a series? Its just going to end like that? She should really consider a little more character development and writing another book to finish up all the loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    Spellbound

    This is a great storyline, wouldn't mind seeing another book in this line. If you like magic and adventure as well as a woman leading the way this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2