Customer Reviews for

Nightseer

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Great Book!

    I read this book in one day, that¿s how much I enjoyed it. I loved the fact that the main character is a strong woman, and that for me is an important prerequisite. The book is filled with magic, teamwork, and loyalty that kept me captivated till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Laurell is an awesome author

    I absolutely love Laurell's novels. Her writing is inviting and captavating all at the same time. I myself can not kep up with a book that too long winded for me, I need the story to move to keep my attention. When I read her Anita Blake series, I was hooked. When I finished the last one ( Incubus Dreams ) I found myself wanting more of the story. Laurell has the ability to draw you into her world and she keeps you there with non stop action. Her talent for making you feel as though you were almost there along with the characters. I simply appluad Laurell for her ability to delve into the realms of science fiction that seems, up until now be the genre for men authors. I patiently await the arrival of her continuance of her Anita Blake with Micah and Dance Macbre. My husband and myself were at Barnes and Noble one evening and I was looking for something different to read and I was open minded enough to allow my hubby to pick for me, he introduced me to Laurell. I read the back and I am a fanatic about Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I said to him, ok, lets try this.I brought it home and have'nt stopped reading her. I have doubled the times I read one of her books, just to be back in the imaginary world she creates for her readers. I enjoy reading her writtings and I hope that another wife allows her husband to pick a book out for her one evening and she is introduced to a wonderful experience as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Finally no more sex!!!

    I seriously enjoyed this book because it contained all the things i enjoyed about the Anita Blake series, (I.E. demons, magic, a strong female hero, rich literature and poetic license, and sexual subthemes) but the real pleasure i found in this book is that it doesn't contain what ultimately ruined the anita blake series for me. In plain words, i didn't feel like i was reading hustler when i read 'Nightseer'! I was rather worried about this book when the whole 'consort' thing came into play, but the heroine handles herself with such poise and virtue that it's an amazing contrast to her and the ardeur ridden Anita. It's sad that this won't become a series...perhaps there wasn't enough sex for Laurell, but i'm glad Keleios didn't get a chance to experience the shame of the ardeur, or have sex with more 10 people in one day (like in Incubus Dreams). I like to remember her being the polite, quaint way that she was at the end of the first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    this book is friggin aswome gosh

    lol this was a great book of adventure, revenge,fighting, and magic i loved it. i reread it all the time i also wish she put out another book. i stayed up untill 300 am reading it and it was worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    missing the next novel...

    I was sceptical at first.. but whe it started getting good.. I was cought. I wouldn't put the book down like the rest of Laurell K. Hamilton's works. I loved it. I really want to see... another book for this 'only book to the series;series' The way it ended.. I was juust... oh my gosh.. I have to find another one! But there isn't any :-( Consider another. It was a great book and beggining to the works. You can see how well she's progressed in the years, and if it wasn't for my best friend.. I wouldn't have read any books by her. Laurell is the best auther I know of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    I Wish I Knew

    I sat down to read this story and found that I had lost a day in my short life. I am sad to learn that this tail will end unfinished. This was my first Laurell Hamilton book. I truly enjoyed the day!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    More

    I loved this book. I want the next one to come out!!!! Though it was sort of hard to follow at times, this was my kind of book. PLEASE MORE!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    I want more!!

    I thought this book was great!. It was packed full of action and I couldn't put it down for a second. There could have been more history about the characters, but it was still a great book, I think it's one of the best I've ever read. I want a sequel! It just ended in the middle of the story leaving you with a craving for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    The 'Not part of a series' Series First Book

    I enjoyed the characters and storyline very much, and would love to see the sequel that seems to have been carefully setup by all the 'unfinished' business. Unfortunately, the author states on her website that no sequel is coming....ever. During a question/answer period at a book signing, reasons ranging from lack of publisher's interest (primarily from low sales numbers of this title), to lack of time/interest on the author's part were given. Will we ever get to resolve the interesting conflicts in Kelois' world? Only a Nightseer can tell....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Could Write More

    In this book there were alot of cliffhangers that could be righted in another book. And I hope a great writer like Ms. Hamilton could finish off the book like this but once a writer has finished off a book, and written more it seems to me that it is hard to start with the same perspective. The characters would almost have to change because the writer has different experiences now then they did have then. Even thought I respect that I do wish there would have been a sequel or two I wanted to know what would happen if heroine got to go find her missing friends and students, and if the whole thing with her consort ever got figured out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    Love Laurell, but this book...

    I was passing a used bookstore and spotted this book on the 50 cent rack. I love Laurell K. Hamilton and I was curious as to how she did on her earlier books, before the Anita Blake series. Let me say I was taken aback at the differences between her current brilliant work, and this early floundering novel. The characters are not allowed to develop as characters, even though they seem to gain powers everywhere, and there is almost no history to the story. The writing is clumsy, though we can see some of the basics which Ms. Hamilton would eventually develope quite masterfully. I am very appreciative that Ms. Hamilton did advance to the wonderful writer she is today, but this book shows that this was a growing advancement and maturation of her writing. All in all I can see why the publisher chose not to sign Laurell on for a deal for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    What do you mean its not a series...

    I enjoyed this book very much.. BUT for a first book you just kinda start...it just kinda throws you in there and there is no real history. And its like there is nothing that she cant do..I would like to see some sort of failure every so often lol And this isnt a series? Its just going to end like that? She should really consider a little more character development and writing another book to finish up all the loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    This book has magic, intrigue, love, lust, and revenge

    Her characters are compellingly real. I haven't re-read a book so much since Robert Jordan¿s: Wheel of time and C.M. Whitlock¿s The Price of Immortality. These are characters that stand up under repeated scrutiny. This book has magic, intrigue, love, lust, rivalry, and revenge, all the things a fantasy novel should be. I could not put it down. Anyone who doesn't like this book ought to get their head examined. If you liked this try the Anita Blake series it's really good. Of all her books this is my favorite and I am impatiently waiting for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2001

    The book that got me into Fantasy!

    This is the best book i've read in awhile! I loved all of the characters and the story line. My only regret was that it was too short! I really wish she'd come out with a sequel to it! I'd love to see what the characters futures hold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    Awesome Book for Hamilton's First Novel

    As I have always been fascinated by strong female characters, I found this a very wonderful book. As an authoress myself, I praise Hamilton's first novel as a success. The only thing is that it left me wondering what will happen to her friends and enemies, which was left a cliffhanger. I hope that Hamilton writes a sequel to this because it was a worthwhile read. I wasn't able to put it down until I'd finished!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    Spellbound

    This is a great storyline, wouldn't mind seeing another book in this line. If you like magic and adventure as well as a woman leading the way this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    VERY COOL

    I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK, IT WAS LIKE JUMPING INTO ANOTHER WORLD AND A SCARY AND EXCITING ONE AT THAT. IF THERE'S ANOTHER ONE COMING OUT SOON, I'M GETTING IT, I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. IF YOU'RE INTO SCI-FI AND FANTASY, THIS IS A KEEPER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Better than most but.....

    Ms. Hamilton needed to read over her copy and tighten the plot, plus there were some minor errors that could have been cleared up before publishing. I hate to be distracted by typos and grammer mistakes. If she writes another novel in this line, a deeper look into the charter development would help. Otherwise, it was a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4