Customer Reviews for

Nightwalker

Average Rating 3.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Great entry into the series. Good read on it's own, but better if you know the back stories to the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific paranormal whodunit

    In the Las Vegas Sun casino, entertainer Jessy Sparhawk wins quite a lot of money at the craps table. Before the Lakota Sioux can rejoice over her gambling winnings, bodyguard Tanner Green falls on top of Jessy. Not moving once he lands on her, Tanner is dead from a knife in his back. Private investigator part Paiute Dillon Wolf pulls the body off of her.

    Soon after the Tanner death, a second person who works at the Sun is murdered as the killer is cleaning the crime links, which makes Jessy a potential target. The victim, a parking lot attendant, had witnessed Tanner leave a limo just before his murder. Dillon and LVPD homicide detective Jerry Cheever investigate the two related murders in different manners. Dillon is a nightwalker, as is Jessy now since Green made direct contact by falling on her, as she keeps "seeing" him. Dillon talks with the witnesses, ghosts. He learns that nearby ghost-town Indigo, Nevada is apparently the location of a violent confrontation between the paranormal and human as it once was the location of a nasty gunfight in its old west heyday.

    This is a terrific paranormal whodunit starring an intriguing hero, a dedicated cop, and a stunned entertainer whose relative world will never be the same after Green's pinpoint landing. The support cast, living and ghosts enhance the exciting story line by either adding to the investigation or to the Nightwalker ESP skill. The romance remains somewhat in the backdrop as keeping Jessy alive and catching the DEATH DEALER culprit are the objectives superseding his attraction.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different but Good

    This is the first book that I read by Heather Graham and I look forward to reading more of her work in the future. She had a smooth, enjoyable writing style and this book has a very unique plot. The characters were all very interesting and well developed. The plot was really interesting with the nightwalkers who can see and relate to the dead and the the impact of the current generations had on the past. It was definitely worthwhile reading with its assortment of romance, friendship, family and the supernatural. It is the first e-book that I have read and need to figure out how to archive so I can read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Pretty good

    I actually don't care for the author's style too much but when i saw this book, i read the back and it interested me so i figure i'd give it a shot. From the beginning, it reeled me in. I think it took me only about 2 or 3 days to read. I liked the characters and the plot and all. It's not bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Spell Bound

    I love this author and her writing. I have read all of her books I believe. She keeps the action going and makes a reader just want to keep going and forget everything else.
    I enjoy writers of the paranormal. I know many people do not believe in
    the paranormal but I do and to find out different "talents" fascinates me. I don't like the dark writings though so this just suits my taste.
    I guess it could be said reading is my hobby so it takes a bit to for a reader to keep my interest.
    I was glad to find this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    loved it it was spooky looking caught my eye

    i love heather graham when writing of ghost or powers to be. this book was enjoyable fun to read and overall great. again love figuring out who do it. just figuring out how the book will end. i just loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but not Heather's best

    When reading Heather Grahams books she has a style and plot that is always very similar from book to book. But I love it. She is one of my favorite writers. This was a good book, but I have read better by her. My favorite so far being Haunted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Ghost of a Tale!

    Heather Graham continues her saga of the paranormal with this new book. She brings back characters Nikki DuMonde and Brent Blackhawk to help in the investigation of this new mystery along with characters Jessy Sparhawk and Dillon Wolf. Tanya Eby Sirois and Fred Stella do a great job in the narration of this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Nightwalker by Heather Graham

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Apr09<BR/><BR/>¿I see dead people.¿ That line from The Sixth Sense, delivered by that child actor, has become one of the more famous, and infamously parodied, in recent history. It sent chills up my spine when I saw the movie and even now, just remembering gives me the shivers. I¿m not sure what the continuing lure is for stories about ghosts, but it¿s certainly an enduring part of every society and every generation. Heather Graham¿s latest romantic suspense, ¿Nightwalker¿, provides a peek into her take on ghosts and those who can communicate and see them. Luckily for us, they use this power for good.<BR/><BR/>Jessy is a native of Las Vegas, so she¿s well versed on the odds of winning a bit pot at the craps table; and when it happens to her, she¿s thrilled¿until seconds later a stranger crashes into her and dies¿trapping her under his body and the word ¿indigo¿ uttered with his dying breath. Now all of a sudden, she¿s seeing the dead man everywhere. And the starkly handsome private investigator who dragged the dead body off her is dogging her steps for information¿and maybe just a bit more.<BR/><BR/>Dillon sees dead people, and that¿s NOT a joke. For him it began after the death of his parents, and he was lucky enough to meet up with a man who understood and nurtured his talent. Now he works for that man with a group of others like him¿the Nightwalkers. They provide assistance for the ghosts, helping them to move on. Dillon is in Vegas working on a case when he spots Jessy at the craps table. Something about her draws him in and it¿s not just her gorgeous looks. Both Dillon and his ghostly pal have a baaad feeling that Jessy¿s in danger as it looks like whoever killed the dead man is doing a little clean-up since everyone who came in close contact with him is dying¿violently.<BR/><BR/>This story begins in the distant past in a Wild West saloon, and ends a few miles away in Vegas. Most everything in the story has meaning to both the past and the present. I found it fascinating the way Graham¿s plotting pulled in descendants of the original story for the spine-tingling finale. The book is really more of a mystery/suspense with a bit of romance than the other way around, so if this is something that bugs you, consider yourself warned! The hints and clues to the mystery are sprinkled throughout the read and I didn¿t fully figure out `whodunit¿ until the author¿s dénouement.<BR/><BR/>My only complaint with ¿Nightwalker¿ would be the dearth of back-story development of the main characters. We only get a glimpse into the `whys and wherefores¿ of the whole `seeing ghosts¿ ability. Ditto for anything other than the most cursory exploration of the backgrounds of the hero and heroine. I still enjoyed Heather Graham¿s latest for what it is¿a good mystery, with some action, suspense, and a tinge of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Read this

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! Well written book by Heather. She nailed all emotions with this one. And what a great plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    great mix

    First time I've read Heather Graham, won't be the last. Good mix of mystery, superstition, and a touch of graphic 'romance'. Ok, so the romance was blah - but Native American ghosts recreating a massacre in order to recover a vein of gold for a tribe that needs the cash? Sure thing. Granted, if the title were "Indigo" I would have read it sooner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!

    I read the back and expected a mystery and was plesently surprised by the ghosts simple to say it was not what i expected it was better! Its a marvoulse romance thriller that keeps u guessing till the very end!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Heather Graham's very great talent is for atmosphere. The people

    Heather Graham's very great talent is for atmosphere. The people and casinos featured in this Las Vegas/ Southern Nevada contemporary romantic suspense may be fictional but Heather struck a dead ringer for what it's like living and working in Las Vegas. It's downright erie how realistic she gets it. Other authors create series of new worlds that I enjoy suspending reality and slipping into but Heather Graham is one of the few authors I've read who is able to bring in paranormal elements like ghosts and still leave the reader feeling like all the action is taking place in the same world we inhabit today. She's succeeded in that yet again with this novel. I absolutely felt immersed in the action. I might even be glancing out my window just now to see if there's another killer out there! Maybe I'll do some research in the library and try to head out to a real ghost town with my dog one of these weekends! I think you might enjoy this book as well. Maybe it'll inspire you to get out and do some living outside of the pages too, just like it has for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Great Entertainment

    I am quickly becoming a Heather Graham follower. I enjoy her books and they always keep me up late reading until I get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A whodunit worth your time!!

    I put myself out on a limb with this book because I don't know the author. I was not dissappointed with the choice. The book grabs you from the beginning and keeps you guessing till the end. The romance between the two main characters does not overpower the book but it does make its presence known. A very nice read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The WORST.....

    This is by far the WORST book I've read by Heather Graham!! It was such a bore that it took me 8 days to read. A good or even so-so book generally takes me a day or two. I can not leave a book unfinished no matter how bad but boy I really wish I had with this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightwalker

    I enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the characters and the plot. My husband and I own timeshare's in Vegas and so I have been around the casino's a lot. We have also visited lots of ghost towns. Mostly in Arizona and so I could get into the book very well. We like haunted hotels as well so it had lots of things that were exciting to me. I could not put the book down until I finished it. Heather has a way of keeping the who done it from you until the very end and keeping you enterested all the way through. The books I recommend below are three of Heather's civil war books which are also very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I wwas pleastantly surprised by this book and have already loaned it to one of my friends to read and will pass it on to my sister. It was a very good book and would like to see the characters in another one. Definately a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8