Customer Reviews for

Nightwalker (Dark Days Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Dark Days¿¿.Nightwalker (book 1)

Not sure why I procrastinated in reading this book but boy was I sorry. I was totally missing out because this book is outstanding! Mira is a six-century nightwalker (vampire) who has the gift of conjuring and controlling fire with her mind. She is being hunted by cr...
Not sure why I procrastinated in reading this book but boy was I sorry. I was totally missing out because this book is outstanding! Mira is a six-century nightwalker (vampire) who has the gift of conjuring and controlling fire with her mind. She is being hunted by creatures of a parallel world, called the Naturi. They believe she is an important element in opening the gate between the worlds. Incidentally, she is also being tracked by the vampire-hunter Danaus. Danaus and Mira are mortal enemies and begrudgingly team-up to try and defeat the Naturi before it¿s too late. This book doesn¿t have a moment to waste and has one exciting adventure after another. I am biting my nails in anticipation for the next installment Dayhunter. My favorite authors and books are Kim Harrison-Rachel Morgan series, Jenna Black-Morgan Kingsley series what an innovative concept, Ilona Andrews- Kate Daniels series this character is tough tough tough, Caitlin Kittredge- love her Noctune City series, Rachel Caine- Weather Warden series, Larissa Ione- Demonica series, Richelle Mead- Georgina Kinkaid series and Dark Swan Series, Audra and Stella Price- Eververse series, Yasmine Galenorn- Sisters of the Moon series, Vicki Pettersson- Zodiac series Jackie Keller- Hell on Earth series, T.A. Pratt- Marla Mason series Mark Henry- Happy Hour of the Damned

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Really? Did we read the same book?

I picked this book up because Kim Harrison, who I love, recommended this book as a new author. I am always looking for good books, especialy vampire. I probably have over 200 books that are vampire series either I own, have read, lent out (you get my point). I know a...
I picked this book up because Kim Harrison, who I love, recommended this book as a new author. I am always looking for good books, especialy vampire. I probably have over 200 books that are vampire series either I own, have read, lent out (you get my point). I know a good story when I read it and this isn't it. It starts out ok, but really, the main characture's name Danuas? I get that these evil creatures want to take over and I get that the main female lead is the only person that can save us, and I wanted to really like it, I tried super hard to like it and I just could NOT. It is just all over the place. Do the two main charactures in the story hate each other?? I thought she was revolting to him? Didn't he kill 4 vampire because...well I am not sure why. If the really old vampires are so smart and strong, how did they not know these naturi had a get out of jail card? And that is just the start to some of the major plot flaws I saw. If you are going to write about vampires, you better make sure they are either strong and beautiful or flawed and yearning for their soul. The author might have wanted to read a Laurel K Hamilton book and see how you can write vampire, or even old Anne Rice. The Vampire Lestat still holds true even after all this time. You might not agree with my review or you might agree with it, but save your $9.00 and buy another book.

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still undecided

    I still haven't figured out if I liked this book or not. I thought the side characters established in the first 50 pages were interesting but then we never went back to them. Why establish relationships and then barely mention them again? I understand this is the first book in a series, but still it seemed disjointed. Although I liked that you were not completely sure who to trust throughout the book, I also felt a lot of choices the main character made were poorly explained and therefore confused plot lines more than they had to. I'll wait for book two before I decide if I can recommend this or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Honest Review

    Very good. Nice concept. I do think you overdid it a bit on the pouty teen crap. Also, there were several grammatical mistakes that distracted readers from the actual content. (Example: It should be "No, I ..." instead of "No I ...") <br>
    Four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Review

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Review for "Forbidden"

    Your story is somewhat short, but that may be due to the fact that i enjoy longer, more detailed pieced of literature. If i had been the one writing this, I would have lengthened it and spent more time describing the characteristics of the environment and the people within the story. <br> However, it was still a rather well-written beginning to what I assume is going to be a multi-chapter story, and I wish you the best of luck on your journey. <p> ~Phoenix

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Pretty Good.

    Monty :) cant wait for chp. 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    OMG! SO MUCH BETTER!

    PLEAAASE CHAPTER TWO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Short

    Too short to really rate. Odd grammar. Boring to the point i chucked my nook against the wall before posting this. No stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Violet

    Much better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great!

    I liked it a lot! More!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    To 'Short'

    HOW RUDE, YOU BI<ph>TCH! I THINK YOU'RE FUC<ph>KING BORING WITH NO LIFE! MY NOOK LIMITS HOW LONG MY POSTS ARE! SO DIE IN A HOLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Keep writing

    Please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good

    If you could make it longer that would be good. Is her last name spirit?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    GOOD JOB!!!

    I love it now continue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Forbidden Chapter One

    My name is Hex Marie Spirit. I am 16 years old. And I am not normal. I am not human. I am Half Vampire, Half Angel. And now...I am going to a school for Pure Angels. I did not want to of course, I debated with my mother, even threatened her, but I utterly failed. This is how the conversation went:
    <p>
    "HEX MARIE SPIRIT!!! You're going to the School and that is final!" My mother shouts angrily, upset, as I am simply refusing even the possibility.
    <p>
    "No I am not!" I growl, eyes flashing
    <p>
    "Yes you are Hex! You don't have a choice in the matter!" She retorts, snarling, her fangs flashing
    <p>
    "Yes I do! I-I'll run away!" I scream, my heart seizing at the thought.
    <p>
    "No you won't. I know you!" She says with a condescending smile.
    <p>
    I growl in frustration "And why should I go?" I ask
    <p>
    "Because it is safer! You won't be caught!"
    <p>
    "Yes I will! It's pretty hard to hide fangs! And I don't even have wings yet! If I even get any!"
    <p>
    Finally my mother goes over the edge "NO YOU WON'T HEX! YOU WILL NOT GET CAUGHT AND YOU ARE GOING TO THAT SCHOOL!" She says, clenching her teeth and slamming her fist down on the table.
    <p>
    I flinch at the noise "Okay Mother. I'll go your stupid School,Well Dad's stupid School, But don't blame me if I get caught!" I say in exasperation, throwing my hands up in the air and pouting.
    <p>
    My mother smiles grimly "Trust me Hex. Things are better this way."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Eaglepaw

    Yeaj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Blacklesspaw

    She nods. Then crouches & puts her haunches in position. He ki<_>cks out her back legs with speed & force. Then jumped up & around & swiped her claws on a tree at full force, taking a good piece off. Then she slid under low branch & pushed her claws up & raked them. She sat up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    And so the journey begins...

    Action packed. Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    EXCELLENT!

    i was actually surprised about how much i enjoyed this book. i was a little leery considering the bad reviews but it was great! i'd highly recommend this book to anyone who loves good vampires novels with twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Mira is a Nightwalker with the power of fire, an element so very

    Mira is a Nightwalker with the power of fire, an element so very deadly, and uncommon.  Centuries long ago the Naturi had tried to control her powers, nearly killing her.   The Naturi has broken the Triad.. the same Triad that helped save her, so she is out to find a new replacement.  This puts her face to face with the vampire hunter Danaus, her worst enemy.




    I loved Mira in this book, she is a crazy good fighter, confident and sexy.  She is a killer, but takes her responsibility to heart.  
    The Naturi are the major villains of this story. So far, there are just no redeeming qualities about this hateful and destructive race, which is perfect for their role in this battle. With all of the other characters we meet, however, there is a touch of good and evil in each person, no matter if they are human or Nightwalker.




    And then there is Danaus. No one really knows what he is, and he isn't talking. Yes, he is a vampire slayer, but this man has more secrets than anyone can guess, and he keeps fairly closemouthed about them. Still, he says what needs to be said, and certainly gets the job done.  Its quite a read to watch her and Danaus connect and have to work together.  This book is more about fighting, and piecing things together.. and not really a romance.. 




    It was a well thought out story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Must read

    Even if you dont care for a female blade. There is just enough to keep you reading till the sun comes up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12