Customer Reviews for

Nightwalker (Dark Days Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Dark Days¿¿.Nightwalker (book 1)

Not sure why I procrastinated in reading this book but boy was I sorry. I was totally missing out because this book is outstanding! Mira is a six-century nightwalker (vampire) who has the gift of conjuring and controlling fire with her mind. She is being hunted by cr...
Not sure why I procrastinated in reading this book but boy was I sorry. I was totally missing out because this book is outstanding! Mira is a six-century nightwalker (vampire) who has the gift of conjuring and controlling fire with her mind. She is being hunted by creatures of a parallel world, called the Naturi. They believe she is an important element in opening the gate between the worlds. Incidentally, she is also being tracked by the vampire-hunter Danaus. Danaus and Mira are mortal enemies and begrudgingly team-up to try and defeat the Naturi before it¿s too late. This book doesn¿t have a moment to waste and has one exciting adventure after another. I am biting my nails in anticipation for the next installment Dayhunter. My favorite authors and books are Kim Harrison-Rachel Morgan series, Jenna Black-Morgan Kingsley series what an innovative concept, Ilona Andrews- Kate Daniels series this character is tough tough tough, Caitlin Kittredge- love her Noctune City series, Rachel Caine- Weather Warden series, Larissa Ione- Demonica series, Richelle Mead- Georgina Kinkaid series and Dark Swan Series, Audra and Stella Price- Eververse series, Yasmine Galenorn- Sisters of the Moon series, Vicki Pettersson- Zodiac series Jackie Keller- Hell on Earth series, T.A. Pratt- Marla Mason series Mark Henry- Happy Hour of the Damned

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Really? Did we read the same book?

I picked this book up because Kim Harrison, who I love, recommended this book as a new author. I am always looking for good books, especialy vampire. I probably have over 200 books that are vampire series either I own, have read, lent out (you get my point). I know a...
I picked this book up because Kim Harrison, who I love, recommended this book as a new author. I am always looking for good books, especialy vampire. I probably have over 200 books that are vampire series either I own, have read, lent out (you get my point). I know a good story when I read it and this isn't it. It starts out ok, but really, the main characture's name Danuas? I get that these evil creatures want to take over and I get that the main female lead is the only person that can save us, and I wanted to really like it, I tried super hard to like it and I just could NOT. It is just all over the place. Do the two main charactures in the story hate each other?? I thought she was revolting to him? Didn't he kill 4 vampire because...well I am not sure why. If the really old vampires are so smart and strong, how did they not know these naturi had a get out of jail card? And that is just the start to some of the major plot flaws I saw. If you are going to write about vampires, you better make sure they are either strong and beautiful or flawed and yearning for their soul. The author might have wanted to read a Laurel K Hamilton book and see how you can write vampire, or even old Anne Rice. The Vampire Lestat still holds true even after all this time. You might not agree with my review or you might agree with it, but save your $9.00 and buy another book.

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    I love the mythology behind the Dark Days series. After humans were created, two guardian races were created to maintain the balance. The naturi are guardians of the earth, while the bori are the guardians of souls. The bori existed as a single clan with their own dark side. From the bori came the legends of angels and demons. The naturi existed in five clans; earth, water, wind, light and animal. From the naturi grew the stories of elves, fairies and other magical creatures.

    There was a constant power struggle between the bori and the naturi. The power and strength of the two races were dependent upon what they protected. As humanity grew the earth became weaker. A war started between the bori and the naturi. Tired of fighting each other, each side created foot soldiers using humans. The bori created nightwalkers, also known as vampires, using blood magic. This also left the nightwalkers dependent on blood magic, the reason they need to feed on blood to survive. The naturi created lycanthropes using earth magic. Lycanthropes can take on the gifts of the animals that they shift into.

    The naturi wanted nothing more than to rid the earth of all humans and nightwalkers. The naturi think the only way to protect the earth is by removing it's greatest threat; mankind. The nightwalkers exiled most of the naturi and their queen into another world. One that was similar and connected to this world, but different. The nightwalkers sealed the door between the two worlds. I have no idea how the bori were exiled, it was never mentioned.

    Now the few naturi the were left behind are trying to unseal and open the door between the two worlds and release their queen. Mira, a kick ass 600 year old nightwalker, is now forced to work with Danaus, a vampire hunter who is not exactly human, to stop the naturi and save mankind. And worse yet, the return of the naturi means the bori might return as well. For nightwalkers the naturi represent extinction, but the bori represent an eternity of slavery.

    While I loved the mythology of the series, my feelings for Nightwalker are not as strong. There was this monotone feel throughout most of the book and some sections were a little slow. The characters also seemed a little flat. There were moments when everything seemed to have a little depth to it. These moments were usually between Mira and Danaus. They have this special flirtatious bickering, love-hate, cat and mouse, I want to rip your heart out kind of relationship. You're wondering why I gave Nightwalker 3 stars, right? Because it gets better! I don't know what changed, it was very subtle, but the last third of the book seemed to be more... animated. You notice the action scenes and the characters seem more real.

    This is a series that you have to read in order, which means you're going to end up with annoying cliffhanger endings. On a high note the series is finished so you will not have to wait a year for the next book. Yay! Based on the last few chapters of Nightwalker I think the rest of Dark Days will be worth checking out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still undecided

    I still haven't figured out if I liked this book or not. I thought the side characters established in the first 50 pages were interesting but then we never went back to them. Why establish relationships and then barely mention them again? I understand this is the first book in a series, but still it seemed disjointed. Although I liked that you were not completely sure who to trust throughout the book, I also felt a lot of choices the main character made were poorly explained and therefore confused plot lines more than they had to. I'll wait for book two before I decide if I can recommend this or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the book very much. The characters were well written and the storyline moved at a good pace. I am considering reading the next book in the series.
    Issues - the main character is always covered in blood and it got a bit monotonous. Another minor issue was the book cover. I read the book in spite of the cover's first impression. The main character depicted in the book is sexy, voluptuous, powerful. The character on the cover is trashy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    quick read

    Mira was happy controlling her domain and minding her own business never thinking about the horrors of the past. But when a handsome hunter blows into town her comes crashing back into her with a vengeance. The vile creatures that once had kidnapped her and tortured her are back and out for her head. Now she needs to leave and find her mentor and kill any nature, the evil Faye like creatures, are out to capture and try to kill her as they did in the past. Her only help in this quest is a hunter who she still not sure if she can trust and two human companions she uses as bodyguards during the day light hours wail she is sleeping. But if she fails it will not just be her life and the life of those in her domain that will be at the risk it will be all the lives of human and Nightwalker alike.

    This book had a slow start for me there was a bit too much description of surroundings at times. But half way through the book, it finally caught my interest. I liked the sexual tension that the hunter Danaus and Mira had I'd like to see them get together they have like a love hate relationship that I liked. But he always had her back when she needed him. I also need to know what exactly Danaus is, it just left me baffled. I'm still not sure how I feel about Jabari he seems to care for Mira but to what extent? Just to use her as everyone else does? Or if she becomes too much of a threat to him will he eliminate her? I will continue this series because I have to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action Scenes and nothing else...

    I had high hopes for this series, it's hard to find a good supernatural type series. I read all the reviews and thought i'd give them a try. I'm still undecided whether or not i like them. The entire book is nothing but fight scenes, no humor, no romance, just fighting all the time and always serious, it got kinda boring reading about the same thing all the time. I'm not sure whether i like the characters or not. The problem they face is interesting but thats about it. I'm still going to read the rest of the series in hopes that at some point there will be a lighter mood mixed in with the action,if anything rent them from a library instead of buying them like i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1