Customer Reviews for

Nimitz Class (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I highly recommend reading this book. Patrick Robinson wrote a riveting, suspenseful, action packed novel, you will not want to put down until the last page. This is my first read from this author, and I am extremely impressed. It is fast paced, characters strong and...
I highly recommend reading this book. Patrick Robinson wrote a riveting, suspenseful, action packed novel, you will not want to put down until the last page. This is my first read from this author, and I am extremely impressed. It is fast paced, characters strong and well defined. There was a heart wrenching and catastropic event that left me stunned and saddened. This writer really put forth a lot of effort in writing this story, in just the reasearch alone, he must have interviewed the whole navy! I found myself totally immersed in reading this book, a sign of a great read.

posted by 8429876 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Laughable on many levels

The stereotyped rantings of the supposed conservative leaders in 'Nimitz Class' are so unbelievable as to verge on satire. The Chief of Naval Operations and his fellow senior officers refer to Iranians as 'towel heads' and 'rag heads'. The President, a Bush standin almo...
The stereotyped rantings of the supposed conservative leaders in 'Nimitz Class' are so unbelievable as to verge on satire. The Chief of Naval Operations and his fellow senior officers refer to Iranians as 'towel heads' and 'rag heads'. The President, a Bush standin almost as idiotic as the real thing, wishes he could shut down the newspapers, but opines that the liberal courts wouldn't stand for it. The President is depicted as getting 'trigger happy.' The Presential Press Secretary goes on a rant about the press, Congress, liberals, etc etc that sounds like a drunk Birtcher on speed. But the good guys in Nimitz Class are the real joke-- cartoon characters one and all. Robinson seems to want to stuff every virtue into his characters, and every manly manly manly American icon is trotted out. The square-jawed naval officer is a cowboy from Kansas...but wait...he's got a Ph.D. from MIT as well...but wait, he's charming and handsome and his mom far from being a rancher's wife is a sort of Jackie Kennedy of the plains, the Wellesley girl to the core. We're even told she might as well have had a 'W' branded on her forehead. 'ouch!' Oh, and he loves opera and knows his wines. A REAL AMERICAN ARISTOCRAT, see...even the Brits with their infallible nose for class distinctions recognize that. Your more blue collar characters also come in for the Norman Rockwell treatment. The Navy SEAL who is the son of a Maine lobsterman, for instance. Piercing blue eyes? Check. Will of iron? Check. Heart of a lion? Check. Please pass the airsick bag. The author is an Anglophile to the point of absurdity. You will find only WASPs among the Americans, excepting the brief appearance of a black nco on an aircraft carrier whose function is to testify to how much he loves one of the white pilots. In a manly, manly way you understand. The list of characters reads like the membership of a Westchester country club circa 1930. In a way, perhaps that is the point of Robinson's writing. It's a fantasy of a conservative WASP America. The reason to think this book might be intended as a satire is that the right wing stuff is so overdone, and yet the heroic characters are basically screw-ups, while the enemy-- the arch-terrorist-- is hyper competent, multi-dimensional and interesting. The good guys fail to prevent a terrorist enemy attacking us,with the result that many thousands die in response. The President and his inner circle want to attack somewhere, but aren't too picky about where or whether the country they attack is actually responsible. The President himself seems to be a clueless dope. Hmmm...maybe 'Nimitz Class' is more realistic than I thought.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Superb

    Great book! Must have for a military sailor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Extremely interesting

    This book is extremely interesting to me, having been the Damage Control Assistant Engineer on the aircraft carrier USS Kitty Hawk for 2 years during the 1960's.

    Memories. I am now 93 years of age - why still alive? No one knows.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I highly recommend reading this book. Patrick Robinson wrote a riveting, suspenseful, action packed novel, you will not want to put down until the last page. This is my first read from this author, and I am extremely impressed. It is fast paced, characters strong and well defined. There was a heart wrenching and catastropic event that left me stunned and saddened. This writer really put forth a lot of effort in writing this story, in just the reasearch alone, he must have interviewed the whole navy! I found myself totally immersed in reading this book, a sign of a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Patrick Robinson

    Highly Revommended/ He knoes what he is doing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    vrryyy nice

    this book is awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    Laughable on many levels

    The stereotyped rantings of the supposed conservative leaders in 'Nimitz Class' are so unbelievable as to verge on satire. The Chief of Naval Operations and his fellow senior officers refer to Iranians as 'towel heads' and 'rag heads'. The President, a Bush standin almost as idiotic as the real thing, wishes he could shut down the newspapers, but opines that the liberal courts wouldn't stand for it. The President is depicted as getting 'trigger happy.' The Presential Press Secretary goes on a rant about the press, Congress, liberals, etc etc that sounds like a drunk Birtcher on speed. But the good guys in Nimitz Class are the real joke-- cartoon characters one and all. Robinson seems to want to stuff every virtue into his characters, and every manly manly manly American icon is trotted out. The square-jawed naval officer is a cowboy from Kansas...but wait...he's got a Ph.D. from MIT as well...but wait, he's charming and handsome and his mom far from being a rancher's wife is a sort of Jackie Kennedy of the plains, the Wellesley girl to the core. We're even told she might as well have had a 'W' branded on her forehead. 'ouch!' Oh, and he loves opera and knows his wines. A REAL AMERICAN ARISTOCRAT, see...even the Brits with their infallible nose for class distinctions recognize that. Your more blue collar characters also come in for the Norman Rockwell treatment. The Navy SEAL who is the son of a Maine lobsterman, for instance. Piercing blue eyes? Check. Will of iron? Check. Heart of a lion? Check. Please pass the airsick bag. The author is an Anglophile to the point of absurdity. You will find only WASPs among the Americans, excepting the brief appearance of a black nco on an aircraft carrier whose function is to testify to how much he loves one of the white pilots. In a manly, manly way you understand. The list of characters reads like the membership of a Westchester country club circa 1930. In a way, perhaps that is the point of Robinson's writing. It's a fantasy of a conservative WASP America. The reason to think this book might be intended as a satire is that the right wing stuff is so overdone, and yet the heroic characters are basically screw-ups, while the enemy-- the arch-terrorist-- is hyper competent, multi-dimensional and interesting. The good guys fail to prevent a terrorist enemy attacking us,with the result that many thousands die in response. The President and his inner circle want to attack somewhere, but aren't too picky about where or whether the country they attack is actually responsible. The President himself seems to be a clueless dope. Hmmm...maybe 'Nimitz Class' is more realistic than I thought.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Really Good!!!!

    I can't believe people think this book was poorly written. I'm twelve and this book captured my attention the whole way through.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    An act of literary terrorism.

    A very disappointing book that had started with some promise of not being just another Clancy clone. That promise ended early and the author indulged in Arab bashing, and western society jingoism. In supporting his agenda, the author presents his hero, the U.S. president, as a warmonger with no qualms about killing innocent Arabs, but who rails against Arabs who act with exactly the same attitude. The author presents his political views with the subtlety of a suicide bomber. He makes no effort to understand the regional and global perspectives of the Middle East. His knowledge and insight are simplified into a Tarzan movie style of dialogue of ¿Me good, you bad¿. A definite pass on any of his other books.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Piece of garbage

    This was by far one of the worst books I've read. There is way too much that is wrong with it to go into. Please save your money and time do not bother with this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    holds your interest always to the end

    very informative story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Proffessor holo

    Sits at her desk quietly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    DADA

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Poorly edited

    Ro inson writes ok, seems have outstanding knowledge of his subject matter, but cannot seem to grasp how to write a novel!
    For example he spends the vast majority of the first 20% of the text developing chacters and providing some backstory only to wipeout all the charactors and make most of the backstory irrelevant,,,at which point the reader loses trust in the author i speed read the remainder just so i could conclude the book but i didnt enjoy it anymore it ultimately becomes a military operarional whodunnit story,,,but in any good murder mystery you dont want the audience angry over killing the hero the hero supposed to be the detective worse yet- spoiler alert - we learn the villain gets away at the very end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Unfortunate Vision

    I thought I'd try this author as I've fairly run out of the Napoleanic Era naval fiction that I love. But this novel is not only a perspective of 90's naval thinking, it's a fantasy of right wing rationalization and illusion. The premise is intriguing, and the story and pacing isn't awful, though the prose is wooden. Where it tries to be insightful it's mostly illogical (c'mon, any high school student knows a nuclear warhead can't go off by accident, and it's attempt to suggest romance is just silly) but that's consistent with right wing thought. Granted, it was written before 911; before Obama - one wonders how the author has evolved. If he recognizes that the xenophobe attitudes of 1997 are the reason the rest of the world hated us by 2007. Still, I admit I was interested enough to finish. I enjoyed it when the story was purely focused on strategy. I may indeed try something else in the author's catalog, just to see. So, one day, we'll see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    From dafish: What a dud!

    Pencils are like big trucks; it doesn't take a lot of brains to drive one. It is painfully obvious here. His political bias proves it. Many big holes in his logic; too many to list, however; there are no silent torpedoes--would the Pentagon guys really be so calm about something like this--would one really walk to announce the news to ones superior officer? I have purchased my last book from Robinson

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    It was Ok I guess

    I could not relate to or like the characters. All of the main characters were highly educated blue bloods from aristocratic, wealthy families. They were all charming, refined, ejoyed good wine & liquor, and listened to opera...YUCK!! They were all popular, at the top of their game professionally, and all got along swimmingly with NO conflict between them. I sincelerly believe that the ranks of the modern United States Navy are filled by some of the best people in the world but this novel does a terrible job of actually representing them. The plot wasn't the greatest. It moved along a little slow, started to pick up and things were making sense but then way too many plot elements were introduced into the last hundred pages or so making it a bit confusing. Frankley, I thought the overall premise of the book was a bit far fetched both in what happens to the Carrier Battle Group and what the "response" is. I don't think I would recommend this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Not the best he's done, but it's pretty good

    As I said,not the best he's done, but it's a good read.Lots of good detail, and he really describes the charecters' personality. And you can also visualize the story quite well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Fails on many, many levels

    This book is just awful. It reads fairly smoothly, but fails miserably on at least four distinct levels. It ambles into a lot of useless territory for no reason at all. Virtually all of the first few chapters could have been dropped as contributing nothing to the plot. Many characters are introduced in detail, then killed off as a group. We hear about lots of relationships that have little or nothing to do with the story. The second major failing is that I don't believe any of the characters would act they way they did for vast segments of the book. Do you really think the military would rather have you believe a nuclear bomb ACCIDENTALLY went off than that the ship was bombed by a terrorist? Oh, come on! Would any country (including our own) allow an aircraft carrier to dock after such an incident? Do you really think the press will buy a military cover story and not even ask questions? I could list some real extreme examples, but would have to spoil plot elements. There's at least one point in the story when they know who, what, when, why, and how in exquisite detail, but won't accept all of the heaps of evidence because some small part might be (not is, might) be questionable. Suffice it to say that I could not believe intelligent people would make the decisions that were made in this novel. The book has a serious problem that it mostly consists of meetings. We don't participate in the discoveries. We hear about them at meetings. Yes, it's probably reality that goverment does things in meetings, but you write about the action, not about characters telling what happened. One of the most significant elements of the end of the story is simply told to us like an afterthought. Finally, there's a big problem with pacing. This story takes months. Most of that time is spent by the major characters DECIDING if they are going to do anything. We have a potential madman running around with nuclear weapons, but have plenty of time for social gatherings, horse rides, sightseeing, facility tours, etc. I can't believe that such a major incident could go on as long as this story has it going on. It is the author's resposibility to suspend my disbelief. This book only increased my disbelief.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2