Customer Reviews for

Nine Dragons (Harry Bosch Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Page turning thriller

In "Nine Dragons," Michael Connelly weaves a masterful thriller about LAPD Detective Harry Bosch, who's torn between solving a murder case involving Chinese liquor store owner John Li, and rescuing his kidnapped daughter Madeleine in Hong Kong. Along the way, Bosch disc...
In "Nine Dragons," Michael Connelly weaves a masterful thriller about LAPD Detective Harry Bosch, who's torn between solving a murder case involving Chinese liquor store owner John Li, and rescuing his kidnapped daughter Madeleine in Hong Kong. Along the way, Bosch discovers there are leaks in his murder investigation, which only means one thing-he can't trust anybody. He soon suspects that Li was a victim of the Chinese triad, a mafia known for extortion and violence. As Bosch attempts to jail the suspect, he realizes the lack of evidence against him. Robert Li refuses to testify. Bosch's partner from the Asian Gang Unit, Detective Chu, seems to act strange. And Bosch's own demons soon get the better of him, as he suspects the triad has gotten his own daughter after receiving a video of her on his cell phone. Arriving in Hong Kong, Bosch partners up with ex-FBI agent and his ex-wife Eleanor Wish as well as her Chinese partner Sun Yee to find Madeleine before Bosch is forced to return to LA-in this case, the next day. This limited time frame only adds a sense of urgency to Connelly's writing, which keeps the book a page-turner. As murders pile up, and Bosch's environment keeps getting murkier, can he save his daughter and solve Li's murder just in time? Or did he make the biggest mistake in his life, for getting involved in Li's case at all? The plot is strong, as tension increases and keeps the reader hooked. I especially liked the long action sequences and the characters, which are impossible to figure out until the very end of the book. The mystery component is essential to any thriller, and I thought that Connelly certainly delivered. Overall, I found this book a highly enjoyable read, with a creative plot and a strong ending.

posted by Alla_S on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelming

The author has lost his muse. Harry Bosch novels used to be very tasty...I have read them all...but the most recent have not been up to the past standards. It's almost that the author has a contract to fulfill and punches a book out every year or so to meet a requiremen...
The author has lost his muse. Harry Bosch novels used to be very tasty...I have read them all...but the most recent have not been up to the past standards. It's almost that the author has a contract to fulfill and punches a book out every year or so to meet a requirement.
The dialog is wooden. It appears that Connelly has no more interest in writing well, just writing a lot. This book is largely driven by dialog and the dialog is terrible. Too many "Yes, Detective Bosch"'s, too many descriptive terms "She said, sarcastically".
The ending is too clunky for words; it's like Connelly had a student write this book for him.
It is a very weak effort, very disappointing reading. It is destined for the discount pile. A shame, really. He used to be so good and Bosch was such a wonderful, flawed character. Now, just the book is flawed.

posted by Mose on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Page turning thriller

    In "Nine Dragons," Michael Connelly weaves a masterful thriller about LAPD Detective Harry Bosch, who's torn between solving a murder case involving Chinese liquor store owner John Li, and rescuing his kidnapped daughter Madeleine in Hong Kong. Along the way, Bosch discovers there are leaks in his murder investigation, which only means one thing-he can't trust anybody. He soon suspects that Li was a victim of the Chinese triad, a mafia known for extortion and violence. As Bosch attempts to jail the suspect, he realizes the lack of evidence against him. Robert Li refuses to testify. Bosch's partner from the Asian Gang Unit, Detective Chu, seems to act strange. And Bosch's own demons soon get the better of him, as he suspects the triad has gotten his own daughter after receiving a video of her on his cell phone. Arriving in Hong Kong, Bosch partners up with ex-FBI agent and his ex-wife Eleanor Wish as well as her Chinese partner Sun Yee to find Madeleine before Bosch is forced to return to LA-in this case, the next day. This limited time frame only adds a sense of urgency to Connelly's writing, which keeps the book a page-turner. As murders pile up, and Bosch's environment keeps getting murkier, can he save his daughter and solve Li's murder just in time? Or did he make the biggest mistake in his life, for getting involved in Li's case at all? The plot is strong, as tension increases and keeps the reader hooked. I especially liked the long action sequences and the characters, which are impossible to figure out until the very end of the book. The mystery component is essential to any thriller, and I thought that Connelly certainly delivered. Overall, I found this book a highly enjoyable read, with a creative plot and a strong ending.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Underwhelming

    The author has lost his muse. Harry Bosch novels used to be very tasty...I have read them all...but the most recent have not been up to the past standards. It's almost that the author has a contract to fulfill and punches a book out every year or so to meet a requirement.
    The dialog is wooden. It appears that Connelly has no more interest in writing well, just writing a lot. This book is largely driven by dialog and the dialog is terrible. Too many "Yes, Detective Bosch"'s, too many descriptive terms "She said, sarcastically".
    The ending is too clunky for words; it's like Connelly had a student write this book for him.
    It is a very weak effort, very disappointing reading. It is destined for the discount pile. A shame, really. He used to be so good and Bosch was such a wonderful, flawed character. Now, just the book is flawed.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievable - Michael Connelly is hands down the best at this genre

    Harry Bosch is and always has been a man with a mission - he has never wavered from his goal of solving the crime and standing up for the victim. Harry felt there were no weaknesses in his life and nothing could get to him until the day his ex-wife Eleanor Wish introduces him to his daughter Madeline. Not long after meeting her though Eleanor took her to Hong Kong so she can work as a professional gambler. Harry Bosch knows how to be a good cop, knows how to handle a case but is still unsure of how to be a father. He has done the occasional dad performance but the full concert of parenting was out of his league. However the learning curve is over when his daughter needs Harry to figure out how the case he is working on has crossed the line into his personal life and his daughter is pulled in as leverage against him.

    Harry is called out to a crime scene at a liquor store where he had once in passing met the owner and still retained a book of matches to remind him of that time. Mr. Li has been brutally murdered and trying to untangle the complexities of the crime is hampered by the Chinese customs and cultural climate that Harry has no knowledge of and is struggling to figure out concrete facts when the Chinese cultural is based on smoke and mirrors. His partner is more issue than assistance, his supervisor is concerned about blowback and the family refuses to cooperate. Harry works the crime as he has every other but when he receives a threatening phone call telling him to let this one go and then sees a video of his daughter being held captive nothing in life will ever stay the same and now is the time for action as a police officer and more importantly as a father.

    Harry flies to Hong Kong and reunites with his ex-wife to find Maddie and save her from whoever is holding her hostage. This is the ultimate nightmare every parent fears and is worse for Harry since he feels the guilt of his daughter being punished for his determination to solve the original crime. Taking the few clues he has accumulated and calling in every favor Harry is able to follow the trail that leads to a number of doors but trying to get to the right one is proving to be difficult when silent warriors exist and demons chase him in the night. But determined is Harry's deepest conviction and he is going to find Maddie. But the search results in one casualty that he was never prepared to face and is having difficultly reconciling himself to.

    Reading any Michael Connelly book is an honor and privilege as every story is fresh and the character depth rewarding but this book stands out on every level as you finally see how Harry really feels about his job, his ex-wife and especially his daughter. You are brought up to speed quickly on Harry's life and as usual ache for Harry as he struggles with responsibility of parenting and works through the fear that he is not doing a good job. Harry is as complicated an individual as any in the mystery market but yet a simple and unpretentious man that everyone can relate to. The reader sees themselves on some level in Harry's character especially as he struggles though his flaws and weaknesses and tries to do the right thing in a completely upside world. In this book Harry has to step up and be more than he ever thought possible and Mr. Connelly has laid this story out so that while Harry feels he is not doing his best the reader actually knows he is doing more than a stellar job.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Real Deal

    Unlike James Patterson whos willing to put his name practically every mystery this year Michael Connelly cares about his fans and his integrity. His Harry Bosch novels never disappoint and 9 Dragons will be no exception.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Harry Bosch Tale Since Echo Park!

    After disappointing Harry Bosch tales (The Overlook, The Brass Dragon) Connelly has brought back the Harry that hooked me in the earlier tales. Harry is still back in homicide (no closer duty for him) and during a slow night he is asked to investigate a shooting in a "rougher" section of LA. Harry and his partner (Ferras) grudgingly take the assignment and learn that a convenience store owner was murdered in his store. The case draws Harry's interest because he remembers the store and that the owner was once kind to him several years earlier. He assures the owner's son that he will catch the culprit.

    As Harry starts to realize that this might not have been a routine robbery but a possible execution by a Triad hitman. Harry starts to zero in on a suspect and then receives a threatening call to tell him to back off. Harry shrugs it off and continues but then his investigation stalls when he receives a video showing that his daughter (Maddy) being kidnapped in Hong Kong. He rushes off to save her realizing that if he is not back by the end of the weekend a possible suspect in the shooting will be set free.

    It is a tense plane ride to Hong Kong and Harry feels powerless because there is nothing he can do in the air. When he gets to Hong Kong he is aided by his ex-wife (Eleanor Wish) and her boyfriend. Harry has limited clues but through very good forensic science he was able to possibly know where to look for Maddy. It becomes a race to find Maddy because any delay could mean that she might already be dead.

    The tension of the chase is so tense you can cut it with a knife and the "determined " Harry definitely shows through. There is one sequence at a boat where the action is pulse pounding and the tension rife.
    The book also has a short but excellent appearance by Mickey Haller (the Lincoln Lawyer and Harry's half brother) and there are references to Jack McEvoy (Connelly's other main character). As long as Mr. Connelly can deliver Harry Bosch tales of this caliber, Harry will continue to be one of the most intriguing law enforcement figures in fiction today!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I have not read this book!

    Why should I pay twice the paperback price to download an E-book version to my nook? I could buy this book on CD and have actors read it to me for less money too. I really like Michael Connelly books, but I refuse to buy this one for my nook until the price drops to a reasonable level.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Devoured in a day....

    I really, really, really (spellcheck keeps telling me to fix that but it's true) - enjoy Michael Connelly's writing. I've read everything he's written and enjoy the books featuring some of his other characters, but Detective Harry Bosch is my hands down favourite. Bosch is back in Nine Dragons.

    Harry is called to investigate a shooting at a liquor store in a rough L.A. neighbourhood. The case seems to have gang overtones, so a detective from the Asian Gang Unit is brought in to help. The case is bigger than just south L.A. though with tendrils reaching to the triads in Hong Kong. Hong Kong.....where his daughter lives.

    Harry has always operated at the far end of the law, doing what he sees as right and pursuing justice on his terms. His single minded pursuit of justice has, for the most part, worked well for him in the past. But things change with this case. It's gotten personal for one thing. And that may be clouding his judgement. His current partner is no help, he doesn't know if he can trust the gang detective, he doesn't understand the language or customs and he's going way too fast. Mistakes could be very costly.

    Harry has always been a flawed character, but in this latest book, we get to see a different side of Harry. One that isn't always sure of himself and a bit more of his personal life. There is a shift in his focus and priorities. It's great that Connelly continues to grow and change Harry, that he isn't a stagnant character, repeatedly doing the same thing.

    Break neck action, an intricate plot and some great twists in the ending all add up to an unputdownable read. Really, really, really.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Exciting, heart stopping, excellent by c.c. new nook book

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down. I felt like i was in Hong Kong with him rushing through the airport or running in the street, even driiving in the car. I felt like I was in rhe back seat. Well worth the time and money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Best Bosch ever

    After a couple of days getting into the book I did not know what to expect. But when the action started I could not put the book down. Several superises for those loyal Bosch readers. Heart breaking, heart pounding excitment. As for me this is without a doubt the the best Bosch ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    9 Dragons

    "9 Dragons" by Michael Connelly begins with Harry Bosch investigating the murder of a Chinese immigrant liquor store owner. The investigation leads to the possibility of a triad execution and soon the abduction of Harry's thirteen year old daughter in Hong Kong. Forget the case and his job, Harry rushes across the globe to find his daughter. This mystery is action filled and there are some twists and turns that had me guessing. For fans of Connelly and the Harry Bosch stories, this is one to read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fastpaced and unpredictable - Nine Dragons is an exciting, satisfying read!

    Synopsis:
    The 15th and latest in the Harry Bosch series, Nine Dragons, opens with a murder of John Li, the owner of a liquor store in a tough South L.A. neighborhood. Having met John Li years earlier and during one of the most dangerous nights of his life, Bosch is determined to find Li's killer even if this involves taking on the Triads.

    Bosch looks to Detective Chu of the Asian Gang Unit for help. Just as Bosch and Chu investigate the robbery and murder, they discover that their main suspect has ties to the Triads. As the detectives pursue the link to the Triads, Bosch is confronted with his worst fear. Bosch is warned off the case and his daughter in Hong Kong is kidnapped. Bosch must track her down without knowing the language or the territory.

    Review:
    Harry Bosch fans will surely enjoy Nine Dragons! His characteristic distrust keeps Bosch unsure of who to trust but when Bosch enters into unfamiliar territory he must learn to work with Detective Chu and his knowledge of Asian gangs. As Bosch delves into the Chinese immigrant experience and the world of the triads, Nine Dragons shows you both sides of Harry Bosch - the deeply committed homicide detective and the fiercely protective father. A fast-paced and unpredictable, Nine Dragons is an exciting and satisfying read!

    Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (October 13, 2009), 384 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Good Reading Would Recommend

    Very easy reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read

    Really enjoyed the story and the growing relationship with his daughter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    To me, this book started out slowly and I asked myself why I eve

    To me, this book started out slowly and I asked myself why I even bought it. After forcing myself to read a bit more, I was hooked. After a slow start on my part, I finally got to the point where I couldn't put it down. Just a few more pages and I will be done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Better than some of the latest Bosch books

    Pretty good return to previous books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Exceptional story

    Bosch finally using technology of today makes this reader happy knowing these stories will continue to evolve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Definately not his best work

    If this was my first Michael Connelly novel, it would be my last. I have read the entire Harry Bosch series and have always admired Bosch's character, and the edgy way the story was put together. In this book I simply thought Bosch was an impatient, inept jerk. I understand the book was written from a different point of view, but it wasn't in line with other books in the series and was excruciatingly boring. I skimmed though it just to get to the end. Never thought I would do that with a Michael Connelly book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good read!

    Harry Bosh at his best. Fast paced book with a few twists, turns and surprises. Mr. Connelly did it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    The best one in the series by far

    Wow this book was one crazy roller coaster ride taking around the world trying to find his daughter. Great story crazy ending and somethings that you wouldn't have expected. Loved it another great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25