Customer Reviews for

Nine Dragons (Harry Bosch Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Page turning thriller

In "Nine Dragons," Michael Connelly weaves a masterful thriller about LAPD Detective Harry Bosch, who's torn between solving a murder case involving Chinese liquor store owner John Li, and rescuing his kidnapped daughter Madeleine in Hong Kong. Along the way, Bosch disc...
In "Nine Dragons," Michael Connelly weaves a masterful thriller about LAPD Detective Harry Bosch, who's torn between solving a murder case involving Chinese liquor store owner John Li, and rescuing his kidnapped daughter Madeleine in Hong Kong. Along the way, Bosch discovers there are leaks in his murder investigation, which only means one thing-he can't trust anybody. He soon suspects that Li was a victim of the Chinese triad, a mafia known for extortion and violence. As Bosch attempts to jail the suspect, he realizes the lack of evidence against him. Robert Li refuses to testify. Bosch's partner from the Asian Gang Unit, Detective Chu, seems to act strange. And Bosch's own demons soon get the better of him, as he suspects the triad has gotten his own daughter after receiving a video of her on his cell phone. Arriving in Hong Kong, Bosch partners up with ex-FBI agent and his ex-wife Eleanor Wish as well as her Chinese partner Sun Yee to find Madeleine before Bosch is forced to return to LA-in this case, the next day. This limited time frame only adds a sense of urgency to Connelly's writing, which keeps the book a page-turner. As murders pile up, and Bosch's environment keeps getting murkier, can he save his daughter and solve Li's murder just in time? Or did he make the biggest mistake in his life, for getting involved in Li's case at all? The plot is strong, as tension increases and keeps the reader hooked. I especially liked the long action sequences and the characters, which are impossible to figure out until the very end of the book. The mystery component is essential to any thriller, and I thought that Connelly certainly delivered. Overall, I found this book a highly enjoyable read, with a creative plot and a strong ending.

posted by Alla_S on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelming

The author has lost his muse. Harry Bosch novels used to be very tasty...I have read them all...but the most recent have not been up to the past standards. It's almost that the author has a contract to fulfill and punches a book out every year or so to meet a requiremen...
The author has lost his muse. Harry Bosch novels used to be very tasty...I have read them all...but the most recent have not been up to the past standards. It's almost that the author has a contract to fulfill and punches a book out every year or so to meet a requirement.
The dialog is wooden. It appears that Connelly has no more interest in writing well, just writing a lot. This book is largely driven by dialog and the dialog is terrible. Too many "Yes, Detective Bosch"'s, too many descriptive terms "She said, sarcastically".
The ending is too clunky for words; it's like Connelly had a student write this book for him.
It is a very weak effort, very disappointing reading. It is destined for the discount pile. A shame, really. He used to be so good and Bosch was such a wonderful, flawed character. Now, just the book is flawed.

posted by Mose on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Real Deal

    Unlike James Patterson whos willing to put his name practically every mystery this year Michael Connelly cares about his fans and his integrity. His Harry Bosch novels never disappoint and 9 Dragons will be no exception.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    9 Dragons

    "9 Dragons" by Michael Connelly begins with Harry Bosch investigating the murder of a Chinese immigrant liquor store owner. The investigation leads to the possibility of a triad execution and soon the abduction of Harry's thirteen year old daughter in Hong Kong. Forget the case and his job, Harry rushes across the globe to find his daughter. This mystery is action filled and there are some twists and turns that had me guessing. For fans of Connelly and the Harry Bosch stories, this is one to read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fastpaced and unpredictable - Nine Dragons is an exciting, satisfying read!

    Synopsis:
    The 15th and latest in the Harry Bosch series, Nine Dragons, opens with a murder of John Li, the owner of a liquor store in a tough South L.A. neighborhood. Having met John Li years earlier and during one of the most dangerous nights of his life, Bosch is determined to find Li's killer even if this involves taking on the Triads.

    Bosch looks to Detective Chu of the Asian Gang Unit for help. Just as Bosch and Chu investigate the robbery and murder, they discover that their main suspect has ties to the Triads. As the detectives pursue the link to the Triads, Bosch is confronted with his worst fear. Bosch is warned off the case and his daughter in Hong Kong is kidnapped. Bosch must track her down without knowing the language or the territory.

    Review:
    Harry Bosch fans will surely enjoy Nine Dragons! His characteristic distrust keeps Bosch unsure of who to trust but when Bosch enters into unfamiliar territory he must learn to work with Detective Chu and his knowledge of Asian gangs. As Bosch delves into the Chinese immigrant experience and the world of the triads, Nine Dragons shows you both sides of Harry Bosch - the deeply committed homicide detective and the fiercely protective father. A fast-paced and unpredictable, Nine Dragons is an exciting and satisfying read!

    Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (October 13, 2009), 384 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Good Reading Would Recommend

    Very easy reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    To me, this book started out slowly and I asked myself why I eve

    To me, this book started out slowly and I asked myself why I even bought it. After forcing myself to read a bit more, I was hooked. After a slow start on my part, I finally got to the point where I couldn't put it down. Just a few more pages and I will be done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    4 1/2 Stars!

    Another great addition to the Harry Bosch Series. Harry ends up in Hong Kong with his ex-wife Eleanor because his daughter Maddie has been kidnapped. Things go from bad to worse as Harry's only thought is to get his daughter back.

    This was an action packed race to find Harry's daughter .With its twists and turns along the way. From this story on Harry's life will never be the same.
    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another good one...

    I have read all of Michael Connelly's books. For me, this one started out a little slow and routine. About half-way thru it really started to pick up steam and ended up being very good. It also caught me off guard a bit with the way he resolved this one and how the book ended. I'm guessing the next one will pick up where this one left off.

    Its also nice when "stars" from the other books - in this case, Mickey Haller - make a guest appearance. I just wish Harry Bosch and Elvis Cole would collaborate on a case someday and if you can hook up those two west coast guys with east coast hero, Myron Bolitar, it could possibly be the best ever!! I'd also have Jack Reacher come thru town for a few chapters just to raise a little hell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Something Missing

    After reading all of Michael Connelly's books featuring Harry Bosch it is sometimes difficult to remember continuing threads of his life. It wasn't until I was into the story of his involvement with a liquor store in LA, a triad connection in Hong Kong and the disappearance of his son that I even remembered he even had a son and his relationship with the child's mother. More of the plot made sense when I recalled this piece of the action. Some of the plot seemed a bit contrived to hasten the inevitable climax. I don't think this is the best in the series but is an easy read and for the most part the writing is worth passing a few hours with an old friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Good Read!

    I have enjoyed all of the Harry Bosch books. Nine Dragons was just as pleasurable as the rest. There is something about the series that always keeps me interested in the story. I like Connelly's writing style. It is easy to read, without too much filler or fluff and the stories are not over-the-top unbelievable, or too drawn out. Nine Dragons has a story event that literally had my mouth hanging open with shock and surprise! Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Junebug

    ----------------->Junebug's Biography

    Name;; Junebug

    Rank;; Warrior or hopefully an hp

    Gender;; She-Cat

    Kin;; None

    Appearance;; Junebug is a smaller than average feline, her breed is known as a Scottish Fold. Smaller delicate ears that gold over, she had bright blue eyes and a white coat with silver tabby stripes. Her face is circular with a narrow chest and lean legs topped off with delicate white paws. Her tail is nothing but a button, born with a bobtail that is.

    Personality;; Junebug is generally happy, and energetic. What she lacks in height, she makes up totally in her attitude. She prides herself in her ability to make fair decisions and to include everyone. She is one to make the mood "brighter" when she walks in, and always has a bounce in her step.

    History;; Junebug was born in Thunderclan, led by Amberstar but then left to join Inkclan. Soon, Inkclan left her or disbanded, she never really found out! She became a loner for quite sometime then stumbled up this clan!

    Strengths;; Junebug does extremely well in swimming, her legs make up for quite the paddler. But her real specialty is to catch those pestering chipmunks. Her body is small enough to get those little buggers right out of their dens! She also is a speedy one! She tends to rely on her ability to run during combat.

    Weakness;; Her height can be a weakness at times, when bigger and stronger warriors can over power her quite easily.

    Signature;; ``Junebug

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Harry Bosch at his best

    Great Harry Bosch action with a great plot. Anyone who likes police novels should read Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Dawn

    OMG!!!! dragon rp was my idea in the first place!!!!!!!!now u use it to play "Ninjacars" or somthin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Ahh the 'Triad' now that is a scarey concept! sandy

    Who would want to be alone in these proverble 'back alleys'! Harry thats who! Goooo Harry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Another good read by Michael Connelly.

    Helped connect a few dots for Harry Bosch. I enjoyed the multi-cultural angle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Really interesting storyline

    This was a truly good read, and did not have any lag times, so as to keep me interested in the plot. My only concern was the lack of depth for the characters, which made it difficult to get involved in the individual persons except for Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Great book.

    This was the first book I read on my new Nook and I loved them both. Can't wait for the next Michael Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    The characters were interesting.

    This is a very well written book, which I thoroughly enjoyed - even better than his former novel, The Scare Crow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent read

    Michael Connelly knows how to tell a story. This latest entry in the Harry Bosch series is no exception. Fast moving. Definitely a page turner and worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7