Customer Reviews for

Nine Hills to Nambonkaha: Two Years in the Heart of an African Village

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Highly Recommended

    I agree with all of the previous reviewers. This wonderful book is beautifully written and opens up a world that most of us know so little about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Moving

    I got this book for free for participating at a country fare..which i only did for a guy but anyway... Sarah Erdman(sp) the author was a guest speaker and actually read a couple of pieces...hearing her voice really gave life to the book. If you are a pessimist or have a mentality against a group portrayed here (as my dad) then you're going to hate it. But if you are open minded and love to be transported into other places while still enjoying the beauty of human emotions, customs, and vivid imagery...then it is going to be one of the top picks on your shelf. I have had this book for almost a year and a half now and have read and reread it many times not only for joy reading but also as a first person account in my research. Another feature that i love about the book is that i can open the book at any part and it will still make perfect sence...great for people with not a whole lot of time or on the go. Overall it kind of reminds me of an anthology of different experiences. I LOVE this book...and I have great respect for Ms. Erdman. ULTIMATE FAVOURITE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    VERY DESCRIPTIVE

    This is a beautifully written book about Africa seen from the angle of the African village. It is very descriptive and makes it possible for the reader to relate to the story. This is the right book for those who have the desire to know about African life and the culture of the people. Coming from an outsider's view of Africa, one gets amazed by the insightful nature of it. A recommended read .You can also read THE USURPER AND OTHER STORIES, NO LONGER AT EASE, TRIPLE AGENT DOUBLE CROSS, DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE, MANGO ELEPHANTS IN THE SUN. I enjoyed reading these African stories because the opened my eyes to a lot of things about Africa I knew little about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Wonderful

    I have read several works by former Peace Corps members before and this was one of, if not the, best. The author allowed the African village to teach her, and rather than relating her opinions to readers, she more or less relates the lessons of the African village. She largely ignore most of the political talk related to Africa, and instead focused on the very specific needs and issues of this community. It was an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Moving, Inspiring, Beautiful

                Prepare yourself for an amazing trip to Africa when you pick up Sarah Erdman¿s book, Nine Hills To Nambonkaha, because her vibrant descriptions make you feel as though you are truly there. Erdman¿s account of her two years spent in the small village of Nambonkaha in West Africa as a Peace Corps volunteer is filled with joy, challenges, and many friendships. Her love of people shines brightly through her countless hours of work, in which she tries very hard to make life better for a culture struggling with poverty, corruption, death, and AIDS. Even with all these hardships, Erdman finds the true beauties in this minute village, and she wonderfully shares her experience of a lifetime in her book Nine Hills to Nambonkaha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Enjoyable Read

    I am an avid travel-essay reader - just an average person who loves to be transported to different places. Sarah Erdman's book was enjoyable, and I learned of an area I had actually never heard of! The book moved along a bit slow, but I believe it was her first - nonetheless, you keep turning the pages to see what she experiences next. I really liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Nine Hills to Nambonkaha: Wonderful

    Nine Hills to Nambonkaha is a truly amazing story of a woman, Sarah Erdman, who goes to Sub-Saharan Africa to try educate the local people of things such as AIDS, the proper way to care for newborns, and many other things. Although Erdman has to bring in western science to do this, she first becomes friends with the locals and earns their trust. Then, with the Peace Corps behind her, Erdman teaches the people of Nambonkaha things they never knew. Erdman's delicious story opens your eyes to what is REALLY going on in the world - not just what we think is happening. I recommend Nine Hills to Nambonkaha to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    I loved this memoir!

    I was instantly transported to the northern ivory coast of Africa. Sara Erdman, a young Peace Corp volunteer is assigned to the market village of Nambonkaha. The rarity of this woman's work however is that instead of trying to force her Western ways onto the villagers she takes time to find her niche among the people and become accepted. Then slowly, with the help from the local male nurse, Sideb and his wife Abi, she introduces basic health care and uses the villagers own traditions and culture to attract the mothers and babies to her clinic. She instructs the cautious but curious mothers in nutrition, diseases, birth control, etc and gets them excited about the Healthy Baby Contest where they bring there babies each month to be weighed. Ms. Erdman's language is poetic and flowing with a wonderful natural enthusiasm and love of these people who she has befriended along with the ability to laugh at herself. Her characters are portrayed in all of their humanity including their beliefs and despair. She helps us to understand the terrible situation facing West Africa with the spread of AIDS and we witness the birth of babies and their death from AIDS. There is also extreme poverty for the tribe's people while the upper class has plenty of money. I would highly recommend this book and hope that it finds it's audience as this is a life worth reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    A Wonderful Tale of Two Years in Sub-Saharan Africa

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was touching and refreshingly personal. Sarah struggles with issues familiar to all development workers ¿ ¿How do I instigate behavioral change now that I have disseminated the information?¿ She doesn¿t have the answers, but some insights, which only come from living so closely with a community. She shares these thoughts and the people of the village with her reader, avoiding clichés and stereotypes. As a former student of economics and having worked in community development overseas, I feel that this book is must read for individuals in these fields. Sarah lets you in the secret obstacles to capitalism not found in textbooks and defines the role of a successful development worker ¿ bringing out the best of those in the community so that ¿progress¿ comes from within, not from a temporary outsider. Of course, I would highly recommend this book to prospective Peace Corps volunteers, or those who have always wished they had volunteered as well; you will truly be transported to Nambonkaha, Côte d¿Ivoire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1