Customer Reviews for

The Nine Lives of Chloe King: The Fallen; The Stolen; The Chosen

Average Rating 4
( 427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

All three books

So much cheeper than buying the books seperatly

posted by 5763761 on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not the TV version....

I bought this combo after watching all the episodes on Netflix and then finding out the TV series had been canceled. After the season ending cliff hanger I really wanted to hear the rest of the story and see how everything played out. I found, however, that ABC made a f...
I bought this combo after watching all the episodes on Netflix and then finding out the TV series had been canceled. After the season ending cliff hanger I really wanted to hear the rest of the story and see how everything played out. I found, however, that ABC made a family friendly version of the bad girl main character from the book. After a few chapters I stopped reading. The drinking, lying, school-skipping girl from the book is as opposite from the TV version as the blonde actress is from the dark haired Chloe the author created. I'm still disappointed that they decided not to continue the series and would watch again if it were picked up, but I wouldn't recommend the book.

posted by CenTexT on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Far far away

    I disliked Chole. A lot. She acts way too old for herself. Chole plays hockie with 2 friends cause it's her b- day the next day and one of her friends will not be present. They were gonna drink a bottle of vodka (keep in mind that they're fifteen) when Chole falls two hundred feet from the tower she was climbing. (i'm not gonna explain the setting to you) Her friends took her to the hospital, but she only had a few brusies, cause she has nine lives. Of course her over protective mom found out that they skiped school and got mad at Chole even though she almost died a couple hours ago. Chole was mad at this so she ran to a club. The gaurd let the 15 year old into the club cause her shoes were old school ( really?) and she meets this random guy, who seems ten years older than her, who buys her red bull and vodka, dances with her, and when they were about to leave they start to make out in the parking lot. Things started to get heated, really heated. I't said, now this is how i rememmber it exactly: "we were about an inch from having sex when we pulled away". It also mentioned that his hands were all over her and "he's not like the other guys i've kissed". Whoa. Just how many guys have you kissed? I know that most girls have a first kiss at 13 or 14 but that sounded like she kissed a lot more that just maybe 2 guys. That was some of the overly detailed examples. The idea of the story was craetive, but i found it hard to see things from. Chole's view when i disliked her like that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    I have a question

    Are all of the books in the trilogy in the series in this book?

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    There was a show based on these books? I have no idea why anyone

    There was a show based on these books? I have no idea why anyone would want to turn these books into a show (or maybe it was the other way around) but it’s certainly very surprising.

    Anyway. On to the books. We meet Chloe King, a regular girl. Until she falls down a cliff of some sorts, dies and…comes back to live. Chloe meets two guys shortly after another, and immediately falls for both of them (yep, you can already see where this is headed). What follows is a love triangle, Chloe finds out she’s some sort of cat person, the last generation of an ancient Egyptian race of cat-people. Even worse, she’s the only one left who can come back from the death. Her mother and sister (who she never met, because she’s adopted) both had the ability too, but they were murdered. So now Chloe has to lead a clan of cat-people while going to high school and trying to figure out who to date.

    I can’t even begin to express how bad this book is. The writing is bland, there’s “telling instead of showing”, the main character is completely unenjoyable, and her inner dialogue sounds like it comes right out of a cheap slapstick movie. The plot is ridiculous. I don’t mind the cat-people thing, it’s even original as far as I can tell, but the way things are executed, the way we move on the slowest pace ever from plot point to plot point and every scene is interrupted with Chloe debating who she loves, a kissing scene, or a mix of the above, is horrible.

    Chloe is a horrible, self-centered, egotistical person. Her friends are bland, boring, and suffer from the same characteristics as she does. The love interests? They’re stereotypes, so shady and mysterious you could easily mix them up, and nobody would notice.

    The book has potential, and I liked the whole cat-people part. But it’s not worth wasting time or money on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not worth it

    I bought this book because I watched the TV show on ABC before it was cancelled. I thought the show was stupid but had a good premise so I HOPED the novel would be better (that's usually how things work). As it turns out, I was dead wrong. Not only was the book bad--it was worse than the show. I couldn't even finish it because it was so bad. All I can say is that it's hard to care for the problems Chloe faces. It seems like half of the drama in her life would disappear if she got over herself and stopped complaining so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Scary

    This is an inapropriate book dont get it if u are under 13

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No. I hate it.

    I bought this book and was all excited and perked up. I read a few chaptets and immediately felt a ton of bricks fall on me. I returned the book and got a better one. Thank goodness. Sorry for being a hater everyone...but the cover is good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    trouble

    i downloaded this book the other day and i read 2 chapters and the next day i went to read it and it said i had to redownload it so i clicked it and it said to contact coustermer support to finish downloading so i contacted them and they removed it from my order so i have to pay for it again!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Ughhhhhh

    When you write a review will you NOT give away the ending?!?!?!?! I was gonna read it but now i kmow how it ends:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    a rip-off

    Saw this book in Target for half the price...not on sale. So SICK of NOOKbooks being ridiculously priced. Its an Ebook.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1