BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Nine Lives of Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    cute

    Enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so good. I love cats and Ambrose was so cute and s

    This book was so good. I love cats and Ambrose was so cute and smart. Hope everyone reads it. The Snow Globe written by this author was another awesome book by Sheila Roberts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Sunfire

    Purred with delight lets go back to camp.*sunfire*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    A cute story that is told in both the cat and human perspective.

    A cute story that is told in both the cat and human perspective. I was a bit disturbed by the attitude towards physical appearance and it's importance by most of the characters.

    The main character does progress from meaningless physical relationships to a recognition of the importance of family and healthy relationships, which redeemed the story for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    Ambrose, the cat, is on his ninth life, and looking for a new ho

    Ambrose, the cat, is on his ninth life, and looking for a new home after his last mistress has died. He realizes that his cute and cuddly days have passed their 'sell-by date'. But he's sure he can convince one more person of his value.  He sneaks his way into a single fire fighter's house and plans to stay there.  His firefighter has found a sweet girl at the local pet store who seems to be a great 'cat whisper' for settling Ambrose into his life for long enough to find a permanent home for Ambrose.




    Ambrose has no plans of leaving, and is sure everyone will settle in quit wonderfully if he can just get rid of that terrible 'cougar lady' that his firefighter seems to think he enjoys dating.  Through many humorous and worrisome events, love, forgiveness, and 'pet persuasion' Ambrose gets everything perfectly settled.




    This is the very best 'cat /pet' book that I've read in a long time!!  If you love your cat or other pet, this book is definitely for you!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Fun and sweet

    Loved this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Christmas and Cat Lovers Rejoice! This is the perfect holiday s

    Christmas and Cat Lovers Rejoice!

    This is the perfect holiday story of family, felines and forgiveness. I loved Ambrose the cat, trying to get the humans moving in the right direction to ensure happiness for them and a good ninth life for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Cody

    Bottle feeds the young ones i guess we have to fibd a new mom for you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Twins room

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very good book

    I got my Color nook at Christmas and this was such a good book to go along with my Nook . Could not hardly wait to read it . The story just warms your heart . Not a heavy book but good light reading which a Christmas story should be . Nice job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    A great book for everyone who loves cats!

    A must read for cat people everywhere. When reading this book I had a good purrfect feeling, with a happy feeling when finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    a frothy Christmas tale

    The jacket blurb tells the story. Cat lovers may enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nine Lives of Christmas

    Cute and different book - makes you happy reading her books! Fast read - highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Uplifting Holiday Treat!

    Uplifting Christmas Story-Shelia Roberts captures your attention and keeps it during this cute story that involves the 9th life of a curious and personable cat, Ambrose. I really enjoyed the story-passed the book along to several friends-they loved it, too! Makes you realize what is important at Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great book for curling up with!!!

    Review by Valerie: It¿s getting cooler outside and the holiday spirits are stirring. What better time to sit down and read a book that will get you in the holiday spirit? This one is a winner for cat or pet lovers, especially. The story opens with Ambrose cornered in a tree bargaining for his life ¿ he is on his last one, after all. When the dog is chased away by a nice stranger, Ambrose knows he doesn¿t want to do anything nice for a dog so it must be the fireman he has to help out to fulfill his bargain. Zach notices the cat following him home but it¿s time for a 48 hour shift at the firehouse so he plops him outside and goes to work. When he returns home, guess who¿s still waiting? Zach¿s friends remind him that cats are a ¿chick¿ type of pet, not for a manly man like him.

    Ambrose¿s bargain with the creator is going to be much harder to fulfill than he ever realized. Zach has turned away from any and all efforts at matchmaking, even a call from the popular The Bachelor show. When Zach still hasn¿t found a home for the pesky creature who won¿t leave, he decides to dress up as Santa and take a picture to encourage someone to adopt Ambrose but the visit doesn¿t go as planned ¿ there are dogs at the place. Then, Ambrose spots Merilee ¿ those eyes...he recognizes her from another life and the scheming begins.

    Curl up with this book and enjoy a cool night by the fire...it¿ll warm your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Start Off the HOLIDAYS Right!!

    This story features Ambrose, the matchmaking cat, who finds himself facing his ninth life, you know the final one. He will do anything - ANYTHING - to be able to live it out happily.

    When it looks like his fate has been sealed by an enormous dog, he pleads for help. His savior arrives in the form of a big, strong, firefighter named Zach. A firefighter who is very surprised that his good deed not only included scaring away the dog but giving Ambrose a new home.

    Ambrose soon sees Zach needs help in the romance department. He also knows it is not going to be an easy endeavor to bring the perfect match together. With a bit of holiday magic he may be able to do it and even find a little feline romance for himself.

    Dollycas's Thoughts
    This is such a cute little story. The perfect pick me up to get your holiday planning and shopping off on the right foot. You may even want to pick up some extra copies to give as gifts.

    A light holiday romance with the predictable happy ending told from the cat's point of view. It makes for a Very Meowy Christmas.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from St. Martin's Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    A great Christmastime story from Sheila Roberts!

    If you like Christmas, romance, and pets with personality, "The Nine Lives of Christmas" is for you! I've been a fan of Sheila Roberts for a long time and her latest book is another wonderful read. Her latest story involves a firefighter whose heart needs mending, a sweet and relatable heroine, and a matchmaking cat (how awesome is that?), all set against the backdrop of the holidays. I was glued to this book from the very first page, and could hardly put it down! Reading "The Nine Lives of Christmas" is a great way to get into the holiday spirit, and it delivers surprises right up to the end! I highly recommend this book. It's a must-have for your personal library, and it would also make a great Christmas gift for your friends, family and (of course!) the cat lovers in your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A real treat to get you in the holiday mood!

    As a Sheila Roberts fan who has read all of her novels, her newest holiday release does not disappoint. Though I loved last holiday season's release (Snow Globe) this novel was especially a treat for a cat lover who also happens to be married to a firefighter, the occupation of the novel's hero. Not only does Roberts perfectly portray the life of a firefighter, but she manages to pull off Ambrose the cat's point of view making his thoughts believable and funny as well. Merilee is the girl next door you can't help but like with her sweet personality and love for all creatures. When Ambrose finds himself on his ninth life, he begins to plan and scheme on how to get this wounded firefighter and love shy pet store clerk together - as well as get himself another life. The Nine Lives of Christmas is a great read to get you in the mood or a great way to wind down after a day of holiday shopping. In fact, forget the holiday shopping and just order a copy for everyone on your list...cat lovers and book lovers alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Live To Read

    This was an incredibly sweet novel that is perfect for Christmas. Ambrose is a cat. He is a cat who needs to earn his ninth life. He sees his chance in Zach, a man in need of help with relationships. Merilee is Ambrose's choice for Zach, the reader will likely approve of this choice as well. The book really takes off from there.


    The reader will be entertained. Ambrose is funny and slightly remniscent of Garfield. Zach is likable and Merilee does seem to be the perfect girl for him. The reader will enjoy watching their relationship grow. The events were fast-paced and always had a sweet tinge to them. The ending was perfect for this novel, wouldn't want a thing changed. This book is recommended for teen/young adult/adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2