Customer Reviews for

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (Love by Numbers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Will make readers want to write their own list of adventures

It's Lady Calpurnia Hartwell's debut evening into the lion's den of high-muckety-muck English society. Calpurnia is a young woman who has played by the rules all her life; absolutely no one can find a single fault in her aristocratic frame. In fact, she reminds most peo...
It's Lady Calpurnia Hartwell's debut evening into the lion's den of high-muckety-muck English society. Calpurnia is a young woman who has played by the rules all her life; absolutely no one can find a single fault in her aristocratic frame. In fact, she reminds most people of the real Calpurnia - Empress of Rome - who turned out to be stronger and smarter than any of the men who surrounded her. So what would stop the young Calpurnia from being inundated with a mess of suitors? Unfortunately, she's a real woman, not a slender reed swaying in the wind. In addition, her mother, the Countess of Allendale, dresses her up in absolutely ridiculous clothing, and the only suitors who surround her are fortune hunters and old men with creepy looks on their faces.

At the debut, Calpurnia runs away from the vat of hopelessly improper suitors and races into the garden, where she finds herself in the company of the King of Rakes - Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston. From that moment in time, everything in Calpurnia's life begins to change. She's tired of being passive, especially when her younger sister Marianna - the Allendale Angel - announces her forthcoming marriage. Calpurnia is immediately thrust into the role of family spinster, and confides in her beloved brother, Benedick, that she wants much more out of life. Her brother loves her with all his heart, and tells her to throw out her lace cap and have some sort of adventure (within reason). Calpurnia takes things one step further and makes a list of all she wants to do including; fencing; attending a duel; firing a pistol; and, smoking a cheroot. However, the most important thing on her list is to kiss someone passionately. She's been a lady on the throne of propriety for far too long, and wants to see how the "other half" lives.

Ralston, for his part, is her intended "kissee;" and a deal is struck between them. If Ralston helps Calpurnia with her list than, in return, Calpurnia must teach his newly-arrived sister how to act and speak correctly in London society. As they work together to make Ralston's sister's debut a sparkling success, Ralston also works on aiding Calpurnia with her "list" of needs that could land the poor woman in the gutter. After all, Ralston is the biggest rake in town, so he should know all the "ins" and "outs" of getting around the rules of the ton.

For all readers, this is truly a book filled with fun and frivolity. Yes, the romance is extremely well-written and does Avon Historicals proud. But the witty conversations, and the ridiculous moments that Calpurnia finds herself wrapped up in, keep the story fast-paced and extremely fun to read.

Quill Says: To understand and love a rake.become one. Calpurnia's strong will and Ralston's protective nature will make readers run for pen and paper to start their very own list of adventures.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

entertaining but

Awkward writing ruined it for me

posted by 17543825 on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Will make readers want to write their own list of adventures

    It's Lady Calpurnia Hartwell's debut evening into the lion's den of high-muckety-muck English society. Calpurnia is a young woman who has played by the rules all her life; absolutely no one can find a single fault in her aristocratic frame. In fact, she reminds most people of the real Calpurnia - Empress of Rome - who turned out to be stronger and smarter than any of the men who surrounded her. So what would stop the young Calpurnia from being inundated with a mess of suitors? Unfortunately, she's a real woman, not a slender reed swaying in the wind. In addition, her mother, the Countess of Allendale, dresses her up in absolutely ridiculous clothing, and the only suitors who surround her are fortune hunters and old men with creepy looks on their faces.

    At the debut, Calpurnia runs away from the vat of hopelessly improper suitors and races into the garden, where she finds herself in the company of the King of Rakes - Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston. From that moment in time, everything in Calpurnia's life begins to change. She's tired of being passive, especially when her younger sister Marianna - the Allendale Angel - announces her forthcoming marriage. Calpurnia is immediately thrust into the role of family spinster, and confides in her beloved brother, Benedick, that she wants much more out of life. Her brother loves her with all his heart, and tells her to throw out her lace cap and have some sort of adventure (within reason). Calpurnia takes things one step further and makes a list of all she wants to do including; fencing; attending a duel; firing a pistol; and, smoking a cheroot. However, the most important thing on her list is to kiss someone passionately. She's been a lady on the throne of propriety for far too long, and wants to see how the "other half" lives.

    Ralston, for his part, is her intended "kissee;" and a deal is struck between them. If Ralston helps Calpurnia with her list than, in return, Calpurnia must teach his newly-arrived sister how to act and speak correctly in London society. As they work together to make Ralston's sister's debut a sparkling success, Ralston also works on aiding Calpurnia with her "list" of needs that could land the poor woman in the gutter. After all, Ralston is the biggest rake in town, so he should know all the "ins" and "outs" of getting around the rules of the ton.

    For all readers, this is truly a book filled with fun and frivolity. Yes, the romance is extremely well-written and does Avon Historicals proud. But the witty conversations, and the ridiculous moments that Calpurnia finds herself wrapped up in, keep the story fast-paced and extremely fun to read.

    Quill Says: To understand and love a rake.become one. Calpurnia's strong will and Ralston's protective nature will make readers run for pen and paper to start their very own list of adventures.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Delicious Fun

    Even though I'm not a romance reader on the whole, I really loved this book. If you read Sarah MacLean's The Season, you know she's all about strong, smart heroines- and in 9 Rules, Callie is no different.

    Society says she's been put on the shelf, destined to be a spinster. Callie, however, has other plans- which include gambling at the gentleman's club, getting involved in a duel, and kissing Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston. As you might imagine, this causes more than couple problems for Callie, and everyone else!

    This book is witty, sexy and just plain fun to read. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wild, fun over the top of Big Ben Regency romance

    In 1823 after a lifetime of rejection and embarrassment except for those after her wealth, twenty-eight year old Lady Calpurnia Hartwell wants more out of life than being a prim and proper wallflower. However, she rejects those wastrels interested in her fortune not her. Still Callie seeks action and adventure so draws up a list of nine things prohibited for a lady of the Ton.

    Callie needs a hero to help her complete her taboo list. She selects Marquess Gabriel St. John, whom she has always wanted. He is fascinating by her brazen change, but accepts the terms of escorting her through life on the edge if she sponsors his out of control half-sister. Neither expected to fall in love especially him; but when they do and he compromise her and then demands she marry him. However Callie hesitates as she will only marry for love.

    This is a wild, fun over the top of Big Ben Regency romance that will have readers smiling all the way through the completion of the list (Sarah MacLean must watch MLB network with Callie's nine best rule breakers). Whereas she makes the tale, Gabriel falls in love with her while wondering whether he will survive her chosen nine. Fast-paced and amusing, fans will appreciate the charming wallflower's Nine Rules to break When Romancing a Rake.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun, exciting read.

    In 1823, after a lifetime of rejection and embarrassment except for those after her wealth, twenty-eight year old Lady Hartwell wants something more meaningful out of life. She seeks draws up a list of nine things prohibited for a lady. Gabriel falls in love with her while wondering whether he will survive her chosen nine. A fun and exciting read. Nothing too deep, however.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    I enjoyed the dialogue and relationship between the romantic couple. It was pretty predictable but enjoyable for a light quick read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    A fun and steamy romance!

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book and I will be keeping my eye out for more offerings from Sarah MacLean.

    Callie and Ralston are great together. Callie is trying to seize the day because she on the shelf - so why not? Ralston is an alpha-make rake who is slowly but surely being wound around Callie's little finger - without her even meaning to. I enjoyed the scrapes she got into, the way he reluctantly helped her out of each one and the liaisons that invariably erupted from them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    I have a new favorite author!

    I love this book! I love the story. I love the characters! I'm sold! Callie is my new hero!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    GREAT READ!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I couldn't put it down. Thank goodness for lazy Sundays because I finished it all in one day!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I won't get into the plot details, but the male and female leads were well-rounded and likable. It was fun and sexy but also touching. Predictable? Of course! It's a romance, BUT it's still a wonderful romance :) I'd buy it again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i could not put it down!

    Sarah MacLean really knows how to make her characters come to life! i just can't wait to read her next book (which isn't even out yet)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I ADORED this book!

    I read a lot of historical romance books (3-4 a month at least) and this book was the best I have read in a LONG time. I am not normally one for Spinster story lines, however everything else about the book totally drew me in. The plot, the characters and the dialog were near perfect. I loved how wicked Ralston was and yet, he would become so undone by Callie. I bought this book last night, stayed up the entire night reading it, and then re-read passages with Ralston and Callie. I laughed, I cried, and I sighed. Thank you, Sarah MacLean for a wonderful read. You now join Julia Quinn, Lisa Kleypas and Suzanne Enoch on my auto-buy list!

    PS. I know they are already engaged (at the story of this book)...but I would LOVE to see Mariana and her Duke's story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    wonderfully entertaining - can't wait for the whole series to co

    wonderfully entertaining - can't wait for the whole series to come out....if you like this you'll love the others from Sarah MacLean. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    entertaining but

    Awkward writing ruined it for me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Love it!! Loved it!! Loved it....I couldn't put it down. I was u

    Love it!! Loved it!! Loved it....I couldn't put it down. I was up all night reading this book and paid for it the in the morning  because I had to work.
    That's how good this book was. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Kept my interest

    Very good romantic history. Love this kind of book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    One of my favorite historical romances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Awesome book! I applaud Callie for not letting anyone or anythin

    Awesome book! I applaud Callie for not letting anyone or anything stop her from fulfilling her list and living the life she chooses when women were not allowed to. Ralston was the perfect guy for her and their adventures together are hilarious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Great

    Surprisingly good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Amazing!

    Such a wonderful story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!

    This book was an amazing read from start to finish!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18