Customer Reviews for

Nine Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Nine Stories

    This book is amazing. Especially how jd salinger incorporates all the buddhist themes in it. Thats not the only thing that makes this book great though, its the familiarity of it all. When I read any of J.d Salinger's stories I feel like Im having de ja vu or something. The name nine stories also relates to the saying that cats have nine lives. If anyone is familiar with the Glass family, Seymore brings up the fact that he would like to be a dead cat. (Relates to reincarnation too). He's a genius and i recommend this book to anyone who's willing to take a closer look.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    i loved it, but i didn't get it

    i really like nine stories, but i dont think i understood the deeper meanings. I loved A Perfect Day For Bananafish and Teddy. Everyone should read it, because its good stuff.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    One Of A Kind

    This may be the best collection of short stories ever written--and I have read many collections. While not everyone will understand all the stories on a first reading, each story will become more and more clear upon additional readings. In fact, that is one mark of good writing: Is it an onion?--i.e., can it be read again (and again) revealing layers of meaning and insight. Salinger's Nine Stories are full of layers and real people. Both the stories and the people will become unforgettable. A masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Zen Master

    The collection is directed by the Zen Koan 'What is the sound of one hand clapping' and for those fond of Oriental philosophy, this work uncovers the answer in each story. For those who come to this work by way of 'Cather In the Rye' you will not be disappointed. It has something for everybody. Unlike 'Franny and Zooey', which isolates readers with its ideology, the stories in this collection are magical and poignant. My favorite in the collection is 'Teddy' but 'A Perfect Day for Bannanafish' is another great one. I came to this work to find more out about the Glass Family and their relatives, but what I got was so much more. I dare anyone to read 'For Esme -- With Love and Squalor,' and not walk away with a better understanding of the movie 'Lost in Translation.' Salinger's work here is astounding, whther you want to dig deep into philosophy or just get invloved with great narratives. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    A page-turner

    Nine Stories kept me turning pages all night through. It is an enjoyable collection to read. Salinger emerged as witty, penetrating, humurous and very knowing. He is a fresh breath of to short story writing.Short stories by Chekhov, The Usurper and Other Stories, Runaway,Union Moujik stand on my shelves as fine and hilarious short story collections to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Fantstic

    When i finished CITR, by JD S, I NEEDED to read more of his work, seriously i think the next day i went to borders, and bought nine stories, and raise high the roof..etc. Great writer.I didnt like the laughing so much though, but the first story i was like WHHAAAT?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Perfect Short Story Collection.

    This is a terrific read for any Salinger fan or anyone that loves the art of the short story in general. Some stories are likely to hit different readers in unique ways but rest assured there is something for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    A page-turner

    Nine Stories kept me turning pages all night through. It is an enjoyable collection to read. Salinger emerged as witty, penetrating, humurous and very knowing. He is a fresh breath of to short story writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    Zenlike Stories

    Seven of these stories are genuine masterpieces of modern fiction. They have mysterious twists at the end, like the sudden flash of Zen insight called satori. Superb dialogue makes the characters come to life with a stunning reality. The most poignant story is 'For Esme -- With Love and Squalor,' but I also love the many-layered 'Pretty Mouth And Green My Eyes' and the hilarious brother in 'Just Before The War With The Eskimos.' Salinger captured the nuances of speech and outlook of a whole generation better than any other short story writer I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Excellent collection of short stories!

    I loved all the stories in this collection. My favorite by far was A Perfect Day for Bananafish. If you like Salinger's writing, then you have to read this! It is truly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    You will really want to hear about it

    This is vintage Salinger much of the best he has ever written. The great Salinger colloquial dialogue is wonderful here before it becomes a bit too mannered in the later stories. There are a number of classic stories here but my feeling is that the best of all is 'From Esme: with Love and Squalor'.arguably the finest story Salinger has ever written. Having known these stories fairly early in my life and having reread them periodically with the years I am surprised at how the Salinger style and special way of seeing the world impresses and moves even when there is that question of it all being too precious at times. These stories are easy to love and easy to enjoy. I look forward to reading them, or some of them yet again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    short stories with meaning

    as a big salinger fan i really enjoyed this collection of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    truly remarkable

    This was simply a truly remarkable book. Salinger secured himself top author honors in my mind with this book which I read after Catcher in the Rye. The stories are witty, humurous, sincere and genius all in one. I highly recommend these nine stories but in particular A Perfect Day for Bananafish and The Laughing Man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    The best collection ever published

    This book (and the others from the Glass family series) changed my life. Life has never made so much sense before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    wonderful collection of short stories

    I absolutely loved this book. It is has interesting imagery and symbolism, yet the most intriguing concept is his use of Zen idealogy in common, middle class America. Very captivating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    So touching yet real

    This is the first bit by Salinger that I've read and I adored it! Salinger has an amazing talent by which he can convey incredibly real, unsentimentally written characters and situations. A wonderful thing about his writing is that he doesn't put his own judgements into his stories the way many people do, making them more like life. It really feels as though you're peering into a frame of the characters' lives. My personal favorites were 'To Esme-With love and squalor,' 'The Laughing Man,' and 'A Perfect day for Bananafish,' but I recommend people read all of them. I hope this is helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2001

    Another one of Salinger's best :-)

    i love this book! although i'm just under 15, i can totally understand his themes as he puts them in such strange situations. With this great collection of stories, I am enlightened by Salinger's works - again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    To the last reviewer

    Perhaps you didn't enjoy this book because you are to young. Reread it in a few years, and you will see it in a new light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    dialogue-- it's what's for dinner

    Did you read a story be a writer who would just go on and on about narrative? Salinger is great because of his use of dialogue in anything I've read by him. That's where a good story is at- in the dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    You really have to read this collection.

    Alright, I really don't know what to say, except 'Read this collection!'. It will really get your mind working. The situations pictured in this book are 'wierd' situations to some extent... But I'd call them authentic rather than wierd. One suggestion, though. If you're under 13, don't read this book. You will not understand it, and you will probably not read it again when you're older. So if you really want to enjoy this book, wait till you're 13 at the very least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3