Customer Reviews for

The Nine Tailors

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Very satisfying!

    This is a great read all by itself so you don't have to have read any Lord Peter before. The problem is engaging, the people real. You want to be along for the trip. I find it the most satisfying of all the Lord Peter books. It stands by itself. The reviews for all the Lord Peter works are pretty good and this one is no different. I noticed someone saying that the author was trying to hard to be literature. Frankly, this is literature. It is also a very rewarding mystery from the Golden Age of British mystery. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    It seems you can hear the bells ringing when you read this

    I enjoyed this book for several reasons. First, Peter Wimsey is at his best and it seemed appropriate that he'd know how to do change ringing of church bells. I knew nothing about it and had fun looking up how it works. It takes real concentration and focus to do it for hours like they did in the beginning of the book. Second, I was unfamilar with the setting of the Lincolnshire area of the England and was able to learn more about the flooding and drainage issues that provided some of the book's action. Finally, I thought I knew how the victim died early on in my reading although I didn't think it could be that simple. It was believable to me that it took a while for the characters in the book to determine what happened because no one would think about doing it that way.

    All in all an enjoyable read. I like to re-read books and this one is definitely one I'd read again in a few years. Glad it's in my library now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Yet another wonderful contribution from DLS

    In my opinion, Dorothy Leigh Sayers is the best mystery novelist ever. (Christie, on the other hand, is only a mystery _writer_.) Considered by many to be the best Lord Peter book ever. I enjoyed it, thoroughly. The plot is carefully done, and Lord Peter Wimsey is his usual ferociously enjoyable self. Read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    A well sewn mystery

    I enjoy Dorothy Sayers as a writer and to me this is one of her best mysteries, lots of ups and downs and much information on bell ringing in Great Britain. A great mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    Highly Recommended, Read and Enjoy!

    Lord Peter Wimsey and Bunter find themselves in East Anglia after a car accident, one New Year's Eve. They are taken in by the Rector of Fenchurch St. Stephans, and spend the New Year ringing bells. Six months later, a mystery arises and Lord Peter is on the case. One of Dorothy Sayers' more intriging mysteries, and a very good read. Lots of interesting characters and situations. Highly Reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Reread all my sayers but confess

    I skip all the bell ringing notations etc dislike bell ringing and that includes hand bells. Sayers vicars are often the same what i have finally caught on that as a state religion the parish was supported by taxing the landowners and the biggest tax payer plus separate donations could appoint his choice to the post? Chapel and catholic were on their own. Really should look this up . the historical is iin their modern setting now years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Superb, A Must Read

    Just as great now as when I read it for the first time. Superior detective story from one of the greats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lord Peter Wimsey, possibly at his best

    I've read several others of the Lord Peter Wimsey canon by Dorothy L. Sayers, but none have satisfied me as much as "The Nine Tailors." Perhaps it is because there doesn't seem to be an in-between on this book; you either love it for life, or dismiss it as inaccurate fluff. There is much debate on whether a person could be killed in the manner described in the denouement. But I believe the characterizations are superb; and, though I could wish for more of Bunter, a greater gentleman's gentleman than Jeeves, I generally find this book excellent.

    In brief, Lord Peter and Bunter are stranded in the small village of Fenchurch St. Paul when their car breaks down. Four months or so, a body is dug up in a grave that is being opened for the husband of a woman who had died while Wimsey was in the area. Wimsey and Bunter may have seen deceased on their way out of Fenchurch, and get called into the case to determine the man's identity, and how he was killed. The entire matter seems to be mixed up with the theft some 20 years before of a valuable emerald necklace, as well as with the bells of the village church, which figure prominently throughout the book. More twists and turns are found here than on a mountainside switchback. The identity of the corpse will surprise, as will the way in which deceased met the end.

    The sections on change ringing may be hard to understand for someone not used to the English method of ringing "music" on church bells. You can consult the Wikipedia article on the subject; however, much more can be said about this than will fit in a Wikipedia article. I would suggest "Change Ringing: The Art and Science of Change Ringing on Church and Hand Bells" by Wilfrid G. Wilson. It has some easier chapters before you get into the heavy work, and the terminology explained will help clarify some of what is going on in "The Nine Tailors." (Wilson's book does not appear to be available from Barnes & Noble. Try your local library.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1