Customer Reviews for

Ninth Grade Slays (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(366)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Hunting Being the Hunted

Vladimir Tod is a great series that goes through the average teenage life that a normal ninth grader goes through. except for the trip to Siberia and his mind reading powers or the fact that hes half vampire living with his loving aunt. the drinking blood from the hospi...
Vladimir Tod is a great series that goes through the average teenage life that a normal ninth grader goes through. except for the trip to Siberia and his mind reading powers or the fact that hes half vampire living with his loving aunt. the drinking blood from the hospital's blood bank that his aunt is a nurse at probable isn't normal either. His life is put in danger when a vampire slayer stalks him and mr. otis is on the run. An excellent read for any YA.

posted by mutekid016 on January 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vlad rules!!

Thought first book was a little slow. Can feel train ride picking up speed.

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ninth Grade Slays!!!!!

    Full of sarcasm, humor, action, mystery, and vampires, this book has something for everybody!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vlad I love you!

    My heart breaks for all the loss that Vlad has experienced at such a young age. In Ninth Grade Slays Vlad starts his first year of high school. While four years have passed loosing his parents is still very present and time has not made it easier. Vlad blames himself for the death of his parents and as a result he carries so much guilt with him. So many times I wanted to reach out and hug him!

    Uncle Otis sends letters often, but hasn't visited since the last book. Vlad hopes that Otis will move to Bathory and have a relationship with his aunt Nelly. Otis makes it clear to him that his dating Nelly would be against vampire law and could not do it. In similar luck Vlad can't find the courage to tell Meredith how he feels.

    Henry, his best friend and drudge, is spending more time with the popular crew and is a little girl crazy. This creates a distance between the two and Vlad wishes Henry would make their friendship a priority. Henry's cousin Joss moves to town and he and Vlad become instant friends. Joss even saves Vlad from high school bullies.

    During winter break Otis comes to take Vlad on a trip to Russia so that he can learn more about his vampire skills. Otis doesn't mention that the man who will teach him also taught his father. Not being taught about the vampire ways Vlad doesn't feel comfortable using many of the vampire powers. While in Siberia they honor his father and Vlad grieves among vampirekind.

    With new and old enemies Vlad is finding his secret is harder to keep. I found Ninth Grade Slays to be a great book that both male and female readers will enjoy. I can't wait to read Tenth Grade Bleeds!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    liked it alot

    been about a month since i read it but i did like it and was alot better than the first one in the series, i like the new charecters onboard for this book. if you like twilight series, house of night, and our other vampire series i think you will like this one too maybe even more so cause it is a guys perspective and i think thats hot....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, easy book

    This book was easy to breeze through and kept my interest throughout. It wasn't too hard to figure out. It was fun and perfect for that quick fun read before you start that other 500 page book that will take a while.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Sequel

    This was a really great sequel to the first book. I enjoyed reading about Vlad's continued adventures.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    cool book

    i am in 6th grade and have read 2 of the books. If you like vampires it's a great book, but nothing like those twilight books. Mostly a boys book it's cool to read not boring, some gross stuff. Get it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chrpnicals of Vladimir Tod: Ninth Grade Slays!!

    The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Ninth Grade Slays by Heather Brewer is a fantasy. I thought this book was great. I liked it because it's the types of books I enjoy which are about vampires. The book is set in modern time and in a vampire training camp in Siberia.
    Vlad Tod, a 14 year old boy, who is also half vampire, must go to a training camp for vampires. He needs to learn many new skills that will equip him when he becomes older. Vlad deals with going away to training his vampire skills. He has to learn skills that he doesn't know and has to go up against some of the greatest vampires. He has to learn them fast because there's a battle brewing at home with the slayer that's been stalking him.
    Heather Brewers style is more of a darker writing, but it does have humor in it. The Story is told from Vlad's view. People who like a good vampire fantasy would like this book. It's more modern because its set in present day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Heather Brewer is a powerful writer and she conveys in her books

    Heather Brewer is a powerful writer and she conveys in her books how powerful she is. In this particular book she describes Vlad’s troubles deeply but also staying on track of the story. I felt as though I could relate to Vlad’s situations. I had a small connection with Vlad because my father died and both of his parents are not alive. Heather Brewer made it clear that Vlad was a teenager just going through the hardships of life, and added a twist of him being a vampire. She made it very easy to be able to connect with the characters in the book.
    The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Ninth Grade Slays is about a teenage vampire who has a hard time getting through high school. His name is Vladimir, but people call him Vlad. His best friend is named Henry and he is the only one who knows about Vlad being a vampire. He gets bullied, has a hard time keeping up his grades and has even more hardships outside of school when it comes to his personal life as a vampire. This book was very entertaining and I would highly recommend it to readers. While I read this book I got sad and I got happy, it was an interesting thrill ride to remember. I wasn’t satisfied until I had finished every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Sofia

    How are you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Hi hi hi hi

    Whow hey people oh um th book right it was awesome grrr sometimes i hate reading but this book was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Amazing alert

    Wow, this book blew mu mind i enjoyed it very much and i am definitly buying the next book
    Btw i read this in two days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I love this book sooooo much

    This is way better than twilight i am going to read all of them woooooooo!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Greatest Book Series Ever!!!

    THIS SERIES BY HEATHER BREWER FOLLOWS THE GREATEST STORY LINE I HAVE EVER READ. ITS THRILLING STORY PLOT HAS THE MOST CHILLS AND THRILLS SINCE HARRY POTTER'S I HAVE A KINGDOM. IT'S NEVERENDING CHARACTER SCHEME AND VAMPIRIC CALCULISIM IS A MOST INTENSIFYING EXPERIENCE. WHETHER IT'S LOVE OR REVENGE, THE SERIES IS GOING TO BE A GREAT ONE, INDEED. WITH THE MAIN CHARACTER AS VLAD THE STORY WILL BE VERY ADDICTING JUST AS THE FIRST. THE TEENAGE VAMPIRE WILL HAVE ANOTHER GREAT MYSTERY ON HIS HAND, ESPECIALLY WITH A SLAYER IN HIS HOM TOWN OF BATHORY. THE LITTLE TOWN ALREADY HAS A VAMPIRE IN IT, AND NOW A VAMPIRE SLAYER IS IN ITS RESIDENTS. ALTHOUGH THE SLAYERS IDENTITY IS HIDDEN, IT'S PRETTY OBVIOUS WHO IT IS, BUT THE ROLE PLAY OF THE CHARACTERS IS AMAZING. I ALSO THINK THAT ALL TEENS COULD LEARN A VALUABLE LESSON ABOUT THE POWER OF FRIENDSHIP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great second book! no ruts found here

    I thought this one was much better than the first. I think because there's more to the story and plenty of background information provided. Although a little predictable, (especially when it came to who was the vampire slayer in the neighborhood) it was a fun read and interesting to go through.

    What I found especially interesting is the slight cracks you see that will eventually come to the surface and quite possibly create problems for Vlad. For example; his friendship with Henry. It's good, but you notice Henry's changed a bit. He's hanging out with the popular kids more and Vlad is just on the sidelines being the observer. I'm not entirely sure if I like this change in Henry. He's such a great guy and provided the comic relief in the series. If he turns out to be a jerk I'd be sorely disappointed. Let's not forget the other vampires that are hounding Vlad down, and the vampire slayer that's out for him. It looks like Vlad is about to have a lot on his plate soon enough. This is what I liked about the story so far. There's underlying problems which are bound to explode sooner or later and this is what makes me want to continue reading the series until its' conclusion.

    I had to admit I went all mushy with Vlad and Meredith. They do make a cute couple despite Meredith being a "Barbie" (ie; always described with the color pink) which I think is the total exact opposite of what Vlad would like. Then again, I suppose it's interesting that they both like each other despite their high school "labels".

    I'm definitely looking forward to the next one in this series. The ending got me curious as to what's in store for Vlad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    not as good as first heather brewer book EIGHTH GRAADE BITES but still great

    to be honest this book did not pull me in as much as EIGHTH GRADE BITES but it is still great exspesailly when i found out joss is a ... not going to tell you so READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire thriller

    This book is the second book in a great series. 9th grade slays is about a teenager named Vlad who is a little diferent from every one else well he is a vampire. He is living a prety normal life by going to school and haning out with his friends. But everything changes when a slayer shows up in town and his job is to kill Vlad. The real problem for Vlad is when he finds out who is the slayer and after that everything just gets worse for Vlad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    A student told me...

    One of my students told me to read it.. LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    The next Dracula

    I found this series refreshing. While it does not adhere to the original legend of the vampire folklore or to the myth about Dracula or Vlad Tepes, himself, this story is fun to read, enjoyable, and I highly recommend it to advid readers of fantasy and science fiction. The main character is slow to attach with, but once he gets started the reader is well able to put themselves into the situation and see through young Vlad's eyes and feel the emotions he goes through at the loss of his mother and father. If you are a true fan of vampires and not just the gory evil versions, but that there could quite possibly be some good ones out there, then this would be a great book for you, especially for the younger generation of readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    9th Grade slays-Pretty good

    Good read, The only thing I can complain about is in the middle, in siberia, it was a little boring..... but read it fore yourself. Good plot full of surprises romance and humor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Really Good Read For Teens

    it is a thrilling book filled with twists and plot changes that are not expected. Pulls you in and makes you wnat to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5