Customer Reviews for

The Ninth Wife: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story about love and relationships.

Reality is that there is no perfect love story. It's not as simple as boy meets girl, they fall in love, and happily ever after. Sometimes, relationships and families aren't like what you see on TV, in the movies, or what you read in books. Amy Stolls told a great story...
Reality is that there is no perfect love story. It's not as simple as boy meets girl, they fall in love, and happily ever after. Sometimes, relationships and families aren't like what you see on TV, in the movies, or what you read in books. Amy Stolls told a great story of love, forgiveness, and finding out what it means to open your heart.

Bess is 35 and single. She takes karate classes to strengthen her inner self, her physical self, and hopes to obtain confidence that her instructor talks about. She is a folklorist, in love with the history and past that she longs to have. She was raised by her grandparents, lives in front of a man named Cricket and a dog named Stella, and is best friends with a very outspoken individual. She has lived her life convinced that she is not worthy of the great love that everyone seems to have experience. Stolls has written in her a way that you cannot help but feel for her.

Rory is 45 and also single. But in Rory's case, he came from Ireland and has lived all over the United States. He has had almost every job from data entry to strumming keys as a musician. He has vices, addictions, and a heart so big, you cannot help but love him. Unlike Bess, he has felt love in his life. He has felt it at least 8 times, with his 8 wives. He is compassionate, but with a great fault. He acts on what his heart feels, and whether the outcome is positive or negative, he owns up to it. And when Rory meets Bess, he wants to make her the ninth wife.

To me, this book just wasn't just about the tale of the wives, or even just about Bess and Rory. To me, this story was about the love and relationships between husband and wife, lovers, friends, family. Stolls encompasses the different levels of love between two people. She tells the stories of Rory's wives and the positives and negatives about each type of love. She tells the story of Bess, her lack of love and how she witnesses the downside of what love can do, whether it be her parents, her grandparents, or her dear friends. Stolls writes about love and these relationships in such a way that you can't help but picture yourself in one of those scenarios.

At first, I couldn't stand behind the principle of nine wives. I couldn't understand how I could grow to like a character that has gone through so much and has done so much to different women. But I am a victim of judging too early. Stolls, through Bess and Rory, has made me realize how powerful love can be. It can break you down into the depths of darkness, and it can also bring you alive in such a way that you feel you are unstoppable.

The Ninth Wife is a fantastic read. The writing style of Amy Stolls makes this story easy to relate and the characters lovable. I would suggest this to anyone who has ever felt or wanted to feel love.

posted by bookchelle on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A lot of wives.

I wasn't sure how this book would live up to the title Ninth Wife. I liked the way the author weaved in the 9 wives into the story. Also Stolls explored the grandparents and Bess's family tree along with a road trip to take her grandparents to their new home. Stolls ju...
I wasn't sure how this book would live up to the title Ninth Wife. I liked the way the author weaved in the 9 wives into the story. Also Stolls explored the grandparents and Bess's family tree along with a road trip to take her grandparents to their new home. Stolls just kept building on the information we knew dropping little surprises along the way.

posted by pen21 on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic story about love and relationships.

    Reality is that there is no perfect love story. It's not as simple as boy meets girl, they fall in love, and happily ever after. Sometimes, relationships and families aren't like what you see on TV, in the movies, or what you read in books. Amy Stolls told a great story of love, forgiveness, and finding out what it means to open your heart.

    Bess is 35 and single. She takes karate classes to strengthen her inner self, her physical self, and hopes to obtain confidence that her instructor talks about. She is a folklorist, in love with the history and past that she longs to have. She was raised by her grandparents, lives in front of a man named Cricket and a dog named Stella, and is best friends with a very outspoken individual. She has lived her life convinced that she is not worthy of the great love that everyone seems to have experience. Stolls has written in her a way that you cannot help but feel for her.

    Rory is 45 and also single. But in Rory's case, he came from Ireland and has lived all over the United States. He has had almost every job from data entry to strumming keys as a musician. He has vices, addictions, and a heart so big, you cannot help but love him. Unlike Bess, he has felt love in his life. He has felt it at least 8 times, with his 8 wives. He is compassionate, but with a great fault. He acts on what his heart feels, and whether the outcome is positive or negative, he owns up to it. And when Rory meets Bess, he wants to make her the ninth wife.

    To me, this book just wasn't just about the tale of the wives, or even just about Bess and Rory. To me, this story was about the love and relationships between husband and wife, lovers, friends, family. Stolls encompasses the different levels of love between two people. She tells the stories of Rory's wives and the positives and negatives about each type of love. She tells the story of Bess, her lack of love and how she witnesses the downside of what love can do, whether it be her parents, her grandparents, or her dear friends. Stolls writes about love and these relationships in such a way that you can't help but picture yourself in one of those scenarios.

    At first, I couldn't stand behind the principle of nine wives. I couldn't understand how I could grow to like a character that has gone through so much and has done so much to different women. But I am a victim of judging too early. Stolls, through Bess and Rory, has made me realize how powerful love can be. It can break you down into the depths of darkness, and it can also bring you alive in such a way that you feel you are unstoppable.

    The Ninth Wife is a fantastic read. The writing style of Amy Stolls makes this story easy to relate and the characters lovable. I would suggest this to anyone who has ever felt or wanted to feel love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good

    This book was very good. I couldnt put it down. The writer kept me engaged and guessing the entire book. My only complaint is that the book did end abruptly. I thought it would have been nice had it had an epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Throughly enjoyed this one. Good story.

    I thought at first that I wasn't going to like this book but very soon I was hooked. I had to find out more about Rory and his history. I loved it and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Better than I expected

    I was not sure what to expect with this book, but it was really good. I was intrigued, and each chapter brought more to the story. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ninth time's a charm?

    Bess Gray is a thirty-five-year-old, never been married before, single woman living alone in the busy city of Washington D.C. She is in love with exploring the cultures of others as the specifics surrounding her own culture remains in part a mystery. When a handsome stranger is invited to her singles only party thrown on her birthday, she finds herself in love with a man that for what may be the first time loves her back. When he asks to marry her, it seems like a dream come true, that is until she finds out that she would be his ninth wife. Now she must decide whether or not his request for her hand in marriage is truth, or fable as she embarks in a cross country adventure with a desire to seek out his other wives.

    This book was very interesting to say the least. Written in very explicit detail of every factor the reader needs to pay close attention to every chapter as everything comes together during the climax. I enjoyed the exploration of Rory and each of his wives as each story unfolded between the pages. In that, this is a very healthy book in page count, however everything for the most part had a fit. Readers should prepare to spend an investment in their time with picking up this book as it is definitely not a quick read, however it is worth the investment especially for those who enjoy reading a culturally rounded read.

    Reviewed by:
    Nikkea Smithers
    RWA Bookclub President

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for the beach

    This book is a must read for romantic fans that enjoy a variety of stories woven into one. This love story is not only about finding the right match, but about the journey of self discovery and letting go of the past. For those that live in or have visited the DC area, you will love the references to local hot spots and hang outs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1