Customer Reviews for

The Story NIV: The Bible as One Continuing Story of God and His People

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

a good start...

I've found this to help move the bible "along" for me. (It helps not to go through the begats again!) It's easy reading...easy understanding. A really good start for someone who has put off reading the bible through!

posted by Meadow13 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not an abomination.

I highly doubt that The Story was written to be a substitute for the Bible. Nothing will ever take its place. It is a supplement. Something to read in addition to Gods Word. For one it cant be used as a Holy Bible is used theres no reference guide. No books, chapters, ...
I highly doubt that The Story was written to be a substitute for the Bible. Nothing will ever take its place. It is a supplement. Something to read in addition to Gods Word. For one it cant be used as a Holy Bible is used theres no reference guide. No books, chapters, or verse indicators. The bible can be hard to understand and i think this was written as a gate to Gods Word . Start people off with something easy then get into the deep stuff. Its simply the story. As long as people understand that this is NOT the bible and just an aid to it i dont see what the problem is.

posted by 4702753 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    a good start...

    I've found this to help move the bible "along" for me. (It helps not to go through the begats again!) It's easy reading...easy understanding. A really good start for someone who has put off reading the bible through!

    37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Excellent!

    Written like a novel and very interesting and easy to understand. Highly recommend!

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Not an abomination.

    I highly doubt that The Story was written to be a substitute for the Bible. Nothing will ever take its place. It is a supplement. Something to read in addition to Gods Word. For one it cant be used as a Holy Bible is used theres no reference guide. No books, chapters, or verse indicators. The bible can be hard to understand and i think this was written as a gate to Gods Word . Start people off with something easy then get into the deep stuff. Its simply the story. As long as people understand that this is NOT the bible and just an aid to it i dont see what the problem is.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Great option

    This is a great way to read the Bible. It's basically the short version in novel format. It hits all the highlights and most important stories, leaving out the parts that turn people off from reading the Bible (begat, begat, begat). Definitely recommend.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lives up to it's title.

    This is great, gets through the main facts in each chapter. Covers the Bible in 6mos. We are using it along with our bible study at church.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    quick easy way to get the complete stories in the Bible from Genesis to Revelations.

    our whole church is going through this study of the Bible chapter by chapter and includes the kids with versions of "The Story" written especially for different ages. It's a book thats easy to read and interesting enough to re-read.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    This is a wonderful way to go through the story of the Bible. I

    This is a wonderful way to go through the story of the Bible. Its not meant to be or replace the Bible. It is an easy read. If you want an even easier read, get The Heart of The Story. Im reading them together and am getting a whole new level of understanding.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I definately recommend this book. It is enlightning in many ways.

    I am not done reading the book but about one third the way through it. I love the fact that it is written in sequence of time and it starts tieing things together that I had not noticed before. I know what the different books of the Bible say but many times never tied the persons being mentioned together, so it is great to see the individuals in a more complete light of their life and influence and relationship to God.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    amazing

    I could not put this book down, except to actually look up things in the bible.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Absolutely Amazing!!!!!

    I definitely will be reading this again!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Our church is doing "The Story" for its study classes.

    Our church is doing "The Story" for its study classes. I love the book it is easy to read and follow. It has a great DVD that goes along with the book. You do have to remember though it is an overview of the bible.
    It was written so it is easier to read the Bible. If you are not using the DVD that goes with the book you are missing out on the Study.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!

    Love this book such a good book!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    A Great Narrative!

    I love the flow of this narrative version of the Word. This would be a great first Bible for new believers or youth.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    An easy read! Great for anyone new to the faith, or interested to know about bible narratives.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The story

    It was really good!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I am continually trying to understand and learn the Word and connect with the Spirit and God. The Story was introduced to me at my church as the minister used it as a learning tool for sermon. It's a great way to read about the Old Testament in more laymen terms.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    A bit disappointing

    I really wanted to like this. Many of my favorite passages were watered down. However, as a quick overview it was ok. I especially enjoyed the 1 st part of the New Testament and found most of the Old to be tedious. Therefore the 3 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Sounds good

    Hey to all those who are hating, i havent noticed that many christian books with daily deals. And any way, whats wrong with christian books? Okay. Maybe there are a lot of cheesy christian books, but there are even more boring and badly written vampire romances out there. Though why anone would read them is beyond me. This book looks good. Btw, why r all of these christians hating too? I like when people make the Bible easier to understand. Whats so bad about simplifying it a bit?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Good Christian reading

    It is the story. Not all perfect but a good start. To be followed by the Gospel. It will get you over some difficult to understand areas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Great read!

    Easy to read and sheds a little light on some hard to understand passages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7