Customer Reviews for

NLT Study Bible

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Exactly what I was looking for, and more

I'll keep this review short and sweet, this is a truly amazing Bible. I was getting in a rut as far as my devotions and Bible reading were going, and I wanted to get a Bible that would be easier to read and understand. The NLT Study Bible is all that and more. The on...
I'll keep this review short and sweet, this is a truly amazing Bible. I was getting in a rut as far as my devotions and Bible reading were going, and I wanted to get a Bible that would be easier to read and understand. The NLT Study Bible is all that and more. The only negatives I have seen with it are the thin pages and small print, other than those minor issues the content itself is great. Not only do you get God's Word in an easy-to-understand translation, you also get notes on just about every verse, timelines, maps, book intros, and various study notes throughout. If you want to take a step forward in your relationship with Christ, this Bible definitely can't hurt.

posted by 2491704 on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

While I love this bible as a hard back, it does not work on an i

While I love this bible as a hard back, it does not work on an iPad DOES NOT WORK ON IPAD. IT IS FINE ON MY NOOK.

posted by Schmangy on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Exactly what I was looking for, and more

    I'll keep this review short and sweet, this is a truly amazing Bible. I was getting in a rut as far as my devotions and Bible reading were going, and I wanted to get a Bible that would be easier to read and understand. The NLT Study Bible is all that and more. The only negatives I have seen with it are the thin pages and small print, other than those minor issues the content itself is great. Not only do you get God's Word in an easy-to-understand translation, you also get notes on just about every verse, timelines, maps, book intros, and various study notes throughout. If you want to take a step forward in your relationship with Christ, this Bible definitely can't hurt.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Love this Bible version!

    I already have various translations of the Bible but I wanted one for my Nook Color. This is much more then I thought it would be. So many helps, maps, and commentaries. So happy I bought this Bible.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great Study Bible

    I enjoy this Bible, and having the freedom to find things quickly, get explanations and it is easy to search. I am reading with my 5-year old on the Nook, and it works great.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Amazing book

    This version makes reading the Bible a much more meaningful and enjoyable experience

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I read it the most

    Very easy to navigate. Study helps very good and explain subjects in understandable language.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    :)

    !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As a blogger I have had the opportunity to review a number of bi

    As a blogger I have had the opportunity to review a number of bibles and bible translations. As a believer I read the bible because it is the word of God. The NLT translation by Tyndale is an easy to read and faithful version. The Tyndale themed bibles are a perfect outreach for larger audiences.The NKJV as well as other more literal translations- such as the KJV, NASB, NRSV and ESV tend to be overly literal to the point of being difficult to understand. This is especially evident in the Psalms, and other old testament books as well as the letters in the New Testament. The N LT is a more user friendly version for this themed bible would be more appropriate for today's readers.


    .


    The more literal translations are accurate and trustworthy- great for theologens and scholars and seminary students- in contrast to a paraphrase such the Message which is far, far less literal -to the point of being comedic. As far as a translations for the rest of us- who aren't theologens- as well as new believers, I believe there are perhaps better, more easy to read choices available between in the mid point of the translation spectrum. Sometimes I feel pride is an issue, and that there are some individuals in Church and elsewhere who simply feel smarter and more intelligent when they carry around a NKJV, KJV or ESV. This is nothing more than biblical snobbery. There are many who feel the NIV, the HCSB/ CSB, NLT and other such translations are beneath them. I used to feel that way until I did my own bible studies comparing the texts of passages side by side and saw for myself that modern translations do not obscure or change the meaning. In contrast, the modern translations are enlightening.




    Difficult to read versions such as the Old King James - though very well written and poetic- in a Shakespearian sort of way, do a disservice to the modern or new bible reader. The antique language is difficult for many in this day to understand on their own and makes it prohibitive for many to understand the truths of the bible. Having known many readers of the KJV, who do not even understand the meaning of what they read- indicates that this is not the best translation for those who really seek to know God's word. What is the point of a bible after all if you can not even undertsand it? For those new to the bible or for those who have a difficult to read translation such as the King James Version, who wish to read the bible and actually understand it, I would suggest one of the bible versions with more modern/ contemporary language. While the NKJV is relatively easy to read, it may present a challange to the literacy level of many modern adults. What really seems ironic is when the NKJV, ESV or KJV is printed as a children's bible! When I see this, I can only wonder what child on his or her own can actually read and get anything from it. This is a great diservice to a child- when a child is presented with a bible in archaic English in a tiny text font. I feel that publishers and even parents need to take time to consider visually what a child or teenager will understand when being presented with the bible. There are a number of very good youth bibles and study bibles full of colorful graphics such as the NLB themed study bible, and magazine style bibles in the NCV version which are sure to appeal to younger readers and new bible readers. The NIV and HCSB also have a number study and student bibles too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    At first I was reluctant to trust the NLT because it is so easy

    At first I was reluctant to trust the NLT because it is so easy to read I assumed it could not be that accurate. I have mostly used the KJV, and NASB for a literal version in my studies and mainly a NIV for a dynamic version although referring to the NET often. Although, when I started putting the NKJV, NIV, ESV, NLT side by side on my LOGOS bible program and reading all 4 as I go along I was quite surprised by starting to see the NLT is accurate, it is just saying it in a much easier to immediately understand without much thought or looking up the Greek or Hebrew original. Yes I am quite surprised. They have done an excellent job! The more I read it along side these other main versions of mine the more I consider making it my main version to my chagrin. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a excellent, reliable resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Excellent resource

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Out standing bible to just read and it also a great bible to study the scriptures. Has many good references through out this Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very good.

    Easy to use. Helpful in devotions and preaching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2