BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

No Angel

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC SAGA!!

If you enjoy family saga's, you should really enjoy this book. Celia, the main character is facinating. The other characters are interesting and have depth. I have not enjoyed a family saga like this in years. Yes, it is quite a large book - 600 plus pages, but it's...
If you enjoy family saga's, you should really enjoy this book. Celia, the main character is facinating. The other characters are interesting and have depth. I have not enjoyed a family saga like this in years. Yes, it is quite a large book - 600 plus pages, but it's like a good movie that is twice as long as the normal movie; you just don't realize the length because it is just so captivating. When I was not reading the book, I found myself wondering about what was going to happen next. I finished this book and am already into the second of the trilogy - Something Dangerous. I am new to this author and so glad to have found her. I highly recommend this book; especially if you like a great family saga!

posted by Bentley16 on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Audio or ebook?

Is this theaudio version or an actual ebook?

posted by moonmatrix on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    FANTASTIC SAGA!!

    If you enjoy family saga's, you should really enjoy this book. Celia, the main character is facinating. The other characters are interesting and have depth. I have not enjoyed a family saga like this in years. Yes, it is quite a large book - 600 plus pages, but it's like a good movie that is twice as long as the normal movie; you just don't realize the length because it is just so captivating. When I was not reading the book, I found myself wondering about what was going to happen next. I finished this book and am already into the second of the trilogy - Something Dangerous. I am new to this author and so glad to have found her. I highly recommend this book; especially if you like a great family saga!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ

    THIS BOOK WAS A GREAT READ - DID NOT WANT IT TO END
    EXCELLENT AUTHOR

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A juicey storry

    In the decade before WW I, aristocrat Celia meets Oliver Lytton, member of a giant publishing family. Though her family objects that his status is beneath her, Celia comprehends the changing early twentieth century world; she maneuvers her weak beau into marriage. When he goes off for war, she takes over the family business taking her sister-in-law as her only ally to the top with her.<P> Celia and Oliver have three children. The two daughters are as spoiled and selfish as their mom while the son is a chip off the old fatherly block being as weak as Oliver is. She also adopts a daughter of an impoverished friend, but when author Sebastian Brooke enters her life, Celia must decide what she rally wants and at what price.<P> This family saga, reminiscent of the works of Barbara Taylor Bradford, highlights much of the first few decades of the twentieth century and fully belongs to the heroine who is NO ANGEL. The story line focuses on the impact of Celia¿s ambition and drive on anyone who lands in her ever-widening circle of influence. Though chapters seem a bit extended, fans of insightful historical dramas that center on people and families will enjoy Penny Vincenzi¿s powerful tale.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Audio or ebook?

    Is this theaudio version or an actual ebook?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Delight

    Glad it is a 3 book series!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    A Page Turner!

    When I saw the three books in this series advertised, I thought I would either love them or hate them! I LOVED them!!! The Lytton family comes up with one surprise after another! Thank you Penny Vincenzi and thank you BN for calling my attention to them in one of your ads! A great read - by the fireplace on a cold day (or many cold days)! Don't let the size of the books deter you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Another of my WOW! books

    No Angel is a book I s stumbled into. What a lucky stumble. I live in the Midwest and we are seriously into winter as I write. This is THE perfect book to snuggle into a comforter with and enjoy the read and the trip with the Lytton family. Or, it is a book just made for summer, heat, and the beach. Wonderfully long, you enter the world of this English family and all those who enter their lives. Why haven't I found this author before? No matter. I am going to seek out her other works. It is a page-turner in the manner of Gone With The Wind and Ladies Of The Club. Thanks so much Penny V. for this glimpse of England in the late 1890s and beyond, and the people who made up the class structures and the changes that came into English society. Get this one? Oh, yes! Read this one? Absolutely!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Great read for an anglophile!

    Penny Vincenzi's first book in this saga depicts life in a bygone England. The strong, idiosyncratic characters and well written storyline are reminiscent of Galsworthy, Delderfield and, more recently, the brilliant Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet family series. An entertaining and satisfying read that whets the appetite for the sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Amazing

    I usually stick with murder mysteries, and wasn't sure that I would be able to get into this book. Once I started, I couldn' put it down. The Lytton family becomes so real. I've already read Something Dangerous, and Into Temptation. The second and third book for this trilogy, and I must say Penny Vincenzi does not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    Very Superb Read

    I read this book a couple of years ago in london... and i loved it. i actually got hooked on this one and started reading her others. i now have almost every penny vincenzi book she's written and they are all excellent. the next in this series is also very good and full of unexpected twists and turns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Love Penny !

    I don't know what I'll do when I am finished reading all of her books!
    I have read at least 8 and just love the characters. They stay with me for a while .......Especially the No Angel Trilogy.
    Keep writing Penny !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I rated this five stars in retrospect; wanted to finish the whol

    I rated this five stars in retrospect; wanted to finish the whole trilogy before giving my opinion.  Five stars not because this is great literature but because it was so much fun to read.  You will not be disappointed with the story of Celia and her family.  History background was wonderful; I cannot remember the last time I lost myself in a family saga like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I loved this trilogy. However, it was ironic that the story was

    I loved this trilogy. However, it was ironic that the story was about a family in publishing and there were so many editing/grammatical mistakes thoughout the 3 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Saphire

    "I love you too baby" her p ussy throbs.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This trilogy was one of the best I have ever read--Comparing it

    This trilogy was one of the best I have ever read--Comparing it with Adler-Archer and Bradford--I think she might come out ahead. Only one problem with this--Each book is about 800 pages--I spent one week reading all of them. I almost could not stop and do anything else until the last word was read. Don't miss this. I am now going on to some of her other works. I hope they are equal--certainly couldnt be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    very good

    Very good. I really enjoyed it. Looking forward to her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised

    I had a hard time connecting with the book in the beginning. I stuck with it, and I am glad I did. The novel was not perfect, but had some very good characters. I enjoyed reading about the publishing industry. I wasn't sure if I hated the main character or accepted her despite her flaws. Some of the lesser characters were terrific, including Celia's mother and LM. This is my first Vincenzi book, but not the last. I look forward to reading the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Have not read it yet, sorry.

    See above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Addicting!

    If you like historical fiction, this first book in a trilogy leads you through the lives of a powerful British family before WWI. Absolutely fascinating. I read all three books in a row, unable to put them down,not wanting them to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you are a fan of Downton Abbey, you must read this book. I couldn't put it down. It was riveting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3