Customer Reviews for

No Choice but Seduction (Malory Family Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it !!!

I must agree...the book didnt focus on Boyed and Katey and their love story as much BUT I loved the book and all the surprises it had :) If you like the Malory's, you'll love this book. There is a lot of Anthony and James in and it is hillarious!!I could not put the boo...
I must agree...the book didnt focus on Boyed and Katey and their love story as much BUT I loved the book and all the surprises it had :) If you like the Malory's, you'll love this book. There is a lot of Anthony and James in and it is hillarious!!I could not put the book down!!Will absolutely recommend this book :)

posted by Danette_Stroh on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Inadequate addition to the beloved Malory saga..

As an avid Lindsey fan who is completely enamored with the Malory Clan, I was thoroughly disapointed with the book. Katie and Boyd are completely flat and written out of character for Lindsey's traditionally compelling heroine and hero. Where is Boyd's hot-temper and te...
As an avid Lindsey fan who is completely enamored with the Malory Clan, I was thoroughly disapointed with the book. Katie and Boyd are completely flat and written out of character for Lindsey's traditionally compelling heroine and hero. Where is Boyd's hot-temper and teasing personality that his been a part of other novels? While the twist was a nice addition, I was disapointed in the sudden change in Anthony's character by changing his past. The storyline insinuates that Katie's Mom was his long lost love that got away and shoved his love for Rosylnn into a dimming light. Another change from her previous work. I never felt like you truely got to know the main characters with all of the constant rehashing of every detail of the other Malory's lives.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Inadequate addition to the beloved Malory saga..

    As an avid Lindsey fan who is completely enamored with the Malory Clan, I was thoroughly disapointed with the book. Katie and Boyd are completely flat and written out of character for Lindsey's traditionally compelling heroine and hero. Where is Boyd's hot-temper and teasing personality that his been a part of other novels? While the twist was a nice addition, I was disapointed in the sudden change in Anthony's character by changing his past. The storyline insinuates that Katie's Mom was his long lost love that got away and shoved his love for Rosylnn into a dimming light. Another change from her previous work. I never felt like you truely got to know the main characters with all of the constant rehashing of every detail of the other Malory's lives.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted to scream!!!!!!!!!! this was boring and disappointing

    Yes I do know all about the Malory and ther series. I think that the family is funny and enjoyable. However, this was suppose to be aboul Boyd and his love interest. Eveything was drag out and wasn't upbeat or looking forward to turning the page. The next page was boring more than the first. There was nothing to look forward to in this book.

    When it was found out that she is Anthony daughter it just became more depressing. Didn't like it at all. Miss Lindsey is one of my top writters. I love her style, but I have to say that this one isn't to my liking.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Not the usual quality of Johanna Lindsey

    I was extremely disappointed in this novel. I have read all of the Malory novels and this one lacks spice between the characters. It made Boyd Anderson seem like a love sick puppy and mindless. The book referenced that Boyd was staying with Jack while James and George went to rescue Drew, but there was no reference of the twins. I guess I expected if you bring up some character try to incorporate something of the others if only briefly. Of course you cannot help but enjoy Tony and James going at each other and the Anderson¿s. It was problem trying to keep track of the daydreams from the rest of the novel. The novel seemed to jump around too much. However the novel lacked so much in the quality that a reader has come to expect from Johanna Lindsey. Usually I have a problem putting down a Malory novel, but this time it took me forever to read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Finally!! Another Mallory novel

    If you love the saga of the Mallory family, you are sure to enjoy the latest story. It's fun to see how the characters interact with each other and the new characters. This is romance at it's finest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Malory adventure

    This tale touches on the Anderson side of the Malory family. Two Americans, with different goals, meet at the wrong time.
    This story allows us to revisit the Malorys and Andersons. It was fun to see where they are now and how they support an heroic stranger.
    This makes me want to go back to the beginning of the saga and start reading it, again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    Loved it !!!

    I must agree...the book didnt focus on Boyed and Katey and their love story as much BUT I loved the book and all the surprises it had :) If you like the Malory's, you'll love this book. There is a lot of Anthony and James in and it is hillarious!!I could not put the book down!!Will absolutely recommend this book :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    slowly getting worse

    I gave up peeling potatoes to be distracted by this? The story was underdeveloped, the characters lacked every facet to make them remotely interesting or intriguing. Katie reminded me of a petulant 14 year old with no real clue as to what she wanted. Her character was flat. Boyd held a sliver of potentially becoming a rounded character until he uttered 'marry me'. The book was more about the Malory clan. The title really should have been 'Malory Memory Lane'. I have been disappointed to many times, I highly doubt that I will buy any of her future books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Disappointed Once Again

    Wow, I was really hoping that this summer's newest Johanna Lindsey book would recapture the romance and adventure from her previous works. However, once again it didn't work out. This plot in this newest Malory book was thin 'to say the least' and the spark just wasn't there between the characters. In the past few years, I've stopped purchasing the newest Lindsey books because they aren't worth the money. I really hate to say this, but Lindsey needs to either take more time to write books that are worthy of her name or just stop writing all together. Sorry, but that's how I feel and I'm seeing by other reviews, many people feel the same way too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    The Mallory's are a hit, but.....

    I absolutely love the Mallory Family. I love James the most and Anthony second. This story has all three. The story starts with the abduction of Anthony's daughter Judith. Boyd, Georgina's youngest brother is in residence since James and Georgina are chasing pirates in the Caribbean. Boyd and Jeremy rescue Judith. Boyd recognizes his former passenger, the married woman he wanted to marry. The lust for Katey continues throughout the book. Katey is extremely innocent and doesn't understand the lust completely. She falls into the traps of her own lusts. The story is great because it is the Mallorys with James and Anthony for comic relief, but I do hope Johanna breaks out into a different area soon. We readers accepted the first bastard son of Jason. We liked the second bastard son of James, but pulling a third bastard daughter? Anthony's bastard daughter? That is enough bastards in the Mallory family. Yes, you like Katey for her innocence, love of animals, and need for a large family. You still think the third bastard is a bit much. The reuniting with long lost family is getting old as well. If editors think this is what we want from Johanna, they may be wrong. We love Johanna for her humor, humorous characters, and her creative new stories. I will always read Johanna, but I like creative new stories. Are you listening Brick and Mortar Editors? Let Johanna create!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    I love all her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Loved it

    But I don't write reviews. I only read authors I like-- Nora Roberts, J.D. Robb, Catherine Coulter, Jude Deveraux, Kay Hooper, Iris Johansen, Stephanie Laurens, Johanna Lindsey and Rachel Lee to name a few.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Malory series

    Great book, always love the Malory Family series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No Choice But Seduction

    I love Johanna Lindsey's Malory books. This book kept up with the Malory family, but I felt like it moved too fast over Boyd Anderson and Katey Tyler's love affair. While I love any interaction between Anthony and James Malory, the book focused too much on Anthony. Basically, it should have been longer. Overall, still a great read, just fell short of the Malory standard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Are+you+serious%3F

    I+absolutely+love+J.+Lindsey%2C+but+this+book+was+so+boring+that+it+took+me+nearly+a+week+to+finish+it%2C+%28+and+that+is+like+a+whole+year+for+me%29.+I+did+not+get+enough+of+the+two+main+characters+and+Anthony+being+Katey%27s+father+was+just+rushed+and+changed+my+view+of+him+and+his+wife%27s+story.+I+hope+her+next+novel+meets+her+standards.+Because+this+one+did+not.+Ugh.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Romance was rushed

    I love all the Malory Novels, but sad to say this one was very disappointing. The romance was nowhere to be found and the relationship was rushed. The protagonists spent less than half of the novel together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Don't bother !!!!!!!

    I am a hugh fan of Johanna Lindsy. I collect all her books. This was a hugh disappointement and poorly written. I have completely enjoyed all the others in the Malory Series. This one could and should have been written better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Not one of Lindsey's best works

    Johanna Lindsey is an exceptional historical romance novelist-I have read every one of her novels! Most are intriguing, humorous, and deliciously spicy! However, I must say this was not one of Lindsey's best works. The biggest downfall was the lack of character development of the main heroine Katey, as well as Boyd Anderson(her beau). I agree with other disappointed fans that the main emphasis was placed on the Mallory family ties. Most fans love the infectious humor of the Mallory clan but we would like to read about more than the classic Tony and James feuds! If you enjoy reading about the Mallorys but prefer better character development, I would suggest 'Captive of My Desires' as a much better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    I am a Die hard johanna Lindsey fan...BUT

    This book really let me down. The characters lack a connection that can be found in her previous works. The book jumps around and focuses more on the mallory family than the love story building between boyd and Katey, in truth they hardly interact at all. Compared to the other mallory novels this book is very disapointing. :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    An ok book

    Like the other reviews, I was looking forward to reading the newest Lindsey book but was disappointed. It was a quick read & I always enjoy the Mallorys & Andersons. I just wish she had developed the realtionship between Katie & Boyd better. I also felt there was no real plot line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No Choice

    love anything Lindsey does. So it was a no brainer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8