Customer Reviews for

No Country for Old Men

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gory, Intense, Engrossing, and Beautiful. Those are the first wo

Gory, Intense, Engrossing, and Beautiful. Those are the first words coming to mind when I hear No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy. This novel is near perfect. Cormac’s unique writing style suits the book entirely well and does the story itself justice. Aside from...
Gory, Intense, Engrossing, and Beautiful. Those are the first words coming to mind when I hear No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy. This novel is near perfect. Cormac’s unique writing style suits the book entirely well and does the story itself justice. Aside from the superb writing, the story is entrancing and entertaining. The non-stop action and bizarre protagonists can keep even the smallest attention span intrigued. Lleweyn Moss finds millions of dollars in the desert and decides to keep it for himself. Little does he know that the most brilliant hit man in the entire south is right on his tail. Moss tries to keep his wife and the money safe at the same time, although has trouble juggling the two. We find Moss often times trying to find unique contortions and contraptions to hide the money but this brutal hit man isn’t falling for any of it, killing almost everyone he comes in contact with in order to obtain his prize. Alongside This hit man is the entire Mexican drug cartel, striving to conceive this case of money. Moss has a run in with all of these people and continues to survive these intense scuffles but when he realizes he has to leave the sate is when he also realizes that his luck may be running out. Detective Bell, a long time Sherriff in a small county in Texas is on these men’s tail also trying to get to the bottom of all the murders and guns fired in his once small, peaceful community. A true tail of cat and mouse that will have you biting your nails to the last flip of the page. Get ready for some late nights because it will be very hard for you to put down this book until you have turned all 350 pages of this seemingly easy read. 5 stars. Fantastic.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Actually, the movie was better

After watching the film I ran straight out of the theatre and to Barnes and Noble and purchased this book. During the first pages of the book it's clear McCarthy doesn't use comas and it didn't feel like a natural read to me. The sentences ran a mile long and felt to ...
After watching the film I ran straight out of the theatre and to Barnes and Noble and purchased this book. During the first pages of the book it's clear McCarthy doesn't use comas and it didn't feel like a natural read to me. The sentences ran a mile long and felt to amaturish. The movie and the book are about the same so if you want the entertainment just rent the film. Although this wasn't a horrible book with the characters development and the overall plot I thought it could've been written a little better. Of course i'm not saying that I won't give another one of his books a read but this one didn't cut it for me. I would actually like to read "The Road" seems interesting enough.

posted by AVID_BOOK_READER82 on October 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Gory, Intense, Engrossing, and Beautiful. Those are the first wo

    Gory, Intense, Engrossing, and Beautiful. Those are the first words coming to mind when I hear No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy. This novel is near perfect. Cormac’s unique writing style suits the book entirely well and does the story itself justice. Aside from the superb writing, the story is entrancing and entertaining. The non-stop action and bizarre protagonists can keep even the smallest attention span intrigued. Lleweyn Moss finds millions of dollars in the desert and decides to keep it for himself. Little does he know that the most brilliant hit man in the entire south is right on his tail. Moss tries to keep his wife and the money safe at the same time, although has trouble juggling the two. We find Moss often times trying to find unique contortions and contraptions to hide the money but this brutal hit man isn’t falling for any of it, killing almost everyone he comes in contact with in order to obtain his prize. Alongside This hit man is the entire Mexican drug cartel, striving to conceive this case of money. Moss has a run in with all of these people and continues to survive these intense scuffles but when he realizes he has to leave the sate is when he also realizes that his luck may be running out. Detective Bell, a long time Sherriff in a small county in Texas is on these men’s tail also trying to get to the bottom of all the murders and guns fired in his once small, peaceful community. A true tail of cat and mouse that will have you biting your nails to the last flip of the page. Get ready for some late nights because it will be very hard for you to put down this book until you have turned all 350 pages of this seemingly easy read. 5 stars. Fantastic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    Actually, the movie was better

    After watching the film I ran straight out of the theatre and to Barnes and Noble and purchased this book. During the first pages of the book it's clear McCarthy doesn't use comas and it didn't feel like a natural read to me. The sentences ran a mile long and felt to amaturish. The movie and the book are about the same so if you want the entertainment just rent the film. Although this wasn't a horrible book with the characters development and the overall plot I thought it could've been written a little better. Of course i'm not saying that I won't give another one of his books a read but this one didn't cut it for me. I would actually like to read "The Road" seems interesting enough.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A fast paced adventure

    The story was a little odd but really a fun read. McCarthy has such a unique writing style that challenges the reader but also adds to this short novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Fantastic

    Sure this book isn't the typical book we are acustomed to reading. By that I refer to the style it is written and the way it speaks to you. Cormac does an excellent job at throwing you into a unknown world and making you believe it exists. I watched the film adaption of the book first and when i heard there was a book to it I bought it as soon as possible. Because as we all know film adaptions tend to skim on things. To my surprise the book was alot like the film minus the character development and more filling details the film did not provide. Plus the different ending. Interesting story to say the least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Faulty e-book

    I tried to purchase the ebook on my new tablet and paid the 11 dollars, and every single page is blank so im not able to read it...just be aware that there is a high chance it wont work if you have an ebook.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    I have great difficulty in even giving this book one star.

    I just did not get it. Very confusing book to read. The beginning had great potential, and then just left me flat. Couldn't wait until I got to the end. Waste of time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Hey you! Yeah you, READ THIS!!!

    Do you enjoy suspense? What about gunfighting? What about the desert? If you answered yes, then No Country for Old Men is definately for you! Cormac McCarthy uses detailed words and descriptive verbs to make you feel as if you are right there, first-handedly witnessing every event. The story realistically portrays the happenings of an extremely murderous fugitive and a wandering cowboy with a suitcase full of cash. McCarthy uses his words and imagery to paint lush landscapes and many crafty techniques to paint crafty pictures of the small Washington town in which the story takes place. The suspense of the novel comes from the seclusive nature of the events; You know something extreme could happen at any minute, but it stays unclear as to exactly when or how it may happen. This factor drew me to the novel greatly. The novel is unlike any other, in that it switches between two stories: One of the fugitive, and the other of the cowboy. It shows the paths they take, as those paths cross, one ends, and the other carries on. There are many unexpected events, such as suprise shootouts, random input from the sheriff on the hunt for the fugitive, and personal dilemnas, all leading up to an abrupt ending that will leave you completely and totally breathless. No Country For Old Men is a great story for any reader who loves action, suspense, vivid scenery, and much more. Cormac McCarthy has done great work in this novel, and I would highly recommend it to any reader who fits in any age group between young adult and elder. This is an exceptional piece of writing, and if I were you, I wouldn't hesitate to dig into it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    No Reason to Read this Old Book

    As a regional writer('Esther's Race', Cloquet River Press, 2007 ISBN 97809792175001), I am always willing to learn from a master. So when all the accolades came down from on high about Mr. McCarthy's billiant prose, I had to pick up something he'd written and give it a go. So I trundled off to my local indie bookstore and bought a copy of 'No Country', thinking that I was going to be in for a treat. Wrong, wrong, wrong. What I got was a book long on senseless violence and sociopathic brooding with none of the poinancy of say, 'Silence of the Lambs.' The story moves along as if the ultimate goal is to dishearten and disgust, not tantalize and excite. I for one can get plenty depressed and morose for a lot less money--by reading the daily newspaper--rather than wasting days and dollars on a novel that would have been rejected by any publisher but for the author's name attached to it. To be fair, I didn't want my first and only exposure to McCarthy's writing to be based upon this piece of tripe so I did the unthinkable and went back to the same bookstore and bought a copy of 'The Road.' Now that, ladies and gentlemen, is a fine novel. Written in starkness and with all the bleak shades of gray that McCarthy should have used in 'Old Men' (where the only color of the rainbow is black) had he seen fit to write something worthy of posterity. 'The Road' is everything that 'Old Men' isn't: beautifully written, gloriously themed and supremely plotted. 'The Road' is like the best of Neil Young's music--stark, mystical yet heartfelt. In comparison,'Old Men' reads like purposeless heavy metal noise.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Spelling

    I don't no if the Author did the wording on spite. Like add words that should not be there or no one proff read the book. Or that's how he wanted the people to speak Anyway its a good story. Guess I'm gone to have to watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    If I ever decide to sneeze sawdust and spit nails, I might just

    If I ever decide to sneeze sawdust and spit nails, I might just have to change my name to Anton Chigurh and move my wife to the Texas-Mexico border. Of course, that assumes I own a cattle gun, determine fate through the flip of a coin, and have approximately $2.4M stuffed in my jeans. During my subsequent relocation, I’ll acquire a pair of recently shined ostrich boots and a white cloth for my boots and nose, not to be used successively without prior washing.

    NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN caused me to jump at even the slightest noise, and I might have pried my eyes open with toothpicks to help me sleep at night. The journey nearly led to a forty mph drive by through a stop sign, and I might have run a red light during the completion of this novel. The prose popped my nose and jaw out of alignment, and I might have hugged the sidewalk for warmth and comfort and moral support. Had I owned a shotgun, I might have tossed it out of my bedroom window (unloaded of course) and buried the shells in my backyard.

    The sparse prose rocked me more than the San Andreas, and I might have considered a four-wheeler purchase to aid my night travels. I’d remove the toothpicks from my eyes for the completion of this journey. The dialogue confused me at times, since I’m a simple man who prefers quotation marks and contractions with the aid of an apostrophe. But that could just be me. Who needs grammar rules if you have a Pulitzer swinging from your gun belt? I ask you. Since I own neither a Pulitzer (unless you count the one I stole from that bastard from Kentucky) nor a gun belt, I guess I’ll have to continue to use punctuation correctly. But when I do acquire my Pulitzer through legal means, you bastards better watch out.

    If you like your world filled with reprehensible characters and you want to watch as the world gets blown to smithereens, or maybe just the backseat of a Jeep, then this novel might just make you feel all warm and cuddly inside.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Arresting

    The impact of this book hit me every chapter. The violence shook me as well as the insights of the sheriff. The veracity strung my soul out and made me taught. I won't forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    This is by far one of the worst books i have ever read. I have

    This is by far one of the worst books i have ever read. I have been reading crime fiction for a very long time, have a library of all the masters, and this one went straight to the garbage. The authors style left me baffled at times. Will not read anything else by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    One of the rare books that I cannot seem to be able to put down,

    One of the rare books that I cannot seem to be able to put down, one if no they best book I've ever read. It is the definition of a page turner, absolutely love it, it just sucks you. And this is coming from a university level reader, who is not the biggest fan of reading, but with a book like this, Cormac McCarthy might be replacing ABC, FX, Fox, E!, etc. I recommend this to anyone who believes in great literature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I grew up reading Hemingway, where all the dialog was written by hand so there wouldn't be too much of it. This novel explores the other side, where the dialog is the story. There is much here to be discovered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    O.k.

    This book was not what i expected it to be. Shockingly,the movie was much better,although the book did answer questions for me that are not answered in the movie. The book didnt use quotation marks during dialogue which was very weird.i have read way better novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Fast paced thriller

    No slow start in this thriller - the murder of a deputy and escape of a sadistic killer; the fortuitous find by the hunter, Moss, amidst the corps of a Mexican drugs war gone wrong; propels the reader into the heart of the action immediately. But then Moss makes a stupid decision, and the hunter becomes the hunted. The writing style is spare, with short clipped sentences that help to keep the action moving apace. Sheriff Bell is investigating the deaths, which are occurring all over the state, and he is trying to get to Moss before the sadistic killer does. He appears to have an affinity for Moss and his young wife, Carla Jean, it could be because they remind him of himself and his wife when they were younger. But as the gruesome end unfolds, we learn that Sheriff Bell carries a secret, he made an error of judgement when he was younger and it has haunted him all his life, and he wants to save Moss and Carla Jean from making a similar error. I enjoyed the novel, but I think the film was better, mainly because whilst a film can be carried by plot and action, I think a novel needs to be carried by a stronger theme throughout. The theme which links Moss' actions to actions taken by Sheriff Bell when he was younger feels tagged on near the end. A week after finishing this book I wasn't still thinking about the theme in the way I did when I read The Road by the same author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Fast paced thriller

    No slow start in this thriller - the murder of a deputy and escape of a sadistic killer; the fortuitous find by the hunter, Moss, amidst the corps of a Mexican drugs war gone wrong; propels the reader into the heart of the action immediately. But then Moss makes a stupid decision, and the hunter becomes the hunted. The writing style is spare, with short clipped sentences that help to keep the action moving apace. Sheriff Bell is investigating the deaths, which are occurring all over the state, and he is trying to get to Moss before the sadistic killer does. He appears to have an affinity for Moss and his young wife, Carla Jean, it could be because they remind him of himself and his wife when they were younger. But as the gruesome end unfolds, we learn that Sheriff Bell carries a secret, he made an error of judgement when he was younger and it has haunted him all his life, and he wants to save Moss and Carla Jean from making a similar error. I enjoyed the novel, but I think the film was better, mainly because whilst a film can be carried by plot and action, I think a novel needs to be carried by a stronger theme throughout. The theme which links Moss' actions to actions taken by Sheriff Bell when he was younger feels tagged on near the end. A week after finishing this book I wasn't still thinking about the theme in the way I did when I read The Road by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    pause the movie..read the book

    good book ....way better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Probably better if you haven't seen the movie

    With a few exceptions, most titles are better in the written form than as movies. That is what I was hoping when I purchased this book. However, the directors of the movie stuck to the book extremely closely. I am positive I would have enjoyed the book more if I hadn't seen the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Fast easy read

    This book is a great weekend book. It is a very fast moving thriller. Easy to follow the different characters. Not sure what the murder weapon was until almost the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12